Anyone here that is from VA and has dealt with the DMV I could really use some advice plz:)

bozack

Diamond Member
Jan 14, 2000
Well if anyone in here is from VA I could really use some info, here is my dilemma I have just moved in with my GF to Washington D.C. and in a month and a half I will be moving to VA in arlington, well yesterday out of necessity and out of impluse I bought a new car, well financed a new contour svt that was the easy part, now I have to get a new DL and a registration

the dilemma:

I am not a resident of D.C. and would rather not register it here because I would just be switching everything over again in roughly a month and that would be a big pain and alot of extra $$$, I cannot switch the plates from my old car because that was registered in MASS and I would have to drive all the way home and back and then get it inspected and that is an even bigger pain in the ace. I want to get everything done in VA but I have to prove that I am a resident which technically I am not yet but will soon be, however this all has to be done by this week?

My plan:
I have the lease which I signed allready in my posession, I am going to go to the registry and tell them I am residing with someone for the time being but am moving to VA in the very recent future and hope that they just let me get my licence.

What I need to know:
will this work? if not what can I do, I dont think that I can just take the car back, in fact I know that is not an option and not something that I want to do because I like the car alot. It is just frustrating and with my starting a new job this week it puts a pinch on time. I know I should have waited to make the purchase but it was the last black model left and yes I checked elsewhere, it is a hard car to find especially since they are not making it anymore. Any information would be greatly appreciated thanks

montanafan

Diamond Member
Nov 7, 1999