Info Asus, Gigabyte and Asrock adding Vermeer and Renoir support to A320 boards. (Update: 1.2.0.7 adds Cezanne support to 300 series)

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

igor_kavinski

Diamond Member
Jul 27, 2020
3,867
2,338
106
That's incredibly frustrating that some boards are getting BIOS updates while others aren't. And AMD artificially limiting CPU support. That's so not AMD of them.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
6,032
1,401
136
That's incredibly frustrating that some boards are getting BIOS updates while others aren't. And AMD artificially limiting CPU support. That's so not AMD of them.
AMD has stopped blocking CPU support, albeit recently. I think that may be why this BIOS was just posted. See this article. https://www.anandtech.com/show/17313/ryzen-7-5800x3d-launches-april-20th-plus-6-new-low-mid-range-ryzen-chips

They will be supporting Vermeer and others including the new 5800X3D on 300 series boards, I think this BIOS was released early by gigabyte now that this was announced. I would expect this support for many boards soon.
 

igor_kavinski

Diamond Member
Jul 27, 2020
3,867
2,338
106
Someone currently not on AMD looking at getting 5800X3D has what choice exactly? Do I have to get a B450/B550/X570 mobo with a cheap AMD CPU to update the BIOS to the latest version supporting 5800X3D?
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
6,032
1,401
136
Many recent mid-range and high end boards support some form of bootless BIOS flashing, in which case you would not need a CPU to update that board. Intel as well has had this for a while now on many boards.
 

igor_kavinski

Diamond Member
Jul 27, 2020
3,867
2,338
106
Many recent mid-range and high end boards support some form of bootless BIOS flashing, in which case you would not need a CPU to update that board.
Can you please provide an example of a board from ASUS and MSI each, so I know what feature to look for?
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
6,032
1,401
136
  • Like
Reactions: igor_kavinski

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
4,695
1,283
136
Someone currently not on AMD looking at getting 5800X3D has what choice exactly? Do I have to get a B450/B550/X570 mobo with a cheap AMD CPU to update the BIOS to the latest version supporting 5800X3D?
Shouldn't be necessary. So long as there is Vermeer support, it should boot okay. It may not detect the CPU properly without an update, but it should at least boot so you can update the BIOS. The X3D is nothing more then a high cache version of the regular 5800X, so at worst the extra cache might be disabled. Since AMD has pretty good access to their own product road map, basic X3D support may already be hiding in there.

My A320M-K didn't come with support for the Athlon 200GE either, but it booted just fine on the factory Raven BIOS it shipped with. Just didn't recognise the Athlon properly at first boot.

Otherwise;

Many recent mid-range and high end boards support some form of bootless BIOS flashing, in which case you would not need a CPU to update that board. Intel as well has had this for a while now on many boards.
 

igor_kavinski

Diamond Member
Jul 27, 2020
3,867
2,338
106
My A320M-K didn't come with support for the Athlon 200GE either, but it booted just fine on the factory Raven BIOS it shipped with. Just didn't recognise the Athlon properly at first boot.
What happened when it didn't recognize the Athlon? Gave some error message to update BIOS? Or gave error message that it did not recognize the CPU but allowed to boot anyway?
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
4,695
1,283
136
What happened when it didn't recognize the Athlon? Gave some error message to update BIOS? Or gave error message that it did not recognize the CPU but allowed to boot anyway?
Just gave it an "Unknown CPU" moniker, but that was about it from what I remember. Admittedly I didn't try booting the Windows installer, so I have no idea how that would turn out. Just updated the BIOS, and everything ran flawlessly from there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: igor_kavinski

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,625
1,306
136
AMD has stopped blocking CPU support
Not completely, as of today, Cezanne is still blocked on the 300 series. We have to wait for Agesa 1.2.0.7 to see if the limitation is lifted.

But all other cpus should be supported on the 300 series, but it depends on OEM to provide bios for the boards. Gigabyte has been the best for that, Asus, MSI and Asrock are yet to provide bios updates for B350s, and some even lack X370 bios too.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
6,032
1,401
136
Not completely, as of today, Cezanne is still blocked on the 300 series. We have to wait for Agesa 1.2.0.7 to see if the limitation is lifted.

But all other cpus should be supported on the 300 series, but it depends on OEM to provide bios for the boards. Gigabyte has been the best for that, Asus, MSI and Asrock are yet to provide bios updates for B350s, and some even lack X370 bios too.
This is a fair point, I forgot about the Cezanne, that it is not supported yet though Renoir is. Interestingly, the article does not mention if Cezanne will be supported or not, just that the 5000 series Ryzens will be. So does that mean all the Ryzen 5000s, or just the ones without GPUs?
 

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,625
1,306
136
This is a fair point, I forgot about the Cezanne, that it is not supported yet though Renoir is. Interestingly, the article does not mention if Cezanne will be supported or not, just that the 5000 series Ryzens will be. So does that mean all the Ryzen 5000s, or just the ones without GPUs?
The info for now is no Cezanne for 300 series, that includes the ones whiout igpu like the 5500, but that may change silently on 1.2.0.7.
 

