Anyone have recommendations on a sub $2000 HDTV?

Tbirdkid

Diamond Member
Apr 16, 2002
Does anyone have any recommendations? I am looking for a big screen and awesome clarity. Dony want to spend a fortune tho. All recommendations are greatly appreciated. Thanks

rudeguy

Lifer
Dec 27, 2001
oh yeah, if you want a bigger tv, check out the mitsubishi 55313, good set, good size, good price

Tbirdkid

Diamond Member
Apr 16, 2002
Ok but what is with the hd adapter? I am a noob to hdtv so hook me up with the things to look for... thanks

rudeguy

Lifer
Dec 27, 2001
Originally posted by: Amused
Bigger is better, then get this:

http://www.circuitcity.com/detail.jsp?c=1&b=g&catoid=-8041&qp=0&bookmark=bookmark_9&oid=69934

I have a Hitachi and couldn't be more impressed with it.

You could probably find this one on sale for under 2 grand:

http://www.circuitcity.com/detail.jsp?c=1&b=g&catoid=-8041&qp=0&bookmark=bookmark_13&oid=68962

if you want a hitachi, get the ultravision...the sets you linked to arent nearly comparable to the Toshiba/Mitsu sets I was talking about. I wouldnt worry too much about the HD box, its mostly used for over the air reception, and if you have satelite or cable you wouldnt have a use for it. The only exception is the new QAM tuners that come built in some sets, which can be used to decode the HD signal from your cable provider.

Amused

Elite Member
Apr 14, 2001
Originally posted by: Tbirdkid
Ok but what is with the hd adapter? I am a noob to hdtv so hook me up with the things to look for... thanks

If you want to get OTA HD signals (the best way to get the big three in HD), you can find HD boxes to do so for $2-300. If you want to get HD over Sat, you can do this for $200-700 depending on the service and the box (most HD sat boxes can get OTA HD signals too since DirecTV and Dish do not, and cannot carry NBC, ABC and CBS in HD).