Anandtech vs Tom's Hardware Folding@Home Coronavirus Race thread

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

CuriousMike

Diamond Member
Feb 22, 2001
3,044
543
136
So, it's been > 4 hours since I installed and still no work.
Should I still just "hang in there", or is this an example of rebooting the software is needed?

I rebooted the software and I got a WU.
Phew.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: biodoc

StefanR5R

Elite Member
Dec 10, 2016
5,677
8,208
136
@drnickriviera, welcome to the DC corner!

A call to a Folding@home race of AnandTech against Tom's was what got me into Distributed Computing myself just a few years ago.

@CuriousMike, I didn't do anything special but have more work than I need to heat the flat. Luck of the draw, certainly. Try [Pause] + [Fold], it's quicker to do than to restart entirely.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CuriousMike

CuriousMike

Diamond Member
Feb 22, 2001
3,044
543
136
At first, just my AMD RX 460 was folding.
Now it looks ( sounds ) like my R7 1700 is doing work - is it worthwhile to have the CPU doing work?
 

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
25,728
14,758
136
At first, just my AMD RX 460 was folding.
Now it looks ( sounds ) like my R7 1700 is doing work - is it worthwhile to have the CPU doing work?
Not really. The difference is huge. I have a 64 core EPYC Rome CPU, and I tried it, and its like 200k. My slowest video card is a 1070ti, and it does like 500k. A quad core or the like ? I don't even want to think about how small that would be.

In the GPU area now, my 2060's are doing almost one million ppd, and thats a $300 card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CuriousMike

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
25,728
14,758
136
Another first timer here. Seems to be working and the credit should be going to team Anand. Vested interest in helping with Covid-19 research as I work at a hospital in New Jersey. Going to have to let it run without much oversight from me as the days and nights of working are long.
Did you get a passkey ? Not that it will change the research, but the points are nice for the team.
 

borandi

Member
Feb 27, 2011
138
117
116
In the GPU area now, my 2060's are doing almost one million ppd, and thats a $300 card.

My 1080 is only doing 800k when at full speed. Just goes to show the big jump up with the newer cards

beg.png

work seems to be flowing better now for the team
 

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
25,728
14,758
136
My 1080 is only doing 800k when at full speed. Just goes to show the big jump up with the newer cards

View attachment 18331

work seems to be flowing better now for the team
Under windows or linux ? linux on the same hardware gets 30% more work done.

But whats interesting... My 2 1080ti's, one is under windows doing 1.5 m ppd, and the other under linux with the same ppd !

Edit: numbers change, linux went to 1.4, and windows card to 1.3.

1.2 is about average. Maybe 1.0.....
 
Last edited:

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
25,728
14,758
136
yes got the passkey first thing.. Web control is showing team 198
Remember, you donlt get bonus points for like 10 units, but then its jumps in ppd. Let us know what you are getting, once it kicks in !

Edit, I recommend the FAHControl instead of the web. You can see a lot more, and don't have to keep refreshing it !
 

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
25,728
14,758
136
OK, guys, no idea how long this will last. But there is a chance things are getting better. All 12 of my cards are working @! 20 million ppd ! Lets hope this lasts for the race !

And I have A 1070TI not plugged in as I am out of power ! 700k not running.

Edit: minutes after posting this, one machine finished and was unable to get a unit, so its not fixed, but seems better.

T5qdK5F.png

 
Last edited:

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
25,728
14,758
136
They must have fixed it. Its still up, and now at 22m ppd !
 

Brazos

Junior Member
Jan 23, 2001
11
2
71
Ok, i've got my laptop going with both cpu and GPU GTX-1650. WU loaded and running but not the units for the virus but I understand they're slammed. When I get home I'll crank up the desktop which has a RTX 2070. Current stats show that Anandtech doing well against Tom's Hardware. This will be interesting to keep an eye on.


From the folding@home faq - 4
How do I know that I'm working on COVID-19 related projects ?
If you're running a project that's listed here, you're fighting COVID-19 :
CPU : 14328 - 14329 - 14530 - 14531
GPU : 11741 to 11764
 

StefanR5R

Elite Member
Dec 10, 2016
5,677
8,208
136
At first, just my AMD RX 460 was folding.
Now it looks ( sounds ) like my R7 1700 is doing work - is it worthwhile to have the CPU doing work?
Not really. The difference is huge.
Yep, what Mark said. The CPUs still do work, but take their time. (Actually individual work units don't take extraordinarily longer on CPUs, but that's because CPUs are given smaller work units than GPUs.) Since points are given not just for the amount of work but also for the speed at which it was done (quick return bonus), points-per-day relative to Watts of power usage are far better on GPUs compared to CPUs.

I have a 64 core EPYC Rome CPU, and I tried it, and its like 200k.
I have a 22c/44t Xeon E5v4 driving three GPUs and running a 36-thread CPU slot additionally. This CPU slot is making 280,000 PPD right now. (Looks like the internal synchronization of FahCore_a7 works better on the old ring design of the E5v4 vs. the tree-like design of the Zens. It's the other way around at most of the other Distributed Computing projects.) Still, I'm going to shut down the CPU slot at least during the day, considering efficiency and cooling requirements.
 

Moishe

Member
Feb 27, 2002
108
2
81
Started folding yesterday on my i5-4670k / rtx 2070.

Hopefully my electricity bill doesn't go through the roof lol.

I have a UPS hooked up and the PowerChute software (configured at 10 cents per kwh) says the PC costs 40 cents a day while idle. It has gone up to 84 centers per day while folding. I have also run tests with a kill-a-watt in the past and found that $10-$15 a month just for my PC is about normal. It was much higher in the early 2000s when I was running a napster server 24/7. I had 5 scsi drives and everything was less efficient.
 
  • Like
Reactions: angb

brainhulk

Diamond Member
Sep 14, 2007
9,418
454
126
I have a UPS hooked up and the PowerChute software (configured at 10 cents per kwh) says the PC costs 40 cents a day while idle. It has gone up to 84 centers per day while folding. I have also run tests with a kill-a-watt in the past and found that $10-$15 a month just for my PC is about normal. It was much higher in the early 2000s when I was running a napster server 24/7. I had 5 scsi drives and everything was less efficient.

Ok cool, it's just that i just started running a plex server on another computer, a pfsense box on another, and now folding with the highest power computer. It will be interdasting! Haha
 
  • Like
Reactions: TennesseeTony

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
25,728
14,758
136
I just joined the tom's team ... They need all the help they can get against you guys !
In the last 24 hr, QWe did 55 mil, and Toms did 42 mil (unofficially).

I guess they need help, but you still could have stayed with us !
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ken g6