Amd SSD caching?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by RobertPters77, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. RobertPters77

    RobertPters77 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the release of BD looming, I am wondering if Amd will offer SSD caching?

    And is it possible to somehow activate SSD caching on Amd systems already?
     
  2. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,663
    Likes Received:
    81
    That would be a nice feature. I hope AMD figures out a way to implement that.
     
  3. Jovec

    Jovec Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even the Intel offering is purely a software solution from what I understand that is artificially restricted to the Z68. No reason AMD or another company/person can't write their own.

    There are also hardware SSD cache devices such as http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...1&Tpk=hddboost
     
  4. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    22
    If amd had any brains at all they would integrate an ssd controller and create a simple spec for 1-2 channel flash dimm. 16 ICs per dimm. Total bandwidth in the neighborhood of what 4 Gigabytes per sec? Real world write speeds 5 times a Vertex 3 with a tenth of the latency. Not to mention half the price. God it would be sick... ok for llano all they would need is a 4 channel ssd controller.
     
  5. 86waterpumper

    86waterpumper Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha amd will need to concentrate on making a decent sata controller before they worry with fancy stuff...for that matter a decent ahci driver would be nice
     
  6. grimpr

    grimpr Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    3
  7. RobertPters77

    RobertPters77 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Vesku

    Vesku Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Didn't Windows Vista try to do this, anyone know if they left it in when they trimmed the Vista fat for Windows 7?
     
  9. notty22

    notty22 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are referring to readyboost its included in Win7, I don't know if it is robust enough to make a difference. It only runs off usb, or a flash drive in a memory card reader I believe.
    So what it does, it makes use of mainly fast response times, but any large files would transfer slow, at least with usb2.0
    A SSD hooked up over usb 3.0 should work better.
    I googled that , it seems readyboost disables itself when ssd present.
    http://webcache.googleusercontent.c...&gl=us&client=firefox-a&source=www.google.com
     
  10. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    22
    I helped design a ddr2 controller. I can tell you that getting ddr2/3 to work is a hell of a lot harder than a nand flash controller. If amd can do that they can easily do a nand controller. Wear leveling is an additional headache, but that is all software and not nearly as dependent on timing.
     
  11. ElFenix

    ElFenix Elite Member<br> Super Moderator<br>Off Topic
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    95,951
    Likes Received:
    60
    for a while i had readyboost running on my old kingston 40GB (intel G2). didn't notice a difference.

    one of those nice USB3 native flash drives for readyboost might be a good upgrade if you've got USB3 and no SSD


    does z68 ssd caching do anything if you've already got an SSD? iirc i read a review but don't remember the conclusion
     
  12. Blue_Max

    Blue_Max Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    21
    No - the caching is to make a slow mechanical drive faster through the use of a SSD. Caching a SSD with another SSD would only see a miniscule performance gain IF the big one is slower and the little one is faster.
     
  13. BD231

    BD231 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,758
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can we stop using the word robust in relation to computer parts or software here people? Feel like I'm at a damn coffee shop listening to a Barrista sell a cup of joe.
     
  14. Meghan54

    Meghan54 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,650
    Likes Received:
    28

    Why? The term is quite applicable to what's being discussed.

    If it bothers you, don't use it.