Build for 3 monitors and 2 virtual machines

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fgkrew, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    first of all let me tell you that English i snot my first language. im from portugal so the prices here are almost the same but in euro.

    I need to buy a new computer for 3 monitors and the ability to run 2 virtual machines and heavy browsing (20+ tabs) simultaneously. I don´t Play games.

    I would like to have 16gb of ram and an ssd. i will also be making overclock if its needed. i was thinking of spending around 500usd/euro, but i have more available if its really needed.

    Let me know what you think its best for my needs.
    Thanks
     
  2. dmoney1980

    dmoney1980 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    what websites would you order from?
     
  3. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you need an OS license included in that budget?
     
  5. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, i have an msdn win 7 pro license.
     
  6. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i also need advice on buying 2 21.5" lcd screen. i was thinking on spending around 100eur on each.

    i have 3 options around those prices:

    Samsung SyncMaster S22A100N
    LG E2242C-BN
    AOC E2250SWNK

    I already have an acer x233h so these would go one on each side to run one vm each.

    So the total budget would be 700euros.
     
  7. KentState

    KentState Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    6,853
    Likes Received:
    3
    What software will you be running in the VMs? Depending on what you are doing, this could be a very cheap purchase.
     
  8. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Vms will for testing various operating systems, nothing heavy really.

    Im also very unorganized and always have lots of tabs opened and i want to change between them quickly while running the VMs and maybe watch an video or streaming from the internet at the same time.

    The most heavy program i use its really matlab, and some pcb design programs.

    Since im studying electronics Engineering i would like to be able to use any program that i may need in the future.

    Sorry if the English is not the best :), please make the questions needed.
     
  9. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone please give me some hints on what to buy, i would really like to have for christmas :p
     
  10. dmoney1980

    dmoney1980 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    edit: confirmed that h77 and z77 boards and ivy bridge does support up to 3 displays


    here's what I found so far

    Motherboard 90 euro http://www.pixmania.com/pt/pt/12666077/art/asrock/z77-pro4-m-socket-1155-ch.html

    CPU 211 euro http://www.pixmania.com/pt/pt/11764446/art/intel/core-i5-ivy-bridge-3570k.html
    (best i5 available, can be overclocked)

    CPU cooler (helps with noise and overclocking) 29 euro http://www.pixmania.com/pt/pt/11643609/art/cooler-master/ventoinha-radiador-hyper.html

    RAM 69 euro http://www.pixmania.com/pt/pt/12684117/art/kingston/memoria-pc-hyperx-blu-2-x.html#pix-review

    128GB solid state drive 99 euro http://www.pixmania.com/pt/pt/9760816/art/crucial/ssd-interno-m4-2-5-128-gb.html

    do you need a case? hard drives?
     
    #10 dmoney1980, Dec 14, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  11. paperwastage

    paperwastage Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    1
    not all h77/z77 boards will support 3 display... they can if certain conditions are met*

    *2 displayports plus 1 other port

    the board you chose doesn't (read the manual, page 10, Caution 6)

    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77 Pro4-M/?cat=Manual

    Code:
     You can choose to use two of the three monitors only. D-Sub, DVI-D and 
      HDMI monitors cannot be enabled at the same time. Besides, with the 
      DVI-to-HDMI adapter, the DVI-D port can support the same features as 
    the HDMI port.



    multi-tab browsing is easy if you use the right browser... I open multiple tabs in Opera regularly (RSS reader at end of day), went up to 300 before hitting 4GB limit for 32bit applications

    Virtual Machines: Best for each machine to have a separate disk.... my VMs and Steam would complain a lot(both on same 1TB WD Black drive) if I open them at the same time (takes a long time, HDD cage rattles
     
    #11 paperwastage, Dec 14, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  12. dmoney1980

    dmoney1980 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good catch!
     
  13. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all opinions.

    i was thinking about putting an amd a10 and put another cheap graphic card.
    that way i could have 3 monitors right?
    i think an i5 is a little overkill for what i need no?

    Im reallly used to chrome, and didnt want to change it.

    Please give me a config, even if the item does not exist on the shop i gave you, since i can order from somewhere else.

    So with 500usd what would you buy for my needs?

    cheers
     
  14. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot mfenn :)

    I was thinking about overclocking, and i can spend a few more euros, what would you recommend? i5 3470k?
    And should i change the the mb?

    I already have a 2tb external so i dont need one.

    And what about the lcd?
    Samsung SyncMaster S22A100N
    LG E2242C-BN
    AOC E2250SWNK

    Any big difference between them?
     
  16. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want to overclock, you will be spending at minimum about 80 euro more:

    i5 3570K 202e
    ASRock Z77 Pro3 90e
    Hyper 212 EVO 32e

    As for the monitor, they are all your standard cheap 1080p LED-backlit TN panels. Get whichever costs less.
     
  17. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK thanks. its almost done :)

    Just to sure, will i be able to connect 3 monitores without any issues?

    cheers
     
  18. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can get a used i7 2600k used for 10euros cheaper then the i5 3570k.

    Which one should i buy?
     
  19. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any help?
     
  20. KentState

    KentState Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    6,853
    Likes Received:
    3
    For that little money, I'd go new.
     
  21. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,836
    Likes Received:
    5
    I would get the 2600 at that price.
     
  22. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was also thinking about going with the i5 but since im overclocking and i read everywhere that the sandy bridge runs cooler and is also a good overclocker i dont know what to choose.

    Also maybe now its not needed but in a year or so the hyperthreading of the 2600k maybe useful....
     
  23. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already bought the ASRock Z77 Pro4 for the same price of the pro3, so the motherboard is already chosen :)
     
  24. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, 2 to the 5450, 1 to the IGP.

    I would not buy a used overclockable CPU unless I had complete faith in the original owner. Otherwise you don't know what kind of insane voltages it's been subjected to.
     
  25. fgkrew

    fgkrew Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i was thinking the same.

    Do you think that the power supply will be enough if i oc the cpu?

    Thanks