Athlon 200GE - the ultimate great place-holder CPU?

Page 16 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
412
47
61
2xx series is based on raven ridge dies (2200, 2400g) so its zen+
Thanks for the input. It may be right but wikichip is listing RR as Zen. I also though it was Zen, but a more advanced stepping than Summit. Compare the wikchip entries btwn RR and Pinnacles:

https://en.wikichip.org/wiki/amd/ryzen_5/2600x

https://en.wikichip.org/wiki/amd/ryzen_5/2400g

I recall that SR had some serious pre-launch patching up. No doubt that was cleaned up in RR which was released quite a bit later. RR also had modifications to shrink the L3 (I assume for better power consumption as it is a mobile oriented project just as much as desktop oriented.)

They should announce Picasso at CES, which should be Zen+. I am hoping they have a little sister Picasso-L APU die too.
 

hojnikb

Senior member
Sep 18, 2014
543
24
91
RR has smaller L3 because L3 costs die space and it's aimed at more cost efficient markets (all the way down to 55$ athlon). Power is also a concern too.
 

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
412
47
61
well about half the area is GPU (11CU's of Vega) but the total area is about same as SR and Pinnacles. The packaging is cheaper, yes. Maybe the area saved from cache is ~3CU, so definitely good idea to bump the CU's from 8 (which was max for all A10's in fm2+ and BR) to take advantage of the faster bandwidth of this new gen. The power savings of smaller L3 is significant, and I think the mobile market is larger than desktop.
 

LightningZ71

Senior member
Mar 10, 2017
238
6
86
Looking at the performance numbers, the smaller L3 of Raven ridge really doesn't impact general performance that much, especially in situations where it's running with a dgpu and doesn't have as much memory bus contention. Comparing the 1400 to the 2400g, both with dgpus, they tend to run neck and neck unless you get to the specific situation that you are running multiple programs simultaneously that have a combined working set in memory that falls between 4mb and 8mb. One example that comes to mind is CPU coin mining with certain algorithms. There are a few that need a bit over 2MB of cache per process. RR can only run one of those processes before memory contention tanks performance. The 1400 can run three of them and maintain expected per process through out. Same number of cores, similar clocks, but the extra 4MB of cache makes a huge difference.
 

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
412
47
61
Yup it sure will vary from workload to workload. Someone should do some testing of a 2400g (4MB L3) versus a 1400 (8MB L3) and a 2x half CCX 16MB L3 1500x (or a 1700/1800 with disabled cores).

Also the effect of SMT+L3 hit would be interesting. How much would an 8c/8t 1800 or 1700 outperform a 4c/8t 2400g in various synth benchmarks, say geekbench, as well as more realistic mixed loads?

2400g without a dgpu is a more uncommon combination I'm guessing. If it were me I'd get a 2600 / 1600 or 1600x which are around tthe same price as the 2400g. there will be some upgraders though. Would be nice if the 2400g price came down, or if they made some 3CU or non-G model 2400g derivatives (die salvage).
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,486
100
126
https://www.asrock.com/nettop/AMD/DeskMini A300 Series/index.asp#Specification

Computerbase state that it s 120$/140€, guess that it s for the barebone version, hope these will be sold in Europe..
Sounds very reasonable for what you're getting. Even has two(!) PCIe 3.0 x4 M.2 slots. Downside is obviously that I can only handle RR, and oddly BR. Who'd want to put one of those in there...?

I feel a project in the near future. Now I'll just have to find an excuse.
 

Harry_Wild

Senior member
Dec 14, 2012
333
30
91
I usually end up buying the state of the art motherboard when I did a PC built! But right now, it is a transition period between the new technology like CPUs, PCIe, etc... I would wait!
 

Abwx

Diamond Member
Apr 2, 2011
8,791
121
126
Sounds very reasonable for what you're getting. Even has two(!) PCIe 3.0 x4 M.2 slots. Downside is obviously that I can only handle RR, and oddly BR. Who'd want to put one of those in there...?

I feel a project in the near future. Now I'll just have to find an excuse.
MB + 19V/120W PSU + Case, that s quite cheap, only thing missing are a few more USB ports in both front and back of the case.

