best way to record TV show?

DesiPower

Lifer
Nov 22, 2008
So I want to record live TV on my HTPC. how do I do it? Here's what I have.

Sandy Bridge Celeron based PC
TV connected through HDMI port of Radeon HD 4350.
Currently cable box is connected to TV's HDMI port #1
PC is connected to TV's HDMI's port #2

I have never done TV tuner/capture before and I have no idea how this thing works... a few question -

1. Do I have to route the cable box through the PC's TV tuner card? and if yes do I have to keep PC on all the time when I want to watch TV?

2. Is it possible to get a HDMI splitter and send one signal to TV and other to PC and record on PC while keep watching TV? If I use splitter, will the quality deteriorate?

If both are possible which is a easier, more practical option?

Need recommendation on capture/tuner card. budget is not a big issue, want to do it right and want good (not necessarily the best) quality.

Please excuse my ignorance, if I am totally wrong and need to start all over, please tell me so, I am totally open to all kind of suggestions... I am not necessarily looking to schedule recording and all that good stuff, just want to record live TV and want to keep the setup as uncomplicated as possible.

Sep 12, 2004
Assuming you have cable with encrypted channels you will need a cable card tuner. Ceton, Silicon Dust, and Hauppauge all make such beasts. You can also choose an internal card for your HTPC (Ceton InfiniTV4), or external devices that connect either via USB or ethernet.

1. With a cable card tuner you no longer need a cable box. Instead you would use a cable card (which looks very much like a PCMCIA card) inserted in the tuner. This card is provided by your cable co upon request. The coax cable also connects directly to the tuner. When you watch TV the PC must be on. For recording shows the PC doesn't have to be on but it must be in sleep mode. Media Center will wake the PC from sleep to record the program.