AMD's CPU Road Map: DDR2 in '06, DDR3 in '07

imported_Ged

Mar 24, 2005
First, the Linkage.

Main Point of this Rant in BOLD down near the bottom for those who aren't bored enough to read this whole post :cookie:

I've been using the same computer for over 6 years now. I built it for around $800 plus $350 for the 4+ year old 17 inch LCD display. I consider this to be a pretty good run and I've had to sacrifice upgrading in favor of saving up for a new uber machine. I was about ready to purchase a new computer when I started paying attention to the computer hardware market again in order to figure out what I wanted to buy.

I went from a strong Intel supporter and someone who only used AMD to build a cheaper system for a couple friends to someone who now knows that AMD is just as good as and arguably better than Intel currently (not trying to start AMD vs. Intel debate, that's just how I see it. Intel still has impressive technology [see Pentium M], they've just screwed up their desktop and ws/server CPUs).

I decided it would be wise to save my money and invest in another computer, which I would use for a long time -- such as the one I am currently using to post here. I saw that 64-bit x86 CPUs were coming out and I thought it would also be wise to wait for Dual-core or Multi-core CPUs to come out before I purchased my next machine. This would let me have enough processing power and 64-bit support in case the industry headed there.

I really thought the time was now. AMD's Opteron 275s coupled with Tyan's Nforce4 Pro. chipset based workstation boards which supports NVIDIA SLI is a heck of a machine.

So why not just break down and buy that if I have the money?