Best tablet to hold in landscape without touching knobs

omega3

Feb 19, 2015
So I have no experience with tablets but gonna buy one. I thought going with the ipad, but what puts me off is that i would hold it mostly in landscape so won't that lead to accidental home button pressing with my thumb?

If so, which are the best alternatives that i can confidently hold in landscape mode without risking accidental button pressing. I was thinking mabye Asus Zenbook or HP. Not sure.

I wanna be able laying in the couch so i think the 9,7" size of the ipad would be good i assume or should i take smaller.

Which are your recommendations? Thanks.

Last edited:

ControlD

Diamond Member
Apr 25, 2005
I have used both an iPad and a Galaxy Note tablet a fair amount and I have never had issues with accidentally pressing the home button. They way you hold the tablets you have to move your thumb to the home button, it isn't generally resting there. I wouldn't worry about that aspect of it honestly.

Kartajan

Golden Member
Feb 26, 2001
... I read the title thinking you were needing some kind of ruggedized tablet for disaster recovery...
(landslide) ;)

Commodus

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 2004
So I have no experience with tablets but gonna buy one. I thought going with the ipad, but what puts me off is that i would hold it mostly in landscape so won't that lead to accidental home button pressing with my thumb?

If so, which are the best alternatives that i can confidently hold in landscape mode without risking accidental button pressing. I was thinking mabye Asus Zenbook or HP. Not sure.

I wanna be able laying in the couch so i think the 9,7" size of the ipad would be good i assume or should i take smaller.

Which are your recommendations? Thanks.