Apple: App and store do note denote a store for apps

Bateluer

Lifer
Jun 23, 2001
http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/0...tore-for-apps-apple-no-really-they-said-that/

Apple denies that, based on their common meaning, the words “app store” together denote a store for apps.

- Apple, Inc., 2011

Open mouth, insert foot.

Amazon is saying that (I’m definitely paraphrasing here) it would be an act of monumental stupidity to allow Apple to control that phrase, and I tend to agree. By showing the phrase is in common use, that it is generic, and that Apple has made no previous attempts to protect it from would-be infringers, Amazon wants the court to invalidate Apple’s trademark as unenforceable with a declaratory judgment. That is what Amazon is counterclaiming (suing back in the same lawsuit) against Apple for.

Oyeve

Lifer
Oct 18, 1999
Wow, what a bunch of 'tards. Pretty soon lower case "i" will be trade-marked. I have been using app for over 25 years in IT. Maybe I should sue apple.

Anubis

No Lifer
Aug 31, 2001
tbqhwy.com
sorry but that's EXACTLY what "app store" stands for

drugstore = store for drugs
hardware store = store for hardware
app store != store for apps
WTF??? yeah, good luck with that argument there

Last edited:

akugami

Diamond Member
Feb 14, 2005
Wow, what a bunch of 'tards. Pretty soon lower case "i" will be trade-marked. I have been using app for over 25 years in IT. Maybe I should sue apple.

To Joe Public the term "app" is new to them. Prior to Apple's popularization of the term, most people not tech oriented use application, software, and program. I've been messing with computers and overclocking them when you needed to mess with jumpers and quite honestly I don't recall anyone ever calling a software application an app. It's either a piece of software, application, or program.