AMD should consider more low power SKUs, a stock 35W 4C/8T@2.8GHz would be more adequate given the 120W rating, a downclocked 2400G could be used, but not everyone wants to trim the bios settings.
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,486
100
126
AMD should consider more low power SKUs, a stock 35W 4C/8T@2.8GHz would be more adequate given the 120W rating, a downclocked 2400G could be used, but not everyone wants to trim the bios settings.
The 2200GE and 2400GE exist, and would be a perfect fit. If only you could buy one as an ordinary consumer.
 

lyonwonder

Junior Member
Dec 29, 2018
2
0
11
Maybe AMD should come out with an Athlon 20th Anniversary Edition, which I guess would only differ from the rest of the GE series in being officially unlocked without the need for firmware tricks to overclock.
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,486
100
126
Maybe AMD should come out with an Athlon 20th Anniversary Edition, which I guess would only differ from the rest of the GE series in being officially unlocked without the need for firmware tricks to overclock.
If it's unlocked, that should definitely include a "Goldfinger" reference... I'm getting old... :(
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,077
20
106
My 200GE system pulls 41w from the wall when running CB R15 (MT) at stock speeds. This is with a Gigabyte B350 ITX, 16GB DDR4 (2666), 480GB SSD, and FSP Gold rated 500w PSU.

I'll be doing a comparison between the onboard Vega 3 vs. some older GPUs. Such as, the HD 4850, 9600 GT and HD 6850 + GTX 460 768MB
 

Heclone

Junior Member
Dec 7, 2018
18
8
41
My 200GE system pulls 41w from the wall when running CB R15 (MT) at stock speeds. This is with a Gigabyte B350 ITX, 16GB DDR4 (2666), 480GB SSD, and FSP Gold rated 500w PSU.

I'll be doing a comparison between the onboard Vega 3 vs. some older GPUs. Such as, the HD 4850, 9600 GT and HD 6850 + GTX 460 768MB
Thanks, that would be lovely !
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,077
20
106
Here's the best I was able to do with my 200GE in R15. Pulling 75w at the wall with 1.5v w/stock cooler.

Dx3CvMvUwAAXMdz.jpg

I also have the DX9/10 comparisons coming up. I'll post them here when I'm done with my video. I plan to do another video comparing it to DX11 and up capable cards.
 
Apr 27, 2000
11,009
638
126
That's a good bit faster than anything I ever scored with my A10-7700k or A10-7870k. Best I ever got was ~380, and that was at 4.7 GHz and an NB speed of 2100 MHz.
 
Aug 25, 2001
42,954
374
126
1.5V vcore on these A200GE? Good thing that they're next to disposable. I hope that's not your 24/7 OC, and secondarily, I hope that these chips don't need 1.5V to hit 4.0+Ghz. That seems like a major step backwards compare to even an R5 1600.

Then again, these are probably made from the "c*** bins".

I have two on order, arriving soon, along with some 2x4GB DDR4-2667 RAM, and a couple of MSI mobos.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,077
20
106
1.5V vcore on these A200GE? Good thing that they're next to disposable. I hope that's not your 24/7 OC, and secondarily, I hope that these chips don't need 1.5V to hit 4.0+Ghz. That seems like a major step backwards compare to even an R5 1600.

Then again, these are probably made from the "c*** bins".

I have two on order, arriving soon, along with some 2x4GB DDR4-2667 RAM, and a couple of MSI mobos.
Nope, that was just for testing purposes. I can hit 4.0Ghz with 1.350-1.375v or so. 3.9GHz, requires a lot less voltage.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,077
20
106
Sneak peek :) - NVIDIA cards from the same time period were having issues, so only ATI/AMD cards were tested.

Capture.PNG
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,077
20
106
Also, ran GFXBench Metal with my iPhone XR and GFXBench Vulkan with my 200GE w/VEGA3.

1080p Aztec Ruins (Normal Tier) Offscreen

200GE/Vega 3 w/Vulkan
Vega3.jpg
iPhone XR A12 - Metal
A12.jpg

AMD 200GE APU = 32 FPS
Apple A12 SoC = 68 FPS

Also ran Manhattan 3.0 Offscreen 1080p both using OpenGL

AMD 200GE APU = 42 FPS
Apple A12 SoC = 115 FPS
 

hojnikb

Senior member
Sep 18, 2014
543
24
91
Holy -Redacted-, that A12 gpu is fast for what it is ...:eek:

Profanity is not allowed in the technical forums.

Daveybrat
AT Moderator
 
Last edited by a moderator:


ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS