Asus P6T "No hard disk is detected" fix?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by tim924, Dec 7, 2008.

  1. tim924

    tim924 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,I finally put together my i7 build lately with the following components:
    Core i7 920/Asus P6T Deluxe/6GB ddr3 Corasair xsm3/XFX GTX260 black/
    WD 640GB HD/Samsung 22x DVD burners

    Everything is running smoothly with Vista Ultimate 32bit,but one thing bothers me is that now everytime before entering windows during post some says "Mavell 88se 61xx/63xx/64xx adapter..." and "no physical disk...no virtual disk...no hard disk is detected"
    would appear everytime I boot up my system,although it doesnt prevent me from entering my OS or interfere the performance,but i still feel a bit distracted by constantly seeing these poping out everytime,can anyone help me fix the problem?
    Too add a little more details,I put my WD 640GB in sata 1 port while the samsung 22xDVD is at sata 2 port,I already have a floppy dirve configured at IDE port,I'm by no means an expert at this,I appreicate your help guys thanks!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Asus hard disk Forum Date
    ASUS Z170 Deluxe. Slow SATA hard disk speed on cold boot. Motherboards Feb 6, 2017
    how to use sata hard drive in Asus p5l-mx Motherboards Sep 25, 2013
    best choice of hard disk for Asus A8N-E Motherboards Feb 3, 2006
    137GB+ hard disk on Asus A7N266-VM supported or not? Motherboards Dec 4, 2004
    asus a7m 266 - hard disk failure Motherboards Apr 16, 2001

  3. Indyboy2

    Indyboy2 Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disable the boot rom in the bios?i'm guessing you have the optical drives and hard drives on the ich10r.
     
  4. Bad Dude

    Bad Dude Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which option do you go under to do this?
    Thanks,
     
  5. Spikesoldier

    Spikesoldier Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    6,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    set first boot device to hard drive instead of lan.
     
  6. chinhng

    chinhng Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    tim924,

    to get rid of the "no hard disk detected message", u need to go into bios under advance>onboard device configuration>marvell storage boot rom> disable.
     
  7. kaiser02

    kaiser02 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disable the boot rom in the bios?What option do you go under to do this?
     
  8. RDT64

    RDT64 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    NightWatch (I build 'em, I name 'em) started glitching with the occasional blue screen, slow loads and so on. I loaded a backup image and the problem went away for a few days that BOOM, it's back. After have the boot repair utility run around and running the regular hardware tests (all good) I updated the BIOS only to get the NHDD error. BIOS showed all the drives but at boot NHDD with the boot repair utility making the occasional cameo appearance. None of the suggested BIOS fixes worked and finally I turned to my Win7 install disk which loaded up and installed no problem. Once done the OS booted up golden I reloaded the backup image, booted and was right back to NHDD. NONE of the image backups worked, at all. I've since reloaded everything from install disks and current WAG is something in the new BIOS is incompatible with installs involving the original BIOS, including backups. Help?

    Asus P6T Deluxe Ver2 with BIOS ver1008
    Intel i7 2.66
    Corsiar DDR3 1600 RAM (3 2GB sticks)
    WDC 160GB C drive
    Hitachi 1T D drive
    MSI GTX 295
    850w power supply
    Antec 1200 case
     
  9. masterbm

    masterbm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    you might want to try another hdd or a secure wipe
     
  10. RDT64

    RDT64 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both drives tests out good (for what that's worth) and each reinstall, disk and backup image, involved deleting and repartitioning the drive. I'm about to do a reimage the drive using the backup I just made. If anybody hears a primal scream in the next few minutes, just kiss your kids, lock the doors and load your guns...

    UPDATE: Backup image install, including repartition, done and NightWatch rebooted no problem! Looks like the WAG was right, something in the backup images done under the old BIOS was incompatible with the new BIOS...
     
    #9 RDT64, Jan 5, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2011