Athlon 200GE - the ultimate great place-holder CPU?

Page 16 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
345
33
61
2xx series is based on raven ridge dies (2200, 2400g) so its zen+
Thanks for the input. It may be right but wikichip is listing RR as Zen. I also though it was Zen, but a more advanced stepping than Summit. Compare the wikchip entries btwn RR and Pinnacles:

https://en.wikichip.org/wiki/amd/ryzen_5/2600x

https://en.wikichip.org/wiki/amd/ryzen_5/2400g

I recall that SR had some serious pre-launch patching up. No doubt that was cleaned up in RR which was released quite a bit later. RR also had modifications to shrink the L3 (I assume for better power consumption as it is a mobile oriented project just as much as desktop oriented.)

They should announce Picasso at CES, which should be Zen+. I am hoping they have a little sister Picasso-L APU die too.
 

hojnikb

Senior member
Sep 18, 2014
517
12
91
RR has smaller L3 because L3 costs die space and it's aimed at more cost efficient markets (all the way down to 55$ athlon). Power is also a concern too.
 

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
345
33
61
well about half the area is GPU (11CU's of Vega) but the total area is about same as SR and Pinnacles. The packaging is cheaper, yes. Maybe the area saved from cache is ~3CU, so definitely good idea to bump the CU's from 8 (which was max for all A10's in fm2+ and BR) to take advantage of the faster bandwidth of this new gen. The power savings of smaller L3 is significant, and I think the mobile market is larger than desktop.
 

LightningZ71

Senior member
Mar 10, 2017
230
3
76
Looking at the performance numbers, the smaller L3 of Raven ridge really doesn't impact general performance that much, especially in situations where it's running with a dgpu and doesn't have as much memory bus contention. Comparing the 1400 to the 2400g, both with dgpus, they tend to run neck and neck unless you get to the specific situation that you are running multiple programs simultaneously that have a combined working set in memory that falls between 4mb and 8mb. One example that comes to mind is CPU coin mining with certain algorithms. There are a few that need a bit over 2MB of cache per process. RR can only run one of those processes before memory contention tanks performance. The 1400 can run three of them and maintain expected per process through out. Same number of cores, similar clocks, but the extra 4MB of cache makes a huge difference.
 

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
345
33
61
Yup it sure will vary from workload to workload. Someone should do some testing of a 2400g (4MB L3) versus a 1400 (8MB L3) and a 2x half CCX 16MB L3 1500x (or a 1700/1800 with disabled cores).

Also the effect of SMT+L3 hit would be interesting. How much would an 8c/8t 1800 or 1700 outperform a 4c/8t 2400g in various synth benchmarks, say geekbench, as well as more realistic mixed loads?

2400g without a dgpu is a more uncommon combination I'm guessing. If it were me I'd get a 2600 / 1600 or 1600x which are around tthe same price as the 2400g. there will be some upgraders though. Would be nice if the 2400g price came down, or if they made some 3CU or non-G model 2400g derivatives (die salvage).
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,378
47
126
https://www.asrock.com/nettop/AMD/DeskMini A300 Series/index.asp#Specification

Computerbase state that it s 120$/140€, guess that it s for the barebone version, hope these will be sold in Europe..
Sounds very reasonable for what you're getting. Even has two(!) PCIe 3.0 x4 M.2 slots. Downside is obviously that I can only handle RR, and oddly BR. Who'd want to put one of those in there...?

I feel a project in the near future. Now I'll just have to find an excuse.
 

Harry_Wild

Senior member
Dec 14, 2012
312
23
81
I usually end up buying the state of the art motherboard when I did a PC built! But right now, it is a transition period between the new technology like CPUs, PCIe, etc... I would wait!
 

Abwx

Diamond Member
Apr 2, 2011
8,749
75
126
Sounds very reasonable for what you're getting. Even has two(!) PCIe 3.0 x4 M.2 slots. Downside is obviously that I can only handle RR, and oddly BR. Who'd want to put one of those in there...?

I feel a project in the near future. Now I'll just have to find an excuse.
MB + 19V/120W PSU + Case, that s quite cheap, only thing missing are a few more USB ports in both front and back of the case.

AMD should consider more low power SKUs, a stock 35W 4C/8T@2.8GHz would be more adequate given the 120W rating, a downclocked 2400G could be used, but not everyone wants to trim the bios settings.
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,378
47
126
AMD should consider more low power SKUs, a stock 35W 4C/8T@2.8GHz would be more adequate given the 120W rating, a downclocked 2400G could be used, but not everyone wants to trim the bios settings.
The 2200GE and 2400GE exist, and would be a perfect fit. If only you could buy one as an ordinary consumer.
 
Dec 29, 2018
2
0
6
Maybe AMD should come out with an Athlon 20th Anniversary Edition, which I guess would only differ from the rest of the GE series in being officially unlocked without the need for firmware tricks to overclock.
 
May 6, 2012
3,378
47
126
Maybe AMD should come out with an Athlon 20th Anniversary Edition, which I guess would only differ from the rest of the GE series in being officially unlocked without the need for firmware tricks to overclock.
If it's unlocked, that should definitely include a "Goldfinger" reference... I'm getting old... :(
 
Jun 6, 2001
4,050
2
106
My 200GE system pulls 41w from the wall when running CB R15 (MT) at stock speeds. This is with a Gigabyte B350 ITX, 16GB DDR4 (2666), 480GB SSD, and FSP Gold rated 500w PSU.

I'll be doing a comparison between the onboard Vega 3 vs. some older GPUs. Such as, the HD 4850, 9600 GT and HD 6850 + GTX 460 768MB
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY