ASUS AC66U - How to setup DNS server?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gizbug, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. gizbug

    gizbug Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible with this router, for me to setup my own DNS server? I heard this is the best route to go for a home network, then have it piggy back off Google or Opendns.

    Any clue how/where to set this up?
     
  2. Demo24

    Demo24 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    8,271
    Likes Received:
    2
    Technically yes, but its not full featured which I doubt you need anyway. It should already be configured as this. In win8, go to your start 'screen', type 'cmd', then 'ipconfig /all'. Somewhere in there you'll see your network adapter and its IP information, the DNS will likely match your gateway ( if you didn't alter it:192.168.1.1). At this point all you need to do is make sure your DNS in the 'wan' section of that router is changed to whatever you want to use (8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4, for Google's).
     
  3. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's not what he's talking about dude.

    OP: reference the firmware manual for help doing this.
    I use Tomato by shibby and there is a lot of reference on those forums and also online on the tomato website.
     
  4. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    He didn't say use a static DNS as you suggested which would break as soon as the ISP reconfigures their addressing scheme of the DNS server which uses it.

    Please reference OPENDNS documentation, it's all there... you just need to READ. ;)
     
  5. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, and also, you could if you want to do it simply configure individual hosts to use a different DNS obviously, or router wide. You change it on the router, and every client on the network goes off the routers entry.

    For example,

    I use google DNS static entry for my Netflix connected TV, I find it works best.
    I use the ISP provided DNS for the rest.
     
  6. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, and you will need to configure OPTWARE, it is fully featured. You may need to install Tomato or DDWRT or something like that.
    Optware will let you do all sorts of linuxFU on your N66u.
     
  7. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    27,767
    Likes Received:
    5
    qizbug, what do you mean by DNS server.

    Local IPs are resolved automatically.

    Internet DNS Server like the functions of Google or OpenDNS you can not be carried locally.

    Unless there is something else very specific on your mind you should read more about Networking so that you can decipher better "stories" over the Internet.


    :cool: