Borderlands -The most outstanding weapons setup I have ever seen in PC gaming.

HeXploiT

Diamond Member
Jun 11, 2004
I started playing Borderlands when It first hit the market and quit after losing my savegame when I was a mere lvl 8.
Started again last week after installing The Zombie Island of Dr Ned and played so far to lvl19 and I must say I am absolutely chuffed at the weapons/weapon system in this game.
Sooo many weapons I have a difficult time time deciding which ones to keep. I cheated and upped my carrying capacity to 20 and STILL I'm constantly having to sell or leave behind unique and badass guns. On top of this my friends who play are always telling me about weapons I've never heard of and might never see because of the unique weapons creator.
I've probably seen well over 100 weapons to date and again I'm only lvl 19!
The cherry on the cake is that as an rpg the game weapons play a lot more like a good accurate shooter than Fallout 3(A great game in its own right).
I really hope game creators take a note from the book that is borderlands.
I will never again be content with a system that limits me to a dozen, or even a few dozen weapons.

Simply cannot wait to find Dr Neds island and start killing Zombies.
icon14.gif

Last edited:

Nik

Lifer
Jun 5, 2006
Almost all the weapons found during your travels are complete and utter garbage. You should know first of all what 2 weapons (what one weapon, really) your class does best with and stick to it. That cuts down 90% of the weapons you find and puts them into the "for sale" category.

Second, determining which weapon is best is freakin easy. The gun you pick up is either better or it's not. There's not really a trade off of this for that (like x3 explosive damage but a lot less dps).

Even two guns with the same DPS but are 2 or 3 levels apart will be pretty different. Always choose the higher level weapon unless the lower level weapon has a significant advantage.