Amd SSD caching?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by RobertPters77, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. RobertPters77

    RobertPters77 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the release of BD looming, I am wondering if Amd will offer SSD caching?

    And is it possible to somehow activate SSD caching on Amd systems already?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - caching Forum Date
    16C/16T Intel Atom C3955 (2.1GHz @ 2.4GHz, 16MB L2 cache, 32W TDP) – Denverton platform announced CPUs and Overclocking Feb 16, 2017
    i7 4790k max safe cache/vccsa voltages and others doubts CPUs and Overclocking Feb 14, 2017
    Hyperthreading vs. L3 Cache in gaming CPUs and Overclocking Nov 27, 2016
    Skylake-EP/EX 28 Cores L3-Cache 38.5 MB CPUs and Overclocking Sep 9, 2016
    i7 (4MB cache) vs i5 (only 3MB) laptop.. when will you see difference?! CPUs and Overclocking Sep 6, 2016

  3. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,150
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    That would be a nice feature. I hope AMD figures out a way to implement that.
     
  4. Jovec

    Jovec Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even the Intel offering is purely a software solution from what I understand that is artificially restricted to the Z68. No reason AMD or another company/person can't write their own.

    There are also hardware SSD cache devices such as http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...1&Tpk=hddboost
     
  5. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8,175
    Likes Received:
    134
    If amd had any brains at all they would integrate an ssd controller and create a simple spec for 1-2 channel flash dimm. 16 ICs per dimm. Total bandwidth in the neighborhood of what 4 Gigabytes per sec? Real world write speeds 5 times a Vertex 3 with a tenth of the latency. Not to mention half the price. God it would be sick... ok for llano all they would need is a 4 channel ssd controller.
     
  6. 86waterpumper

    86waterpumper Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha amd will need to concentrate on making a decent sata controller before they worry with fancy stuff...for that matter a decent ahci driver would be nice
     
  7. grimpr

    grimpr Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. RobertPters77

    RobertPters77 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Vesku

    Vesku Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    26
    Didn't Windows Vista try to do this, anyone know if they left it in when they trimmed the Vista fat for Windows 7?
     
  10. notty22

    notty22 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are referring to readyboost its included in Win7, I don't know if it is robust enough to make a difference. It only runs off usb, or a flash drive in a memory card reader I believe.
    So what it does, it makes use of mainly fast response times, but any large files would transfer slow, at least with usb2.0
    A SSD hooked up over usb 3.0 should work better.
    I googled that , it seems readyboost disables itself when ssd present.
    http://webcache.googleusercontent.c...&gl=us&client=firefox-a&source=www.google.com
     
  11. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8,175
    Likes Received:
    134
    I helped design a ddr2 controller. I can tell you that getting ddr2/3 to work is a hell of a lot harder than a nand flash controller. If amd can do that they can easily do a nand controller. Wear leveling is an additional headache, but that is all software and not nearly as dependent on timing.
     
  12. ElFenix

    ElFenix Super Moderator and Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    96,719
    Likes Received:
    466
    for a while i had readyboost running on my old kingston 40GB (intel G2). didn't notice a difference.

    one of those nice USB3 native flash drives for readyboost might be a good upgrade if you've got USB3 and no SSD


    does z68 ssd caching do anything if you've already got an SSD? iirc i read a review but don't remember the conclusion
     
  13. Blue_Max

    Blue_Max Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    151
    No - the caching is to make a slow mechanical drive faster through the use of a SSD. Caching a SSD with another SSD would only see a miniscule performance gain IF the big one is slower and the little one is faster.
     
  14. BD231

    BD231 Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,182
    Likes Received:
    74
    Can we stop using the word robust in relation to computer parts or software here people? Feel like I'm at a damn coffee shop listening to a Barrista sell a cup of joe.
     
  15. Meghan54

    Meghan54 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,781
    Likes Received:
    665

    Why? The term is quite applicable to what's being discussed.

    If it bothers you, don't use it.