Asus X53E laptop/Windows 7 hangs, gets stuck loading/waiting for nothing

Skryblz

Jun 28, 2013
My girlfriends laptop is driving me nuts. I repair and cleanup computers for a living, but I can't seem to figure out what her Asus is doing.

Randomly while she is reading a web page, typing a word document, or the computer is just sitting idle, the mouse will change to a loading symbol (the blue circle w/a white line moving around) and everything currently open will change to "Not Responding" and grey out. It will sit like this for over 5 minutes. The windows can still be minimized and brought back, and the mouse moves normally, but closing them or crtl+alt+del does nothing. However, pressing crtl alt del to bring up task manager seems to fix the problem faster, because when Task Manager finally pops up then the computer goes back to working normally. Almost like FORCING it to process a program makes it catch up with itself :confused:

I have done chkdsk multiple times, malwarebytes/the cleaner/AVG all report no harmful programs, and I just ran Memtest86 overnight, 15 passes with no errors. I'm honestly stumped. There is only two things I could think are the issues. The RAM is not a matching pair, but both are pc3-10600. She had 4gb originally (Hynix), and I had a 2gb (Elipita?) from my laptop leftover after upgrading so I put that in; both Memtest and Windows recognized it as 6gb as expected. The BIOS does not allow me to change voltage timing, I checked already. The other thing, is that she dropped the laptop one time while it was asleep and scuffed the corner pretty bad. However, it was the opposite corner of her hard drive. Chkdsk fixed a couple bad sectors, but none have been found the past 3x I've ran it. I have not ran a manufacturers hard drive test yet, its a Hitatchi 500gb.