Android phone - wrong time edit: SOLVED!!!

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices & Gadgets' started by glen, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. glen

    glen Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2000
    Messages:
    15,995
    Likes Received:
    1
    Twice now, my phone has suddenly had the wrong time on it.
    One time, I called 611, and they "sent a singal to my phone" and I think I took out the battery, what ever. It fixed it.
    Today I called, and they just told me to manual reset it by changing the clock. This defeats teh purpose, however, of having the time synced to the cell towers.

    Has anyone else had this problem?
    What is causing it?
    What is the solution?
     
    #1 glen, Nov 15, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011
  2. Bateluer

    Bateluer Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    27,733
    Likes Received:
    1
    What carrier, what phone? I assume unrooted? Set the time zone on the phone to your local time zone, if its not already.
     
  3. alent1234

    alent1234 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,915
    Likes Received:
    0
    few times my HTC Inspire said i was in texas when i was really in the north east
     
  4. rcpratt

    rcpratt Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10,198
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had this issue when I was in KC a few weeks ago. It correctly moved to central time upon arrival, but sometime in the middle of the night it decided to go back another two hours, causing me to nearly be late to my meeting. It corrected itself an hour or so later.
     
  5. glen

    glen Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2000
    Messages:
    15,995
    Likes Received:
    1
    T-mobile
    HTC G2
    Time is set to Automatic (Use network-provided values)

    That is the root of my concern. How can a phone set to use the network to sync the time, be off?
     
  6. Mopetar

    Mopetar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3,584
    Likes Received:
    12
    Has this occurred in the same area in both instances?

    One possibility is that a wireless access point that the device is connecting through has an incorrect physical location associated with it and that the device is using location services based on that access point and setting other phone information based on it.
     
  7. Oyeve

    Oyeve Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 1999
    Messages:
    19,333
    Likes Received:
    43
    I had this on my tmo behold 2. I had it rooted and it always thought I was in boston or washington, i forget. I think thats their main tower or some crap like that. Are you rooted or something?
     
  8. AstroManLuca

    AstroManLuca Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    15,629
    Likes Received:
    1
    When we switched to standard time a couple weeks ago, my phone acted up by not only setting my clock back an hour as it was supposed to, but also changing my time zone. In practical terms my phone had set its time back TWO hours (making it one hour slow). I was able to work around it by setting it to manual time and picking the proper time zone.

    It was fixed when I updated my PRL (preferred roaming list). I suspect it may have just required me to restart my phone. This was a Samsung Epic running Android on Sprint.
     
  9. glen

    glen Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2000
    Messages:
    15,995
    Likes Received:
    1
    An odd side effect of this is that the date is also incorrect; therefore, when a new txt message arrives, it will appear out of sequence. So, on my phone, the date changed to something like the year 2000. So, all new txt messages, were at the TOP of the screen.
     
  10. YoungGun21

    YoungGun21 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had weird things like this happen. Normally a restart fixes it. One time I updated my PRL (*228) and I think that fixed it.
     
  11. glen

    glen Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2000
    Messages:
    15,995
    Likes Received:
    1
    SOLVED!
    T-mobile finally figure out the problem.
    I am using a 2g sim card, and I need a 3g card because of network changes.
    I had no idea what sort of card I had, or even that there were 2g and 3g sim cards. Why didn't they notify me or figure this out the first time?
     
  12. Bateluer

    Bateluer Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    27,733
    Likes Received:
    1
    GSM networks, AT&T and TMO, don't have PRLs.
     
  13. vshah

    vshah Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    16
    afaik there's no such thing as a 2g or a 3g sim card. I've been using the same sim card for at least 8 years on tmobile.

    perhaps the new card has newer access points or something stored on it though.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Android phone wrong Forum Date
Using an android phone in China Mobile Devices & Gadgets Sunday at 1:39 AM
Phone suggestions - Android, $200 - $250, camera Mobile Devices & Gadgets Nov 21, 2016
Best place to purchase Android phones online? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Oct 29, 2016
Debating which Android phone to get. Mobile Devices & Gadgets Sep 16, 2016
Handset to use with Android phone? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Aug 29, 2016