AMD Vega builders thread - rx 64 & rx 56

Discussion in 'AMD' started by krumme, Aug 22, 2017.

  1. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    This thread is for those planning to build or setting up a Vega card.
    The purpose is to get most of your card if you are a gamer or using it for productivity work
    We will eg. share bios, driver, game & program settings, cooling what not.
    Show the different cards.

    The aprox dimensions for the fan on the rx64 vs. the rx 470 (this is just a quick assessment)
    Height: 24mm 18mm
    Diameter: 70mm 65mm
    Lenght of blades: 7,5mm 6mm
     
    #1 krumme, Aug 22, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2017
    Crono, DeeJayBump, Yakk and 4 others like this.
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Vega builders thread Forum Date
    Radeon™ Software Crimson ReLive Edition 17.11.3 (Vega Only Hotfix) AMD Nov 28, 2017
    Vega Nano spotted on HWBOT. 1156/800 (Core/Mem) AMD Nov 1, 2017
    Vega Liquid Cooled Bios anyone? AMD Sep 13, 2017
    Vega FE in hand - info source AMD Aug 23, 2017
    Polaris Prices thread AMD Feb 9, 2017

  3. Veradun

    Veradun Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    193
    I will probably get a V56 when/if available around SEP in Italy (i.e. probably never).

    I'll post my undervolt tests here when/if it happens as undervolting is my drugs :D
     
  4. Malogeek

    Malogeek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    612
    That's identical to what Gamers Nexus did but he was dubious as to the displayed values given that Wattman isn't reliable at the moment. It's possible though, AMD seemed to have gone stupid with overvolting to achieve the highest clocks to try and compete. Especially with your setup, I'd try and run that thing as cool as possible.
     
  5. n0x1ous

    n0x1ous Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    Here's some pics of my XFX liquid cooled version. Haven't had a chance to play around much yet but looking forward to an informative and productive thread.[​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    http://i.imgur.com/MKTi4sg.jpg
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #4 n0x1ous, Aug 22, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2017
  6. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    Yeaa you are correct. I can see now the values displayed is -probably- not correct and that the values entered is perhaps not used. Although i could crash it with a normal oc in wattman.
    https://www.hardwareluxx.de/index.p...vega-56-und-vega-64-im-undervolting-test.html
    Used a slim overvolt using 3 party tool with great effect. Watt Tool 0.92
    Notice the performance increase - not so much the reduced power??
    We need more validation and test and ofc. a new driver that is more bug free. I dont have access to download the tool.
     
  7. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    How does adding 50% power in wattman affects freq shown in wattman vs standard and how does it affect the perf in games you play?
    For some reason my freq goes from aprox 970/1200 to 1632 in bf1. Or so it seems. Like instaed of low i can get high/ultra and get it 99% of the time in dx11 mp64.

    I cant see your pics btw.
     
  8. n0x1ous

    n0x1ous Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    yeah weird on the pics....they were up this morning......photobucket jamming me up apparently. I haven't touched any settings other than turning freesync on but mine is pretty consistently at 1750mhz in game

    EDIT: apparently photobucket has disallowed all 3rd party image hosting since June this year. I will switch them over to imgur
     
  9. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    Is that 1750 stock or oc?
    I guess that liquid cooler is a nice thing for that card !
     
    n0x1ous likes this.
  10. n0x1ous

    n0x1ous Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    Stock
     
  11. n0x1ous

    n0x1ous Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    edit - did a little more gaming last night on quake champions early access. Clock fluctuated between 1668 and 1750 but spent most of the time at 1750mhz. Temps around 65C
     
  12. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    Well thats solid. What the voltage?
    My undervolting does not seem to work in watman whats your situation?
     
  13. n0x1ous

    n0x1ous Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    Didn't try it yet. Hoping to dig into it tonight. Did you update to 17.8.1 WHQL drivers from the launch drivers?
     
  14. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    I booted from the 17.8.1 didnt try launch drivers.
    Btw. Good you mentioned freesynch. I had forgot to enable that on my screen :)
     
  15. n0x1ous

    n0x1ous Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    Disappointing undervolt tests last night. I started by trying for -50mv and my system froze within a minute of in game action. Then tried -25mv and lasted a little longer but froze up as well after a few minutes. I tried powersaver profile and it keeps clocks between 1400-1500 range.

    Ultimately I'm not really concerned about power, so I put it back on balanced profile and upped the power limit 15% and this resulted in a locked clock of 1750 mhz in game which I am satisfied with. Good luck to everyone's undervolt attempts!
     
