ASUS M5A97 R2.0 FSB max @ 300 Mhz?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by PAPADOC, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. PAPADOC

    PAPADOC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have managed to overclock the ASUS M5A97 R2.0 to a bus speed (FSB) of 300 MHz
    using the phenom x6 1045T.

    But the second I try and set the bus speed (FSB) a bit higher like 305 MHz,
    windows keeps crashing!

    Would this be a limitation of the board since it's a 4+2 power phase design?

    Or are there other options I can try to stabilize the higher bus speeds

    examples:

    1- would increasing the mobo related voltages in bios help? i tried a bit of that didn't seem to

    2- Remove the stock thermal pads of the default mobo heatsinks and replace them with AS5?

    3- Add more heatsinks on the mobo to strategic components?

    Any ideas will be appreciated.

    thanks
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - ASUS M5A97 Forum Date
    Asus M5A97 LE R2.0 won't run memory as dual channel, etc Motherboards Aug 29, 2015
    MSI A88XM or ASUS M5A97 for gaming Motherboards Dec 24, 2014
    ASUS M5A97 evo OR Msi 990FXA-GD65 Motherboards Mar 15, 2014
    ASUS M5A97 r2.0 motherboard Motherboards Dec 21, 2013
    Asus M5A97 R2.0? Motherboards Dec 7, 2013

  3. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Take up the PLL voltage or enable it . also max out north bridge voltage.

    Then we can talk about vcore after you do those two things let me know.

    thx
     
  4. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Use onboard sound much better then the junk creative dishes out.

    32 bit OS ? you wont get 4GB ram instead only 3.2GB will be recognized by 32 bit OS.

    Also get rid of that creative junk At this time in age if you dont have a 8GB system your sooo 2006. lol
     
  5. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,775
    Likes Received:
    603
    300Mhz is at the upper end of AMD FSB speeds. You're lucky to be able to hit that high of an FSB, to be honest. Be happy with what you get.
     
  6. doodle6721

    doodle6721 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My ASUS M5A97 with amd 1055T will run at 300 but wont do much higher neither