Any decent free antiviruses out there?

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by dkm777, Dec 19, 2012.

  1. dkm777

    dkm777 Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I've been using MSE for quite some time, but found out that it is not very good so I switched back to Avira that I used before. But the free version of Avira just throws over a dozen popups every day urging me to buy the paid version. I'm sick and tired of them and before I pull the trigger on a Kaspersky license, I wanted to ask you guys whether there are any other free alternatives?
     
  2. Mem

    Mem Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    21,270
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. bruceb

    bruceb Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    3
    I will suggest Avast Free ... I use it and so do many others. It is light on system resources and seems to do the job just fine.
     
  4. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
    Silly to look elsewhere when Avira is so effective. Just turn off the popups. Read or watch.
     
    #4 kleinkinstein, Dec 19, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2012
  5. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17,712
    Likes Received:
    48
    I agree. Avira has a great detection capability.
     
  6. squirrel dog

    squirrel dog Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    5,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    another vote for Avast
     
  7. dkm777

    dkm777 Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dude, you're a real life saver! I'll continue using Avira now.
     
  8. Ryland

    Ryland Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Avast since I got tired of Avira's popups which I disabled but then they pulled something else (I dont remember what it was) so I switched.
     
  9. cl-scott

    cl-scott ASUS Support

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm somewhat partial to Avast since a while back they devoted the time and resources to revamp the scanning engine to work better with multi-core systems, as opposed to the likes of Norton and McAfee which have probably been using the same basic scanning engine from the Windows 3.x days.

    I like it when a company recognizes that what they have is inadequate based on shifts in the direction of technology that couldn't have reasonably been predicted several years previous, and will go through the pain that is scrapping all, or large chunks, of your program and rebuilding it.
     
  10. Mem

    Mem Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    21,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also guys there is BitDefender AV free version available here http://www.bitdefender.com/solutions/free.html ,no pop ups or ads,works even with Win8 and is light on resources too.


     
  11. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17,712
    Likes Received:
    48
  12. Mem

    Mem Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    21,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Problem with that is it varies month to month,throw in some AVs that are lighter then others on resources(important to gamers and low spec PCs) plus how often they get updated ie those that use Cloud base technology don't need to download any AV DAT files to their PC since its all on the Cloud server so is always up-to-date,then go to other AV review sites and you get another bunch of different reviews/feedback etc..


    Personally use what you are happy with,I've used them all from Avast/Bitdefender/Kaspersky etc (except Norton's which I avoid) and just remember its just another layer of added protection and not 100% fail safe,no AV is.
     
    #12 Mem, Dec 19, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2012
  13. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    17,712
    Likes Received:
    48
    I know it varies month to month, but I keep up with the tests and Avira always comes out on top.
     
  14. monkey333

    monkey333 Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about sandboxie using it in browser mode?
     
  15. dkm777

    dkm777 Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK guys, the method to kill Avira popups didn't work as I expected: now Windows throws an error message that they are being blocked every time. Since so many of you recommended Avast I'm trying it on my secondary PC. So far so good - I didn't notice it running any slower than using Avira and will see how often it is updated in the following weeks. If I'm satisfied with it I'll be installing Avast on my main rig as well. Of course I'll also be using Common Sense 2012.
     
  16. lxskllr

    lxskllr Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    44,629
    Likes Received:
    86
    Where'd you find that?! They quit selling that in 1948 :^D
     
  17. Engineer

    Engineer Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried avast last night and it slowed my pings (speedtest) from 12-13 (MSE) to 18-19. Without any scanner, pings were 10-11. Tried bitdefender and the entire system felt sluggish. Didn't bench bitdefender (yet).
     
  18. lxskllr

    lxskllr Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    44,629
    Likes Received:
    86
    Many A/Vs have active prescan type stuff. Kaspersky's used to be especially problematic. I'd go through the options, and turn that kind of stuff off.
     
  19. bruceb

    bruceb Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    3
    Avast has some features, like Web Rep, (part of Browser Protection tab) which are plug ins for browsers. They may be the slow down. You can disable them if you do not want them. I left them disabled in my computer. Avast updates the virus defs at least 1 time per day and sometimes in the late afternoon as well.
     
  20. mikeymikec

    mikeymikec Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    16
    How long before berryracer finds this thread? :)
     
  21. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10,334
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have windows 8 and use whatever it came with. I think mse. Avast is the one I'll put on friends' computers most often.
     
  22. Ryland

    Ryland Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    MSE is the only one I have gotten virus' with in the last few years.
     
  23. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10,334
    Likes Received:
    11
    I don't understand..so many people can get viruses but I've never had one. What are people doing on the computer that I'm not? I don't even know if you can uninstall mse from windows 8. Even if I did I would also be stumped on what to use.
     
  24. Mem

    Mem Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    21,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    In Win8 you can disable Defender via Action Centre,same goes for firewall,so gives users the option to use built-in one in Win8 or third party AV from companies like Bitdefender,Panda,Kaspersky etc..


    I'm trying out trial of Panda Pro 2013 at moment ,very light on usage,nice gaming mode option in taskbar icon and also an auto setting option that goes into gaming mode ie if you go full screen,has firewall too(option to use or disable that).
     
  25. IlllI

    IlllI Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,891
    Likes Received:
    1

    i tried it but its kind of sucky. you cant move the box, its permanently locked in the lower right corner. the options are very lacking. also apparently you have to register an account with them and keep yourself logged in, or it stop working. there was some message about 'you must be logged in and register within 29 days' etc etc.