Any downside to polarized sunglasses?

boomhower

Diamond Member
Sep 13, 2007
I need to get a new pair of sunglasses and am considering getting polarized this time around. Is there any downside other than the higher initial cost? I do a lot of driving so that is the main function for them.

BoomerD

No Lifer
Feb 26, 2006
Polarized glasses are great, but some screens may be difficult if not impossible to read with them on.

I was a crane operator most of my working career and I couldn't wear my Maui Jim's...the computer screen for the LMI turned black with polarized lenses.
Otherwise, they can be a huge relief for your eyes.

Reactions: dr150

Savij

Diamond Member
Nov 12, 2001
Originally posted by: BoomerD
Polarized glasses are great, but some screens may be difficult if not impossible to read with them on.

I was a crane operator most of my working career and I couldn't wear my Maui Jim's...the computer screen for the LMI turned black with polarized lenses.

That's pretty much the only downside. I love mine for driving but I have to take them off to read the gas pump.

xSauronx

Lifer
Jul 14, 2000
Originally posted by: Savij

That's pretty much the only downside. I love mine for driving but I have to take them off to read the gas pump.

yep. polarized ftw.

waggy

No Lifer
Dec 14, 2000
I have always got them. I love having them and havent had any problems.

My last pair of glasses i ordered them but they didn't put them on. I hate these glasses but can't get new ones until jan of 2011 ugh. damn insurance!

Riverhound777

Diamond Member
Aug 13, 2003
They make it harder to read my phone. And window tint in cars usually looks like a rainbow, a bit annoying.

DrPizza

Administrator Elite Member Goat Whisperer
Mar 5, 2001
www.slatebrookfarm.com