Anyone here use AutoCAD?

purplehayes

Golden Member
Mar 31, 2000
One of my new resposibilties at my new position is drawing with AutoCAD. We're using R14 now and was wondering if going to AutoCAD 2000 would be worth the jump. Any good plug-ins or add-ons to make my life easier?

PH
:p

IvoryGrail

Apr 30, 2000
nope can't say that I have. I would think the only plugins available for that type of program is render ones(Lightscape, AccuRender).

Mday

Lifer
Oct 14, 1999
not many companies actually upgraded to 2k when it first came out.

2k does not offer that much more than 14.

The most important feature of 2k is being able to split a single project into several smaller files...

Mday

Lifer
Oct 14, 1999
needless to say, file properties change all the time... :(

usually, companies either have their own programmer or outsource to a programmer to create a plug-in to make their lives easier... i remember when i was an intern at a small architecture company that the partners were discussing (with a 3rd party, probably their provider) a $100 plug-in...

highme

Golden Member
Apr 22, 2000
I use R14. I wouldn't mind jumping to 2000, but the engineering firm I work for has a huge contract with a residential designer that has no immediate plans to move to 2000. Since the entire menu system is written to specifically work on their plans, I don't want to be the guinea pig to see if the menu still works in 2000.

Capn

Platinum Member
Jun 27, 2000
Autocad is for weenies. :) Get yourself a man's CAD program like ProE or Solidworks

chansen

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
AutoCAD 2000LT is fine if you're not into 3d and Lisp routines. For simple structural engineering work, I like how 2000 handles paperspace (Layouts), though for the life of me, I can't convince my boss of their usefulness. Neither can I convince myself of his.

Craig

Chad

Platinum Member
Oct 11, 1999