Chad

Platinum Member
Oct 11, 1999
Hi all,

First, my specs ;-)

Height: 5'-11"
Weight: 165 lbs.
Race: Caucasian
Health Status: Average for my age. No previous ailments or diseases etc. Play Soccer, occasional run, workout at the GYM twice a month.

Ok, Now... I started my fast July 15th 2000 (today as of this writing). I am
only drinking "Aquafina" water (cause I like the taste better than other
waters I've tried). I'm a (relatively) newfound Christian, and I have
started this fast for several reasons. First and foremost, spiritually.
Second, for detoxification, and lastly, I have a bit of a tummy (for some
reason, I've never been able to shake it) that I wouldn't mind seeing go.

I'm wondering... since I'm an active person, must I stop being active? What
about my workouts? I would like to go to the GYM, lift weights, play
basketball and swim. Also, I like to play golf and to go to the driving
range, is this, any or all acceptable?

Lastly, I am a programmer for a rather large and well known company, my work
can sometimes push the limits of my minds capabilities. To worsen matters,
we are in transition and having to learn all kins of new things, new
languages (Java) and new IDE's (JDP) and even new databases (Oracle). I am
feverishly studying and taking classes. I'm worried my fast will hinder me.
Is this the case?

If your interested, I can keep you all abreast of my fast. My plan is to go
till August 1st 2000 (basically a half a month fast). Perhaps more if I'm
feeling well at that time.

Another thing, what is this "ketosis" I've seen people talk about? I'm
not knowledgeable in fasting whatsoever, and I went into this rather
blindly. I've seen that it's suggested to read up with some books, but as
you know, I have literally NO time for that. I'm a healthy guy, so I figure
I can do this.

Lastly... any suggestions to help me make it through this? This being my
first day and all (past suppertime now) I've had a few cravings (one