  16. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    Can you post watman pic so i can see where i fail at trying to undervolt. I simply dont understand what i am messing up.

    If it wasnt for noise i couldnt care less to underclock but i need to get noise down.
     
    #15 krumme, Aug 24, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2017
  17. n0x1ous

    n0x1ous Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    I will try and grab a pic tonight, but all I did was change profile from balanced to custom and then changed the max state 7 strap voltage from 1200 to 1150 then 1175
     
  18. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    Thanx. I think its the avfs that is buggy - not my skills in settings max state 7 voltage :). On the new driver 17.8.2 - read in wattman
    Under gaming in bf1
    Powersave is 913 Mhz
    balanced in 1460
    Turbo is 1532
    Custom with +50% is 1544
    what ?? - lol
    And reading fps reflects that.

    When i revert back to 17.8.1 in custom and set +25% i can get 1632 consistently - i take that

    I can change voltage yes - but to no effect it seems - eg it dont crash at 800 or 1100 whatever.
     
  19. Hitman928

    Hitman928 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    123
    Got a Vega 56 delivered. Will post updates as I can.
     
  20. Hitman928

    Hitman928 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    123
    Quick update. Vega 56 undervolting is real.

    Timpespy Graphics Scores:

    Balanced Profile = 6203
    Turbo Mode = 6400
    Turbo Mode +50% Power = 6707
    Custom with -1015 mV and +50% Power = 6839

    Haven't found the bottom yet on the undervolting (timespy stable) but that's where I've stopped for now.

    Other quick impressions:

    Only having the top two power states available for tweaking is annoying, hopefully that gets resolved in a driver update soon.
    Having a tachometer is kinda cool but at the same time totally superfluous.
    Fan noise hasn't been as bad as I expected though I still need to put it through a heavier load to hear how bad it can get.
    Eth mining with Claymore is just over 32 MH/s with the crypto driver and about 30 MH/s with latest graphic driver.

    10% memory overclock = 2.6% increase in Timespy graphics score (7017).
     
  21. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    How do you know it reaches those voltages? What happens when you eg select 950mV?

    Btw do you use same voltages and freq for p6 and p7?
     
  22. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    Was able to grab a rx56 for one of the kids at a price just so slightly below lowest priced 1070. Nice enough. Will have some interesting underclock ahead of us because we will run it on a 450w ps with 6 plus 8 pin. So bought 6 to 8 pin adapter. Noise will have to be lowered anyway and i will not pay for all that electricity so it all adds up.
     
  23. Hitman928

    Hitman928 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    123
    Already answered in the other thread about voltages but quickly for this thread, yes there is an unseen lower limit so I'm not sure how low the voltages are being set before hitting that voltage floor.

    For power states, I've been leaving them staggered. I tried equalizing them once but didn't see a difference in Timespy score. This is hardly definitive but I just moved on for now. Something to test more in the future. I'm hoping we get access to more states as then I feel I could really get an amazing improvement in perf/w.
     
  24. Shmee

    Shmee Moderator <BR> Memory and Storage <BR> Video Cards
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,275
    Likes Received:
    145
    FYI, vega 56 can be unlocked. Check it out :D
     
  25. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    OK, it seems - and its darn difficult to test and verify - there is a hard limit around 1000/1030 mV or so?, but anyway thats what the card can undervolt to, and where the benefits stops. I cant make it crash.
    Pretty massive undervolt, but the power usage is still to much for my situation with the computer in a closet :). Would like new drivers where there is no hard limit, and i can lower freq a bit more to take it even lower voltage.
    There is tons of gaming perf in this card. With 50% power at 1030mV and standard freq, i get a 100% lock at 60fps in bf1 on normal - and the card stays at its max freq consistently (but i do use a framelimiter to reduce noise, so it dips a bit in freq from time to time but stays a 60fps). I guess some could game on ultra with that underclock - and perhaps 5-10% extra on the clock and memory, but i will take a few dips below 60fps. I cant see the difference from normal to ultra, and am more thermal limited so will not go there, but the benefit of 4k is really good - it makes you more compettitive. I would like to be able to play and 120Hz and would then select low to get rid of all the nonsense on the screen - lol but it removes some of the charm from the game.

    I am having a pretty good feeling we are in for some solid improvements in performance and efficiency before end q4.
     
    #24 krumme, Sep 2, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  26. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    Was playing with the thought of adding on a liquid cooler. What about idle noise from such a system? - i am thinking of humming from the small electrical motor? - can it be done without idle noise?