Best PSU brands these days?

Thunder 57

Platinum Member
Aug 19, 2007
I have a Cooler Master 650W PSU that has been going for about 10 years now. I haven't made any upgrades or changes since I got an RX 480 about two years ago. I noticed a few times in Battlefield 1 the computer will shut down instantly, wait a few seconds, then boot. If I run Furmark CPU + GPU it will instantly shut off.

My best guess is the power supply. It has served me well, but I want to replace it. Since I haven't been building computers in awhile, I was wondering who makes the better units?

I would guess Antec, Enermax, Corsair, Seasonic, maybe a few others?

I am currently looking at the following:
https://www.amazon.com/Seasonic-SSR-650FX-ATX12V-Modular-Compact/dp/B073H33X7R/

Any thoughts, opinions, or recommendations?

Thanks in advance!

EDIT

Probably should list my specs:

i5-3570k
ASROCK Z75
16GB DDR3
RX 480
e/SATA PCI-e card
Wireless AC PCI-e card
SSD, 4 HDD's, and a Blu Ray

Not very demanding. In the future I will be looking at a Ryzen 2600X or Intel equivalent. I think 650 would be plenty for that as well. 54A at 12V should be plenty, I think?

Last edited:

UsandThem

Elite Member
May 4, 2000
I am currently looking at the following:
https://www.amazon.com/Seasonic-SSR-650FX-ATX12V-Modular-Compact/dp/B073H33X7R/

Any thoughts, opinions, or recommendations?

That's a good choice. You can also take a look at units like Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum, EVGA G3 (and G2 series), Corsair TX-M (updated version), Corsair RMx, or even a unit like the Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold.

PSU pricing is pretty volatile, so you can usually catch good units on sale, which puts them at prices near lower rated units. EVGA has also recently released two new series of PSUs with long warranties, but there are no reviews on them yet. Those are the G1+ series and the PQ series.

Reactions: ao_ika_red

Thunder 57

Platinum Member
Aug 19, 2007