Baseball rules ?

spaceman

Lifer
Dec 4, 2000
17,616
183
106
Long time watcher of baseball.
i have no idea what the rule os for this, and i am sure there are more appropriate forums to ask this on but...well you know.
Can a starter in the AL bat at any point in the game IN the game he is starting in provided he doesnt come out?
Simply put can he be a DH/SP for that game?


i dont want to get into WHY....its probably not a good idea in most circumstances...but is it doable?

edit:i do not mean a SP coming off the bench to PH...
 

chuckywang

Lifer
Jan 12, 2004
20,133
1
0
No. As soon as a pitcher bats in the AL, the DH is lost.

EDIT: Ok, I guess it's just a question of semantics. The DH is lost and replaced by the pitcher. The batter is technically labeled as a pitcher, and would not have the DH label.

So no, a pitcher cannot be both a P/DH in the lineup.
However, you can have a pitcher bat in the AL if the manager chooses to do so.
 

GagHalfrunt

Lifer
Apr 19, 2001
25,284
1,998
126
Yes, the DH is optional, not mandatory. If the manager wanted to let the pitcher bat as he would in the NL it's okay.
 

MDE

Lifer
Jul 17, 2003
13,199
1
81
The DH is optional, but it's usually a bad idea as most pitchers can't hit their weight.
 

chuckywang

Lifer
Jan 12, 2004
20,133
1
0
Originally posted by: ncircle

edit:i do not mean a SP coming off the bench to PH...

LOL, think about that...a SP coming off the bench would entail that SP leaving the game and re-entering it. That, of course, does not happen in baseball.
 

spaceman

Lifer
Dec 4, 2000
17,616
183
106
Originally posted by: chuckywang
Originally posted by: ncircle

edit:i do not mean a SP coming off the bench to PH...

LOL, think about that...a SP coming off the bench would entail that SP leaving the game and re-entering it. That, of course, does not happen in baseball.


i understand that.
i have seen sp ph before as long they arent that days starter.