Bill Guthridge is retiring from UNC B-Ball--Matt Doherty is the new coach

SUOrangeman

Diamond Member
Oct 12, 1999
I had heard some time ago that Buth Gutridge's success as a head coach was limited because he didn't have Bill Guthridge sitting beside him.

Think about it. And then think about how well UNC fared in the post-season, scripted or otherwise).

-SUO

Digobick

Platinum Member
Oct 9, 1999
Williams is expected to make an announcement today about his decision....should be interesting. There are signs all over the KU campus and in Lawrence asking Roy to stay, and hundreds of letters are taped up on Allen Fieldhouse. He stopped by about 10:30pm last night to read the letters, and left in near tears....

As a KU student, I would love to see Roy stay until he retires, and it's sad to watch him struggle so with this decision. He's one of the nicest guys I've ever met, and I doubt there's a more honorable coach in the business. Whatever choice he makes will be a good one though; it's a win/win situation.

luv2chill

Diamond Member
Feb 22, 2000
As a fellow KU student (just graduated in May) and avid KU BBall addict, I can't help but agree.

This decision has been harder for him than anyone could have imagined--especially those in NC and in the media.

On one hand he's got UNC--perhaps the most elite and storied basketball program in the whole nation practically begging him to come take over the program. He and his wife are from there and have family there. Their daughter is going to be a Junior there in the fall. Their son graduated two years ago and now works in Charlotte. Plus, Dean "The Man" Smith willed it to be so.

However... what UNC fans and the media DON'T know is who Coach Williams really is and how he operates. I can tell you if I were in his position I would jump at the chance to coach UNC, even being the KU fan that I am. Most of us probably would, some for the money alone, also the prestige, etc.