Browser Times Out When Attempting To Connect To Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by olds, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. olds

    olds Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    48,573
    Likes Received:
    15
    Asus WL-520GU
    I have internet and I can see the router in the Networking Control Panel and it is Enabled. But I can't connect to the router. I have it bookmarked and the bookmark (http://192.168.1.1/index.asp) had always worked in the past. Just entering 192.168.1.1 doesn't work either. The browser says "Waiting for".... and then after a bit says "Done" but the page is blank. No 404 or any other message.

    I formatted my wife's laptop, which is on the network and when I tried to connect, I was asked for the Network Key when all that was required in the past was our Pass Phrase. This is when I tried to access the router.
    edit: BIL is over and he connected to the network with the pass phrase. My wife's laptop wants a 40 or 104 bit ASCII or hexadecimal key.

    I didn't want to reset the router before asking this question because I always pull my hair out when setting it up.
    TIA

    EDIT
    Re-seting the router fixed the browser issue.
    XP doesn't do WPA-Personal till SP2. Her laptop CD doesn't have any SPs on it. So I guess I'll have to disable my security to activate XP and get the service packs.
     
    #1 olds, Jan 10, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  2. wiretap

    wiretap Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just unplug it, wait 10 seconds or so, then plug it back in. Your settings are still maintained, but the router will be re-initialized. The router probably had some sort of internal error. I've had that happen before with various routers. Poor firmware coding by the developer.
     
  3. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,691
    Likes Received:
    87
  4. olds

    olds Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    48,573
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'll try resetting after the BIL gets off the connection.

    He's over with his laptop. He connected to the network with the pass phrase. My wife's laptop wants a 40 or 104 bit ASCII or hexadecimal key.
    Must be something on her laptop. I'll have to run the Network Set Up Wizard again.
     
  5. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    this happens often on dd-wrt flashed routers that have run out of ram - rebooting usually fixes it.
     
  6. olds

    olds Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    48,573
    Likes Received:
    15
    Re-seting the router cured the browser issue, thanks.

    The laptop is still asking for an ASCII or hex number instead of the pass phrase. At least it's narrowed down to the laptop and my incompetence in setting up networks.
     
  7. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    set the router the WPA-AES or WPA2-AES . using WEP is bad mojo my friend.

    i've never seen a router ask for hexadecimal for WPA-AES or WPA2-AES security. that would be seriously painful

    p.s. i'd think about using a 16 to 32 (or longer) passphrase. sucks for iphone users :) but keeps the neighbors out for sure
     
  8. olds

    olds Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    48,573
    Likes Received:
    15
    It's set to wpa-personal.

    EDIT

    XP doesn't do WPA-Personal till SP2. Her laptop CD doesn't have an SP on it. So I guess I'll have to disable my security to activate XP and get the service packs.
     
    #8 olds, Jan 11, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
Loading...