Asus A8N SLI Deluxe still sucks at FSB oc?

UzairH

Dec 12, 2004
Reading Anand's recent review, as well as all the posts in the official thread for this board, it appears that the maximum stable FSB this board reaches is 240MHz. Is that still the case today? I am gonna get primarily for overclocking so if it still suxors that would be no go.

GuitarDaddy

Lifer
Nov 9, 2004
Thats not quite right. The 240 limit is ram at a 1T command rate, you can run FSB/HTT quite high on this board you just have to use a memory divider or set a 2T command rate(divider is better, as 2T is a performance killer). On my board I can run at HTT 325mhz, my everyday settings that I've been using for 3 months are 289mhz x 9 = 2602mhz with ram at 236mhz (DDR472)

This isn't much of a limitation at all, as its widely reported that running high ram speed at 1:1 provides little benefit on A64's, all the best overclockers use mem dividers when overclocking A64's, check out the sig's of all the leaders in the benchmarking contest threads around here.

Anandtechs review was done with ram 1:1 which is just stupid, just shows how noobish they are when it comes to overclocking. And all their O/C testing was done with a 4000+?
So far I haven't seen any decent overclocking reviews done on NF4 boards

UzairH

Dec 12, 2004
Thanks a million GuitarDaddy :) Obvoiously I am new here, but from what I read in the A8N SLI forum a lot of people are having problems like issues with maxtor disks, RAID, and others. Are the newer revisions more problem-free? And also what you said about the OC limit, is it almost gaurenteed for my potential A8N to hit 290 or at least 270 HTT? Or does a significant percentage of the mobos fail to reach that freq?

Also would Kingston Value Ram CL3 be good for overclocking this board and Winchester 1.8GHz to say 2.5GHz or 277 HTT? Believe it or not that is the ONLY DDR1 ram available here in Pakistan :( I could set the mem divider to 150 to get the RAM at DDR 417. Would that work well?