anybody know how good the Antec Earthwatts ea650 is?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Xenphor, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Tsavo

    Tsavo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are 3 different models of EA-650 made by two different manufacturers; Delta and FSP.

    Beyond that, I don't know if it'll burn your house down and elope with your daughter.
     
  3. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Delta and FSP? Is that good or bad. I'm pretty sure mine is the one in the link because it is also green?
     
    #3 Xenphor, Nov 21, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012
  4. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out this handy review database which also lists the basic specs and the real manufacturer: http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page673.htm

    The original EA-650 was made by Delta and only had an 80 Plus certification. The unit you got is the updated EA-650 Green which is 80+ Bronze certified (up to 88% efficient in 230V AC, I guess). It's a very good unit, you can count on it. Delta is among the top manufacturers. The downsides: three year warranty as opposed to five on most competing units, only two PCIe cables, and no power cord supplied. So nothing major.

    Then there's the EA-650 Platinum. Golden award from Hardwaresecrets, that one can't be bad either. It's made by FSP I'd rate Delta higher.
     
  5. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just don't want it to fry my components if it goes bad. After reading on the web, it almost seems like PSU failure is all but certain -- At least that and ram; however, my ram already died so I guess I'm good for awhile.
     
  6. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    The chances of it going bad in the foreseeable future are very low and if it does, its protections will shut it down safely. Don't worry - safety-wise you wouldn't be any better off with a different unit. Of course, I'm assuming here that you're not stressing it beyond what it's designed to handle.
     
    #6 lehtv, Nov 21, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012
  7. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, if anything there might be a problem of system drawing too little power. I have 2 HDs, 4fans, 1 gtx 680, and a 3570k processor.
     
  8. makken

    makken Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    IIRC The delta unit has 3 12v rails:

    22A on rail 1
    22A on rail 2
    25A on rail 3

    Rail 3 is dedicated to both the PCI-E connectors. I don't know if 25A @ 12V (300W) is enough to drive a GTX 680...
     
  9. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uh well I've been using the computer with the 680 for a couple months now and haven't noticed anything. Why would the PSU have two 8 pin PCIe cables if it's not able to power anything that requires those very cables? What device has 2 8pin PCIe connectors that, in addition, are also low powered?

    edit: It also says it is SLI ready. How could that be possible if I cannot even power one card?
     
    #9 Xenphor, Nov 21, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012
  10. TemjinGold

    TemjinGold Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Relax, a 680 doesn't use anywhere near 300w.
     
  11. infoiltrator

    infoiltrator Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    #11 infoiltrator, Nov 21, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012
  12. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    This information is incorrect. The EA-650 Green has two +12V rails, each rated at 38A or 456W. Of course, this doesn't mean the PSU is capable of 2x456W on the +12V, instead it's limited to somewhere around 650W. Over power protection takes care of that.

    "SLI ready" just means Antec paid for the certification. It's marketing. Of course, it does mean it actually is SLI ready, but so are many PSUs that don't advertise it.

    By default, the EA-650 Green has two PCIe connectors so it can only SLI graphics cards that require one PCIe connector each. But given the power on each +12V rail, it shouldn't be an issue to SLI two graphics cards that require 2x6-pin each, using adapters. Such cards typically consume around 150-170W which is only around one third of the +12V rail, leaving enough power to be distributed to the CPU, motherboard and other components. I'd be a bit wary about going SLI with GPUs that require 6+8pin.
     
    #12 lehtv, Nov 22, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  13. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1

    That is a budget PSU my friend.

    Grab a Thermaltake or Corshair or Antec .. please...... so it will never die and be very quiete and give you 4 12v rails and plenty of ampage and classifications.. gl
     
  14. makken

    makken Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. makken

    makken Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    My mistake; I vaguely remember reading that the 680 drew 300+ W under load, but it looks like it was total system power draw, not just GPU.

    I take back what I said about the EA650 not being enough to power a 680
     
  16. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. billyb0b

    billyb0b Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    my experience with antec psu's over the past 12+ years have all been great.
     
  18. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is an Antec...
     
  19. RU482

    RU482 Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    12,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    been running one for a year with no problem
     
  20. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's nice, but unfortunately it says next to nothing about the reliability and quality of the PSU.
     
  21. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. So how is the reliability and quality of the psu then?
     
  22. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's good, I thought we went over that already.
     
  23. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seriously.

    Antec Earthwatts (no matter which one, current or older models) is a reasonable quality PSU that will put out what it claims on the label. Asking another five times won't change that fact.
     
  24. Xenphor

    Xenphor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I guess I read the post wrong. Thanks for the information.
     
  25. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I can see how the post could be misleading. I just meant that using a PSU without problems for a year is not really indicative of its quality one way or another.