Anyone go to KU or live in Lawrence, Kansas ?

deftron

Lifer
Nov 17, 2000
Might be moving there soon.

What areas are good to get an apartment in?

I prefer something close to or in a downtown area if possible..

luv2chill

Diamond Member
Feb 22, 2000
Cool deal!

Lawrence is a great place to live. I came here from the SF Bay Area seven years ago (yikes!) to go to school at KU. Everyone back home thought I was nuts for doing so but it was one of the best decisions I ever made. I graduated in 2000 but have a fantastic job here and just can't seem to leave. If you like live music Lawrence is a great place to be. I've probably seen 20 great shows here in the last year. Also, anything that Lawrence doesn't have (we finally got a Home Depot and Best Buy) Kansas City definitely does, and it's only 30-45 minutes away (depending on whether you take K-10 or I-70 and how fast you like to drive :D).

Yeah, I do miss the temperate California climate and the cuisine, but I do not miss the impossible housing prices, "move or I'll run over you" attitudes, and general snobbishness and exclusiveness demonstrated by *some* Californians. I do love to go back and visit Cali twice a year or so. But I digress...

I take it you have been to Lawrence before? So you know that downtown is on the East Side. Lawrence has grown dramatically West in the last 30 years or so, and much of the newer, nicer housing is located on the West side. I live in a great apt complex on West 6th Street. It only takes me 5 minutes in the car to get down to Mass St. (the main drag). If you won't have a car you can always take the "T" (aka the bus).

Any other questions let me know.

l2c

deftron

Lifer
Nov 17, 2000
Cool.

My dad lives about 40 minutes form Lawrence.

Has a place in Miami county.

One of the major reasons I want to move there is because I always
hear about good shows there and a good music scene.

Also, it's supposed to be community oriented town.