Another first time pc builder

NewGuy.

Sep 28, 2014
Hello,
Just to preface, I'm brand new to working with the insides of computers. My laptop died and I want to upgrade from my Xbox to a gaming pc. I want to learn how to build one. I live in the us and would just be ordering my parts online. I'm not a huge gamer but I want this machine to be able to run skyrim, maybe elder scrolls online, and assassins creed unity (when it comes out) at high levels. (Again, sorry I don't know the technical term yet but I want to be able to turn up the graphics without killing the computer) I'm looking at the 600 ish dollar build from lifehacker here; http://lifehacker.com/5840963/the-best-pcs-you-can-build-for-600-and-1200 (let me know if this is an outdated or impractical build for what I'm doing) I don't have a monitor or any other parts/accessories so I'd be buying those too. Is it possible to add a cd/DVD drive to this build so I could use it as a tv as well? If so what would be compatible with the parts? I know operating systems are a touchy subject but I'm planning on just buying windows (si/no?)
I know you guys get 20 of these a day. So thanks for your patience.

Pretty much what I'm asking is could this build run AC unity?

The case: NZXT Source 210 Elite
The CPU: AMD FX-6300 Six-Core 3.5GHz AM3+ Processor
The motherboard: MSI 970A-G43 ATX AM3+ Motherboard AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Motherboard
The memory: G.SKILL 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600 RAM
The storage: Western Digital 7200RPM 1TB Hard Drive
The graphics card: AMD Radeon R9 280 3GB Video Card/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 3GB

If this works I'm planning on building fairly soon. Thanks.

inachu

Platinum Member
Aug 22, 2014
I tried to be an AMD fanboy but I converted to INTEL just because if you truly want slick smooth cpu performance then its better to get an i7.

Past 15 years been using AMD but I am a true intel convert now.
But other than cpu type also make sure your front side bus is fast as well.