Ranulf

Golden Member
Jul 18, 2001
1,807
340
126
It looks like Gigabyte has supported zen3 chips since december 2021 for my x370 mobo, the GA-AX370-Gaming K7 rev. 1.0.

Looks like they want you to update to earlier bios versions first if you haven't already though. Something to watch out for.
 

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,625
1,306
136
It looks like Gigabyte has supported zen3 chips since december 2021 for my x370 mobo, the GA-AX370-Gaming K7 rev. 1.0.

Looks like they want you to update to earlier bios versions first if you haven't already though. Something to watch out for.
I have heard they dont work just yet, maybe the tables were updated before the new bios came out. That would make sence because Vermeer on B350/x370 was agesa blocked on 1.2.0.5 and 1.2.0.6.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ranulf

.vodka

Golden Member
Dec 5, 2014
1,197
1,516
136
ASUS AGESA v2 1.2.0.6b beta BIOSes for their X370 boards so far, boot Vermeer and it works without problems. Cezanne is still blocked.

Prime X370 Pro, Strix X370-F, X370-I on BIOS 6026
ROG C6E on BIOS 8503 (they released the Extreme BIOS before the Hero, that's interesting)

Things are getting better and better. Hopefully 1.2.0.7 unlocks Cezanne on 300 series boards and makes compatibility even across every manufacturer. People are already enjoying software based features like SAM on 300 series boards thanks to AGESA v2. Nice to see.



It looks like Gigabyte has supported zen3 chips since december 2021 for my x370 mobo, the GA-AX370-Gaming K7 rev. 1.0.

Looks like they want you to update to earlier bios versions first if you haven't already though. Something to watch out for.
All Gigabyte AGESA v2 1.2.0.5 releases for their B350/X370 don't POST Vermeer nor Cezanne. Only Renoir.

This is what kickstarted the shitstorm that made AMD publicily state through an employee they were exploring Zen3 support on 300 boards, because a few months before this, we had official AGESA V2 1.2.0.3c BIOSes for A320 boards across all manufacturers, that POST Renoir and Vermeer, but not Cezanne.

Why the f*** would you update old boards to the new codebase, be able to run 5000 series CPUs on puny A320 boards but not B350 or X370? It was all so absurd.


As a result....


we get AGESA v2 1.2.0.7 which is AMD's official release for Zen3 support on 300 series boards (and an update for the rest of the AM4 ecosystem that also fixes fTPM stutter). Hopefully this release finally unlocks Cezanne. Timeline for new BIOSes is April/May.
 
Last edited:

Ranulf

Golden Member
Jul 18, 2001
1,807
340
126
Good to know. I wasn't planning on messing with that system anytime soon regardless as its in parts at the moment.
 

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,625
1,306
136
Asus is starting to roll out bios updates for their B350 and X370 boards ahead of time using Agesa 1.2.0.6b


They havent updated the cpu support list yet, 1.2.0.6b should fully support Renoir and Vermeer, but not Cezanne.
 

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,625
1,306
136
ASrock already released their 1.2.0.7 bios for the A320M-HDV R4.0 confirms Cezanne support on 300 series. Finally.

1. Support Cezanne CPU
2. Update AMD AM4 AGESA Combo V2 PI 1.2.0.7
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shmee

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,625
1,306
136
Gigabyte A320M-H
F55b
Update AMD AGESA 1.2.0.7 for adding Vermeer and Cezanne processors support
Supports Ryzen 7 5800X3D processor
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shmee

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
6,032
1,401
136
Yeah the B350M Gaming 3 now has an F51f firmware with AGESA 1.2.0.7. I wonder if there would be any benefit to me updating to it over T51c with a 5900X on the board?
 

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
4,695
1,283
136
Just found out my AB350M Pro4 got the 1207 update (BIOS 7.20). So update time it is. Now my 1700 is running with Above 4G Decoding and Resize BAR (SAM) enabled. I didn't think an old Polaris card (Radeon Pro WX2100) was supported, but apparently it is.

Now who says you can't teach an old Ryzen new tricks? :cool:
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
53,784
8,022
126
Just found out my AB350M Pro4 got the 1207 update (BIOS 7.20). So update time it is. Now my 1700 is running with Above 4G Decoding and Resize BAR (SAM) enabled. I didn't think an old Polaris card (Radeon Pro WX2100) was supported, but apparently it is.

Now who says you can't teach an old Ryzen new tricks? :cool:
Too bad those boards STILL can't run a 2200G sucessfully... :p
 
  • Like
Reactions: Insert_Nickname

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
4,695
1,283
136
...and a 1207 BIOS is just up for my A320M-K with official Cezanne support. Must resist that Zen3 itching.

Never would have expected such a level of support for such a cheap board.

Edit; There seems to have been a bit of memory optimisation. Before my Athlon could do ~39500MB/s with DDR-3600 (@18-25-25-58. All the poor thing can do stable). Now it consistently hits ~40500MB/s the the same settings. Excellent.
 
Last edited:

RnR_au

Senior member
Jun 6, 2021
479
1,157
96

Just found out today that my brother's Gigabyte X370 board supports the 5800X3D. I helped him build his system back in 2018. We paid $AU105 for the board new and paired it with a second hand 1600X and some b-die ram.

Thank you AMD!
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY