best MODERATE 3930k + P9x79pro overclocking options?

wgan

Apr 26, 2012
Hi guys as an absolute noob to overclock, I just want to stay away from all the hassles, and being not too greedy, a stable running around 4.2~4.3 will make me very happy, so I've got these options to overclock, what do you reckon,

1. flip the TPU switch, pro and cons?

2. use the ai suite, but I've head of some negative comments, basically it's the same thing as TPU but in a software way?

3. heading into bios doing the old school way which I'm totally not familiar with, but people keep saying thats the best way you can go with, but as I stated I dont really want the CPU running >4.6 as I need to look on the stability side

any suggestions, flipping TPU sounds good to me, what do you think?

thanks

borisvodofsky

Diamond Member
Feb 12, 2010
You bought a high end setup just to get a "moderate" overclock??

Little children in Africa are crying.

If you don't hit 5ghz on that chip, I'm a come ober there and steal it.

wgan

Apr 26, 2012
You bought a high end setup just to get a "moderate" overclock??

Little children in Africa are crying.

If you don't hit 5ghz on that chip, I'm a come ober there and steal it.

I take that as a joke as you didn't give any informative suggestion,
serious though, I use it for freelance work(lots of threads involved) which mean stability is a main concern, on the other hand, of course I want to squeeze a bit more out of it, thats why I used the word 'moderate'.

ok, now any other suggestions?

BrightCandle

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
Depending on how good your cooling is you should find it possible to hit a comfortable 4.5 Ghz with 1.35 V's on the CPU core and nothing else different. You can potentially run with a vcore offset to hit the top target, but if its not stable just set the voltage to 1.35V.

The SB-E doesn't go quite as high as the SB normally but they pretty much all make 4.5.

Don Karnage

Platinum Member
Oct 11, 2011