ASUS A7N8X & Tbred 1800+ - Need OC'ing Help!

Sushi

Senior member
Jan 1, 2001
385
0
0
Hey, I have a question....

I just got the A7N8X Deluxe and have a TBred 1800+ (unlocked). I am currently running it at 12.5X133, making it a 2000+.

I want to get more power from the processor without frying anything...LOL Anyone have any suggestions?

Here's what I have...

Unlocked Athlon XP Thoroughbred 1800+ @ 1.66GHz (12.5X133)
Coolermaster HHC-001 HSF (the one with the heat pipes) mounted to the CPU with Arctic Silver 3 (Sounds like a jet taking off... The only thing I don't like about it)
512 MB PC2700 Mushkin DDR RAM (1 DIMM) with heatspreader, default timings are Rated 2.5-3-3
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe Mobo (I disabled the SATA RAID...UGH)
Radeon 9000 128MB Video
Using onboard NVidia LAN and sound

Any help is appreciated.
 

soni

Diamond Member
May 29, 2000
4,222
0
0
Well, first off, set FSB to 166 and lower your multipler:)

Remember NForce2 has PCI lock :p
 

Sushi

Senior member
Jan 1, 2001
385
0
0
Any idea what a good multiplier would be? How low should I go?

Thanks?
 

Sushi

Senior member
Jan 1, 2001
385
0
0
Should I make any adjustments to the voltage at all, or just leave that alone?

Thanks :)
 

Sushi

Senior member
Jan 1, 2001
385
0
0
Originally posted by: soni
Well, first off, set FSB to 166 and lower your multipler:)

Remember NForce2 has PCI lock :p


I tried that... My system was not happy. I just got the lights on the case and no display or boot.... 150MHz FSb will get into windows, then if I touch the mouse... BSOD!!! (Blue screen of death!)

I have no idea which component is causing it? Anyone have any input on voltage settings etc...

Another wierd thing.. Asus probe reports my CPU temp as 29C no matter what I am doing??? I think that's odd, and definitely wrong. I am using BIOS Revision 1002.001 (Had to... My multipliers weren't working until I updated it)

Thanks!
 

SKORPI0

Lifer
Jan 18, 2000
18,432
2,348
136
Got my 1800+ TBred "A" AUIGA 0242 to 1913 MHz (166.36FSB x11.5 Mult). 25% Overclock. CPU voltage @ 1.75V. :D

Asus A7N8X Deluxe v1.1 - Bios 1002 Final.
2 PNY 256mB PC2700 (Samsung chips)
Alpha PAL 8045 HS - CPU - 37C, MB - 25C
Delta FFB0812SHE 80 mm fan (noisy!!!!) - 4900 rpm, 68 cfm , 48.5 dbA
Chenming Server Chassis AX-01SLD w/ 420W PSU w/ 4 fans.
WD 600AB - Master w/ Win XP SP1
WD 400AB - Slave
Lite-On LTR-32123S (not flashed to 40X)
Artec 16X DVD-Rom
3 1/2" floppy

3DMark2001SE(330) scores.

MSI GF3 Ti500 (default) -
1533 @ 1.5 V ---- 8085
1754 @ 1.55V ---- 9381
1833 @ 1.60V ---- 9431
1913 @ 1.75V ---- 9518 max vcore for this motherboard.

Haven't hooked up my BFG Technologies Asylum GeForce4 Ti 4200 128Mb to try 3DMark2001SE(330). Got 10441 marks @ 1800MHz (144x12.5) w/ a Gigabyte GA-7VRXP.

 

Sushi

Senior member
Jan 1, 2001
385
0
0
Originally posted by: SKORPI0
Try 12.5 Mult X 144 FSB for 2200+ (1.8GHz). ;)

Runs great at this speed... Should I try upping the voltage to max for 166 FSB?

Will my Coolermaster HHC-001 handle the load of that high of voltage?

 

ArmchairAthlete

Diamond Member
Dec 3, 2002
3,763
0
0
I'm using the same board with a 1700+ Tbred. Currently OCed at (166 x 11x) at 1.7v. Use ASUS PC Probe to watch your temps and make sure they stay under like 50 deg celcius. And get a prog called Prime95 so you can put the CPU under load to make sure it is stable and doesn't get too hot.
 

SKORPI0

Lifer
Jan 18, 2000
18,432
2,348
136
Originally posted by: Sushi

Runs great at this speed... Should I try upping the voltage to max for 166 FSB?

Will my Coolermaster HHC-001 handle the load of that high of voltage?
Looks like a nice cooler. As I poster earlier, i'm getting 1913 MHz (166FSBx11.5 mult) w/ 1.75V Vcore. CPU temp - 37C, MB temp - 25C. Using a Alpha PAL8045 w/ a noisy fan. :frown:

Here's a nice reference page for Overclocked CPU.

OverClocked inside OC-Database

settings...

normal; Overclocked CPU-speed between 1533 and 1533; AMD-TBred; Aircooler
 

Sushi

Senior member
Jan 1, 2001
385
0
0
I'll have to try it. According to the BIOS, my CPU is running about 30C as it stands right now... 12.5X144 stock voltage... I really can't complain having an 1800+ running at 1800 MHz! :D I am speed hungry though.. hehe, I want MORE! I know that Mushkin DDR and NVidia chipset can go higher!

I will try the 166FSB at 1.75V and let you all know what happens. I'll start with a multiplier of 11 and see where that gets me...

The only thing that sucks is that I have to reset my CMOS everytime I OC too high. I am TIRED of opening the damn case...LOL

 

SKORPI0

Lifer
Jan 18, 2000
18,432
2,348
136
How did you get 144 FSB? I can only access 100,133 and 166 FSB (no in-between or higher) at the Bios.

Looks like I'm maxing out at 1913 MHz (166x11.5) w. 1.75 VCore. Cannot go any higher on the VCore.

Tried 166X12 = 2003 MHz (2400+) w/ 1.75 VCore, but system boots, no video. Had to reset the CMOS. Looks like this is where I stop. ;)
 

Sushi

Senior member
Jan 1, 2001
385
0
0
You have to change the system CPU setup to User defined. That lets you adjust the FSB in 1 MHz increments...
 

Sushi

Senior member
Jan 1, 2001
385
0
0
The highest I can go (with any amount of stability) it seems is 12.5x150 = 1875MHz @1.65V

If I try 155, 160 x 10, 10.5, 11, 11.5 @ 1.75V it doesn't appear to work... kinda bums me out :(

I wonder if my PSU could be at fault... It's a 350W generic... I want a Raidmax 400W or 450W

Oh well, I am pretty happy with 1.87GHz, CPU Load temp is around 40C. I can live with that too...

Anyone have any further ideas?