Best book for creating webpages for n00bs?

RecklaZ

Mar 13, 2001
I have very little html background and i was wondering what are some great books out there to help a n00b create a decent website. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Edit: If you guys have links it will be helpful too.

ajpa123

Platinum Member
Apr 19, 2003
Word of advice.
With all the resources out there, trying to do too much at first is confusing. Take all the sites presented here and pick one.. i recommend w3schools just like the above poster. They have great tutorials, examples, and quizzes at each step of the way.

1) HTML, then XTML ... and learn it in notepad, master the basics. (start/end tags, use only current tags, not depracated)
2) Later, you can learn CSS to format what you've already learned. make it pretty and position it properly.. lol
3) some script language after a few weeks for interactivity
4) And finally a little ASP to add some dynamic content

:Q Don't move on to the next step before you master the previous one :Q

Also try webmonkey, webreference, devguru and wdvl

Question for the HTML pros: Are tables still used for positioning.. or is it all Spans/Divs and CSS.. (I know basic web stuff.. i'm out of the loop)

yoda291

Diamond Member
Aug 11, 2001
Originally posted by: ajpa123
Word of advice.
With all the resources out there, trying to do too much at first is confusing. Take all the sites presented here and pick one.. i recommend w3schools just like the above poster. They have great tutorials, examples, and quizzes at each step of the way.

1) HTML, then XTML ... and learn it in notepad, master the basics. (start/end tags, use only current tags, not depracated)
2) Later, you can learn CSS to format what you've already learned. make it pretty and position it properly.. lol
3) some script language after a few weeks for interactivity
4) And finally a little ASP to add some dynamic content

:Q Don't move on to the next step before you master the previous one :Q