backup image of new machine 13 discs? HD?

Discussion in 'SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs' started by marcplante, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. marcplante

    marcplante Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    I wanted to make backup media of my computer's image and the media burning utility wants 13 discs. Is there any way to go into the file management system pull an image off and put it on another hard drive? (Network backup)?


    Thanks,
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - backup image machine Forum Date
    Factory image for Dell laptop borked... SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs Apr 25, 2015
    I need a new backup laptop (with a non-chiclet keyboard!) SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs May 18, 2014
    Is a Netbook good enough for photo viewing and backup? SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs Dec 22, 2009
    Hp vs Dell Laptop and Desktops - Backup OS on DVD? SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs Oct 28, 2008
    I sold my laptop with no backup plan! SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs Mar 6, 2008

  3. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    14,120
    Likes Received:
    735
    You could use a third-party image utility to do that. Boot from CD, image to network drive. EaseUS will let you create a boot CD.

    The boot CD has to have a driver for your ethernet card. That's the only hard part.

    But then you're basically all set.
     
  4. stevech

    stevech Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Geesh, most everyone images to a spare drive or an external USB or eSATA drive. Not a good idea to use DVDs.

    Acronis is what I've used for years.

    Better yet, get a cheap drive and CLONE your disk. That way, all you do is boot the spare disk. Conversely, Imaging is a PITA to recover.
     
  5. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, agreed, simply clone your hdd/partition. I use Macrium, it's free and I'm cheap.
     
  6. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,679
    Likes Received:
    9
    What version of Windows do you have? One of the big differences between Home Premium and Pro is that Pro has native ability to back up to a network drive.

    If you don't have Pro I hear good things about Acronis.