Asus rampage iii gene booting from sleep mode

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by CzYaZnMaN1213, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. CzYaZnMaN1213

    CzYaZnMaN1213 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I'm having some issues when my computer goes into sleep mode. It won't wake up when I press my keyboard or mouse, and if I click the power button it will boot from the beginning(asking me if i want to safe boot or start windows normally). Everything else is working fine except for the sleep mode.

    I recently built my system and the specs are below.

    Processor: core i7 950
    Mother board: Asus rampage iii gene
    Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 (4gb x 3)
    Video card: Evga gtx 570

    Any suggestions or comments would be helpful. Thanks!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Asus rampage gene Forum Date
    Article Request - ASUS Rampage III Extreme/Gene Fail Motherboards Apr 14, 2011
    ASUS Rampage III Gene mATX motherboard discussion Motherboards Jul 19, 2010
    ASUS rampage II gene no video signal? Motherboards Oct 7, 2009
    ASUS rampage II gene or evga x58 micro? Motherboards Sep 27, 2009
    Asus Rampage 2 Gene or Gigabyte EX58-UD4P Motherboards Jul 6, 2009

  3. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Couple thoughts...

    Overclocked? If so, try at default speeds.

    Clear BIOS and re-enable S3 sleep. You may also need to specifically enable wake on USB, and you may need to toggle the legacy USB keyboard/mouse option.

    Do you have a lot of USB devices? Maybe you are overpowering the 5VSB. Not positive, but I think standby relies on the 5VSB rail of the PSU. What PSU are you using?

    How many drives? Maybe it has problems spinning them all up again? If you have a bunch of drives, you can test with just the boot drive to see if the problem goes away.
     
  4. CzYaZnMaN1213

    CzYaZnMaN1213 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not overclocked. It's been running at stock settings. I have a corsair 850W power supply.

    I just have 1 hard drive, 1 dvd burner, front bay for the sound card, 1 usb keyboard and 1 usb mouse. I did't know I had to specifically enable wake on USB.

    I will take a look and see if the option is available in the bios.
     
  5. CzYaZnMaN1213

    CzYaZnMaN1213 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    I messed around in the bios and I was unsuccessful at solving the problem. I'm not sure what's going on exactly. When I try to go into sleep mode sometimes it would show the blue screen of death. So I did the memtest and the memories are fine.

    I forgot to mention that I have a creative x-fi FPS series sound card. Some interesting things I found was whenever I go into sleep mode and reboot, the settings for my sound card gets reverted back to default settings. Also when I try to do the auto update for the creative sound card, it says it can't find any product.

    Is the the sound card causing all this problem?
     
  6. mnemonic

    mnemonic Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with my system. It had to do with having a large hard drive. Microsoft released a patch for Windows 7.

    I'm not sure where the patch is now, but if you install Windows 7 SP1, it includes it by default, so I'd recommend installing that if you haven't already.
     
  7. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know, since I use onboard these days. You can try uninstalling the software and removing the card to see if the problem is resolved.
     
  8. SlitheryDee

    SlitheryDee Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    17,198
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was having a similar problem a couple weeks ago. I discovered that my windows power settings had the PC going into hibernate a short time after going to sleep. For some reason, the computer was treating the hibernate mode as a power off, but without a proper windows shut down. Disabling hibernate in power settings made the computer stay in sleep mode. There are lots of stuff that can cause sleep mode to malfunction, but it's worth a look.
     
  9. mb103051

    mb103051 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have found sometimes its a bios issue try a different bios if you think all other possibilities are covered..on my dfi board its always been a bios issue...if your running the latest then go back a couple and try it...like i said many times its a bios glitch...i always contact tech support when i find the issue is bios...they pass on the info to the bios team and waalaa, next bios works fine.....try it you have nothing to loose..
    just email them with the info...if it is bios alot of people usually complain about it...
    mite try a post on hardforum as they have an asus rep and you can pm him....
     
  10. CzYaZnMaN1213

    CzYaZnMaN1213 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tested everything and it still gives me the same problem. I installed all the windows update including service pack 1 and changed settings in the bios. I think there are some problems with the motherboard and the memory, so I decided to RMA them.

    Last time I checked, I think Gskill ripjaws are compatible with the Asus rampage iii gene motherboard, correct?
     
  11. Athadeus

    Athadeus Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long as it is unregistered, non-ECC DDR3, it should be compatible with that board.

    I have the same board, same brand and speed memory (maybe same exact model), and a related but different issue with sleep. I decided to call Asus tech support, and the guy I talked to seemed very knowledgeable, and concluded that an RMA was probably necessary. However, I have chosen to ignore the issue and never use sleep mode for the time being (hibernate works fine) since everything else is good.

    What RMA method are you using? Let me know how it goes for you please.
     
  12. CzYaZnMaN1213

    CzYaZnMaN1213 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to know someone has a similar setup. What kind of issues are you having? Every time my computer goes to sleep/hibernate mode it shows BSOD. It works fine when I don't let it go to sleep mode. I think once or twice my computer crashed randomly.

    I bought my board from newegg. So I just went through their RMA system. I tried going through Asus tech support, but it was horrible. I'm not sure if you had the same experience as me. First day I called, I was on the phone for hour or two never got through. 2nd day, same thing. 3rd day, I got through after 40 mins of waiting, then the lady tells me to hold on and redirects me to the desktop division. So i called again and the guy tells me to do the basic routine which I've already covered. I checked Newegg reviews, and it seemed like lot of people had the same issue.
     
    #11 CzYaZnMaN1213, Mar 4, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2011
  13. Athadeus

    Athadeus Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would say my issue is stranger, but very reproducible on my system.

    This is the RAM I have, F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ. $145 like 8 months ago, stupid pricing.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231225

    The only problem I have, stock or OCed, is that after I wake my computer from sleep mode, my PS2 keyboard does not work. However, the more annoying problem is that when I go to shutdown/restart my computer to get my KB working again, it will not complete the shutdown (sticks with Windows logo and shutdown message screen). After forcing a restart, the Intel NIC has vanished from device manager (even though enabled in BIOS), and it will not come back until I clear CMOS (and I really have no interest in a computer without internet access).

    I called a number labeled specifically as Asus NA Motherboard Support at 1-812-282-2787, only had to wait a couple of minutes, and talked to a man named David who sounded like an American. He said it sounded like a problem with the southbridge chipset, and that he had many years of experience and had seen things like that before.
     
  14. mb103051

    mb103051 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    im tellin you its bios issues..try another bios...every time ive had sleep problems its been related to bios as long as your settings in bios and win 7 are correct.....
     
  15. CzYaZnMaN1213

    CzYaZnMaN1213 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the late update. I fixed my computer. After updating the bios the problem didn't go away. Couple days later, I was faced with another issue. I couldn't go past the login screen. It was stuck at "Please wait..." for about a minute or two and then it would restart. I was able to login to my account at random intervals. So I did a disc check and Voila! 1/3 of the way, it throws a BSOD! So, I called newegg and requested a new hdd. After receiving the hdd, I did a clean install and my computer was fixed! Now my computer can go to sleep mode and wake up normally! Everything else is fine!

    Athadeus, if you still have some problems with your setup, let me know. I will do my best to help out.

    Thank you everyone for your help I appreciate it.
     
  16. Athadeus

    Athadeus Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seriously doubt my problem is going to go away without an RMA, which I'm not willing to do without advanced RMA option, which may be available. I was planning on getting some sort of SB setup when socket 2011 comes out, then RMAing it and selling the replacement.

    I also am now using a SF based SSD, which may cause more problems than before when I didn't have it, since many of those have had sleep issues with many firmware revs.