• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

AMD RYZEN Builders Thread

Page 100 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

guachi

Senior member
Nov 16, 2010
761
415
136
Unfortunately yes, there's absolutely nothing indicating each model is dual or single rank unless they're physically inspected, someone posts a CPU-Z SPD display for the RAM, or the manufacturer themselves advises you such.
I was planning on getting the Gaming 3 from Gigabyte. It's memory QVL actually lists if the memory is single or dual rank. In some cases it even lists the chip manufacturer.

Even if you don't plan to get that particular board looking at the QVL might be helpful.
 

krumme

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 2009
5,920
1,541
136
Are those Samsung b 1rx8 rams?

This is bloody confusing. I found a F4-3000c14d-gvk last night for like 70 dollars new 2x8gb. I think its 2Rx8 hynix rams, but I cannot be sure. Does anyone know?

Got them anyway as those were at prices and hope for the best. If cannot reach the rated speed I feel like I will be debating weather to sell it or wait for AMD to fix it. It should be fixed right?
As i recall yes its samsung b.

But yeaa its damn confusing. We dont know if amd will get there. Its an Intel xmp standard.
You will have to wait at least until may june before knowing more. We get small tidbits here and there but in the grander picture you will have to wait.

But my guess is you can get this 3000c14 to work at 2933 c14/c16 if you take the risk ;) seems cheap to me anyway even for 2667.
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,016
3,815
136
I was planning on getting the Gaming 3 from Gigabyte. It's memory QVL actually lists if the memory is single or dual rank. In some cases it even lists the chip manufacturer.

Even if you don't plan to get that particular board looking at the QVL might be helpful.
Just be warned that if it doesn't like your memory, you'll be stuck at 2400 or 2133 on F4 or F5 BIOSes. And it you try to go higher than 2400 with memory it doesn't like, it will boot loop until you manually power down, turn off your PSU, and jump the clear CMOS header.

Fortunately the board itself should be relatively difficult to brick via BIOS update, given that it has Dual BIOS.
 

Agent-47

Senior member
Jan 17, 2017
290
249
76
As i recall yes its samsung b.
Which one, the one that I gave (3000c14)? :p

But my guess is you can get this 3000c14 to work at 2933 c14/c16 if you take the risk ;) seems cheap to me anyway even for 2667.
That is what I am hoping for. and that it will atleast post. :p

but someone on a different thread said he could get 2784/13/14/14/32 T1 with 116BCLK. meaning he was able to hit 2400 Mhz prior to BCLK OC but i guess its board dependent. But i do now know if he tried a more loose timing to get to higher rates.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
21,560
9,623
136
Who was it that kept telling us when shipments of the Taichi were coming ? when is the next ?
 

Mockingbird

Senior member
Feb 12, 2017
733
741
106
Who was it that kept telling us when shipments of the Taichi were coming ? when is the next ?
What I wrote over a week ago:

I just for an update from AsRock on the X370 Taichi availability.

The next shipment is going out Thursday, March 30 to MA LABS, MicroCenter and Newegg.

It will be sent out in the following order: MA LABS > MicroCenter > Newegg

The following is the number of units that will ship

MA LABS: 200 units

MicroCenter: 100 units

Newegg: 200 units

The shipment after that will be in the middle of April.

This will be the last shipment in April.

All of these shipments are being flown in.

Generally availability is in May. That's when the units that are coming from ships would arrive.

AS ALWAYS: DO NOT POST THIS ON REDDIT!

If you get the itch, just smack yourself in the face.
 

guachi

Senior member
Nov 16, 2010
761
415
136
Just be warned that if it doesn't like your memory, you'll be stuck at 2400 or 2133 on F4 or F5 BIOSes.
The memory I bought (no board. Not in stock) is on the QVL as 3200 speed. Someone on Newegg claims it worked at 3200 easy-peasy with the gaming 3.

Keeping my fingers crossed.

If/when I have everything I need I'll certainly post here with results.
 

krumme

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 2009
5,920
1,541
136
Which one, the one that I gave (3000c14)?

That is what I am hoping for. and that it will atleast post.
.

Naa it was samsung b for Marks ram :)

Yours is Hunix right? But hey it goes to 2933 in some boards. You can use tons of time on this. When you hit 2933 it takes about 2 min before you try 3200. Enjoy. Lol.
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,016
3,815
136
GA-AB350 Gaming 3 on F5 (2/24) BIOS isn't plug-and-play with Flare X. I am disappoint.



At least 2933 is progress. I will try it on the MSI B350M Gaming Pro board with 2.2 BIOS (3/20) later to see if it is plug-and-play there.
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,016
3,815
136
Looks like the Gigabyte AX370 Gaming K5 (not to be confused with the Gaming 5) is supposed to be a mid-range board with an external clockgen. Curious to know what VRMs are used... looks like a downgrade to 4+3 versus the Gaming 5.
 

guachi

Senior member
Nov 16, 2010
761
415
136
Several motherboards now in stock at the Egg that weren't in stock about 30 minutes ago.

I just snagged a Gigabyte Gaming 3 B350 motherboard.
 

guachi

Senior member
Nov 16, 2010
761
415
136
Maybe the "several motherboards" were all the Gigabyte models? The three I noticed off the top of my head were all Gigabyte.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
21,560
9,623
136
This is really annoying. ASRock are the only ones without hardly any AM4 motherboards in stock ! Especially the Taichi !
 
  • Like
Reactions: IEC

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,887
788
136
board i bought is back in stock again... looks like some people aren't having any issues, unless they are troll reviews.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
17,785
6,785
136
"AMD will increase support for overclocked memory configurations with higher memory multipliers. We intend to issue updates to motherboard partners in May that will enable them, on whatever products they choose, to support speeds higher than the current DDR4-3200 limit without refclk adjustments."
https://community.amd.com/community/gaming/blog/2017/03/14/tips-for-building-a-better-amd-ryzen-system
Hrm. Well okay.

They just released a new beta bios. 1.94a

Improve XMP DRAM compatibility.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X370 Taichi/index.asp#BIOS
Might have to try it then, though I doubt it will let me post at DDR4-3733. Ha!

This is really annoying. ASRock are the only ones without hardly any AM4 motherboards in stock ! Especially the Taichi !
It might be unrelated, but I looked at the socket on the Taichi and saw two things:

1). It was made by Foxconn, so ASRock probably contracted out to them to produce the board and

2). It was made in Vietnam

Might be a supply chain or capacity issue if their 'nam facility is new or just not up to snuff yet? Do they need suicide nets there? So many unanswered questions.

Or it might be that they've been producing boards there for years without issue, who knows?
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
14,016
3,815
136
Gigabyte still on late February BIOSes on their boards. No BIOS love whereas my MSI board has had two newer BIOSes released in the past 3 weeks..
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY