Best process to synch legacy HDD with a new PC Build

Cvengr

Dec 26, 2015
Question: How is he best way to take several older legacy hard drives, which were Windows XP boot drives, and capture the data in a new PC build?

Process is important to me as I haven't done this, and easily understand I might be blundering in the following process. Any corrections to my process are appreciated.

I assume the Motherboard BIOS will bring up the USB / Keyboard / mouse I/O and SATA controllers to operate and control the devices, but I'm still studying the particular process in verifying all drivers are the most recent versions, and will work with the operating system.

Install disc for the MB is a DVD-ROM.

My new PC Build list is:
CPU Intel i5 6500 3.2GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-A ATX LGA 1151
Memory
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4-3000
HDD
Seagate Barracuda 3TB 7200RPM IntHDD
DVD/CD
2 x Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD WRITER
OS
MS Windows 8.1 Pro OEM

Legacy HDD w/XP in Boot sector, 5 HDD <500GB ea + 2 Ext HDD, 1TB, 2TB
All the legacy drives are about 1/2 full each and haven't been synch'd, but share probably 30-70% common files. (7-20 yr old devices)

Most of the pertinent data is MS Office application based data files and Adobe .pdf files, AutoCAD dwg/dwf, and probably 1% valuable 3rd party software data files on on XP file systems.

Any recommendations for a proper sequence for the SW loading?
BIOS (default or refresh and how?)
CD-ROM drive device driver before or after OS loading?
Boot with old HDD and synch all the drives???
Remove all drives and install new HDD, and format/load new Win 8.1 OS?
Update drivers?
Add synched legacy drives from XP filing system and transfer data files???

Many thanks in advance.

Cvengr

Dec 26, 2015
Followup question.

When and which Security software is recommended and best method to keep unwanted ads from popping up from internet surfing?