ATX Build Advice

stayloft12

Apr 10, 2013
I’ve never built an HTPC before but someone I knew built them as a hobby and sold me a bunch of the parts he had really cheap (he got a new job overseas). I have a couple of questions if someone could help me out?

Below is a list of the hardware I have. I know some of this is overkill but it’s what he had and I paid very little for it. I will be using this primarily to watch HD movies and listen to music and want very high quality HD movie playback and music playback. I will do some picture and video editing but nothing huge. Possibly some gaming but not much and not a big priority for me. I will use some of the space as network backup (maybe 1 TB). I would prefer it to be very quiet due to the location it will be in.

He didn’t have a power supply. I was think about getting the Seasonic, SSR-450RM G series 450W. Is this going to be enough power for this build?

What do you think about this HTPC? Any problems with this setup which I should be aware of?

Thanks!

Silverstone GD08
INTEL i5-3570 Quad-Core 3.4 - 3.8GHz TB LGA1155 DDR3-1600
ASUS P8Z77-V LGA 1155 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX
Scythe Big Shuriken Heatpipe Universal Low Profile CPU Cooler
Sapphire Ultimate Radeon HD 6670 (Fanless) PCIe x16, DVI+HDMI+DP
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair Force GT 240 GB SATA III SSD
2 of Western Digital Caviar Green 3 TB SATA III 64 / 5400 RPM
ASUS Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Ceton InfiniTV 4 PCIe - 4-channel Internal Cable TV Tuner Card
ASUS BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS 12X Blu-ray Burner
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

Charlie98

Diamond Member
Nov 6, 2011
At first glance that will wind up being a pretty high-dollar HTPC! True, there is a huge amount of overkill... essentially that is a mid-range gamer build, but if you have the parts already... Understand, it's going to suck a little power.

The only conflict I see is the tall heatspreaders on the RAM... they may interfere with the cooler.