Annoyances minimizing Team Fortress 2

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by TmBlackFlag, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. TmBlackFlag

    TmBlackFlag Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whenever I'm in TF2 and i minimize out there is about a 10% chance i can get back in without the goddamn game crashing. And that is only if i wait literally like 5 minutes. Does anyone else experience this? It's nice to be able to tab out of a game, or if I have AIM running and a message pulls me out I can get back in.

    Yes I could use my away message so I don't get pulled out but I have no issues minimizing out of other games, even L4D2 which also uses steam.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Annoyances minimizing Team Forum Date
    Dust particles in the air in games, do they annoy anyone? PC Gaming Apr 25, 2016
    What exactly mean minimal system req? PC Gaming May 11, 2013
    Annoying stuttering in GTA4 PC Gaming Aug 4, 2012
    PC games that require an Xbox 360 controller = annoying PC Gaming Oct 18, 2011
    No-Scoping Sniper Rifle in BF: BC2 Vietnam -ANNOYING AS FCUK- PC Gaming Jan 24, 2011

  3. coldmeat

    coldmeat Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    9,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't had the game crash but sometimes when I go back in to the game, some of the textures will be a purple/black checkerboard, but alt-tabbing out and back in fixes it.
     
  4. TmBlackFlag

    TmBlackFlag Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah i can't even get back into the game after an alt+tab
     
  5. YoungGun21

    YoungGun21 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here with any Source game I play. I think it is the engine.
     
  6. pcslookout

    pcslookout Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,327
    Likes Received:
    32
    Try running TF2 in windowed mode then exit out of it and add -noborder to the launch options. Should fix your problem.
     
  7. pcslookout

    pcslookout Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,327
    Likes Received:
    32
    If you can't get TF2 in the game to be playable in a window instead of just full screen, not sure, then use this in launch options.

    -window -noborder
     
  8. pcslookout

    pcslookout Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,327
    Likes Received:
    32
    Glad to see it worked for you!
     
  9. TmBlackFlag

    TmBlackFlag Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    it works but then i'm at the mercy of my desktop brightness which is too dark. It then becomes an inconvenience to raise/lower my brightness whenever I TF2.
     
  10. SpatiallyAware

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    12,960
    Likes Received:
    1
    TF2 and other source games don't do well at all with alt-tab.

    I've had TF2 textures get screwed up and have to do the steam file check crap to get it working again..
     
  11. Mutilator

    Mutilator Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    3,505
    Likes Received:
    5
    Use alt-esc instead of alt-tab. Once I found that out it's all I use in every game now... much more likely to get back into the game that way.
     
  12. videogames101

    videogames101 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    6,768
    Likes Received:
    2
    -window -noborder
     
  13. Malak

    Malak Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    14,696
    Likes Received:
    1
    The purple/black is actually a lack of textures.

    And why not just turn your AIM off if you are playing a game? If you can't focus on the game, why bother running it at all? I've never understood this. I can multitask a lot of things, but when I run a game everything else goes. If I can't focus on the game, I turn it off.
     
  14. 0roo0roo

    0roo0roo No Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    64,728
    Likes Received:
    34
    long term annoyance here as well, it behaves extremely poorly. cs source, left4dead2 minimize and restore back without too much of an issue. tf2 takes forever..then if you wait too long it seems unable to handle and loses server connection or simply doesn't restore at all. they shoulda fixed this kinda stuff before adding ever more bloat to the game.
     
  15. Molondo

    Molondo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    1
    going to menu, then shift+tab helps when alt tabbing, at least in my case.
     
  16. Rezident

    Rezident Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never had that exact problem but when I do minimise out it always takes a while - like nearly ten full seconds - to get back into the game. Seems a bit slow alright but always goes back in alright here.
     
  17. Boobs McGee

    Boobs McGee Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its been said a few times, but full details:

    In your Steam Library
    Right Click Team Fortress 2 and select "Properties"
    In the General tab click the button labeled "Launch Options..."
    In the popup box type in the following (substitute your own resolution)
    -windowed -noborder -novid -w 1920 -h 1200
    The -windowed option makes the game run in a window rather than full screen.
    The -noborder option removes the border.
    The -novid is for the startup vids.
    The -w and -h are your screen size the keep everything at the correct resolution and make it look full screen.

    I have not had a single problem with alt+tab since I set these options.