• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."
  • Community Question: What makes a good motherboard?

AMD Ryzen 5000 Builders Thread

Page 16 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,232
307
136
Last edited:

Space Tyrant

Member
Feb 14, 2017
140
103
86
👋 Hi there,

FAQ for icegiant cooler says height of the cooler is 164mm or 16.4 cm or 6.46 inch. I can comfortably fit it with an inch clearance still remaining :)
I was referring to the gravity-driven two-phase system. That means that the cold plate needs to be on the bottom. The condenser cools the vapor into a liquid and it needs gravity to bring it back to the cold plate. Therefore, you need a horizontal mount for your motherboard.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tlh97 and TechyGeek

TechyGeek

Member
Feb 23, 2015
108
9
81
I was referring to the gravity-driven two-phase system. That means that the cold plate needs to be on the bottom. The condenser cools the vapor into a liquid and it needs gravity to bring it back to the cold plate. Therefore, you need a horizontal mount for your motherboard.
From FAQ on icegiantcooling.com

If the ProSiphon Elite depends on gravity to return the liquid, how well will it work when it is oriented in a case (motherboard is vertical) versus sitting on an open bench setup (motherboard is horizontal)?
The ProSiphon Elite will perform similiarly in both orientations. One of the ways that the patented ProSiphon technology differentiates itself from previous thermosiphon designs is that it can operate in the vertical orientation. The 'ProSiphon Elite' page provides more information regarding orientation.
However, the ProSiphon Elite cannot operate if the evaporator is completely above the condenser.
 

Space Tyrant

Member
Feb 14, 2017
140
103
86
From FAQ on icegiantcooling.com

If the ProSiphon Elite depends on gravity to return the liquid, how well will it work when it is oriented in a case (motherboard is vertical) versus sitting on an open bench setup (motherboard is horizontal)?
The ProSiphon Elite will perform similiarly in both orientations. One of the ways that the patented ProSiphon technology differentiates itself from previous thermosiphon designs is that it can operate in the vertical orientation. The 'ProSiphon Elite' page provides more information regarding orientation.
However, the ProSiphon Elite cannot operate if the evaporator is completely above the condenser.
Ahhh... I see. The straight-on image on the page doesn't show the offset, and I obviously didn't read the FAQ, lol.
In any event, I've added it to my list of cool equipment that I "need". I almost exclusively use horizontal mount MB's these days. I've got a ThermalTake V21 still in the box for my own upcoming Zen 3 build, but I suppose it'll even work in my old Corsair Air 540, heh.
 

MrTeal

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2003
2,981
657
136
I have the same case as you lightmanek and just bought two kits of F4-3600C17-16GTZ Trident Z last night, so I'm hoping I have similarly good luck with the RAM. It's an older b-die kit (stock 17-18-18), but it seems to run fine at 3600 16-16-16 @ 1.35V with my 3600. Sold the 5800X and am waiting on 5900X so I won't bother really pushing it now, but I'm also a little concerned on airflow once I do, especially being water cooled.

I was thinking I might 3D print a shroud that connects to the rear fan above the IO shield and forces air to be pulled from the VRM and RAM area of the motherboard.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,350
2,043
136
Massive clock for a regular cooling! This is the highest IF clock I have seen till now.
It would be interesting to test scaling from lower IF and memory clock, let's say 3200MHz XMP to your max, tweaked setting in few select games (low res, CSGO, F1, other) and applications (not Cinebench as this won't scale).
I'm pretty sure I'd be GPU limited with my RX 5700. Maybe once I can source a RX 6800XT for a reasonable price! Dang scalpers are smoking crack!

It's still a work in progress. My b-die kit seems like it's up to the task. It's playing around blind with all the timings and memory controller related voltages that's the time consuming part. Viewing the Dram Calculator which craps out at 3866MHz isn't much help at all.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,350
2,043
136
I was thinking I might 3D print a shroud that connects to the rear fan above the IO shield and forces air to be pulled from the VRM and RAM area of the motherboard.
Couldn't you just use something like a radiator mount? I don't have the case so I'm not really sure what would be the mounting option, but it looks cheap enough if it'll work....Of course you might have more fun printing a custom one.

Just one example....Many options out there in the end.

Bykski Radiator DIY Mounting Bracket - 240mm (B-ST-2FN) (primochill.com)
 

GoodRevrnd

Diamond Member
Dec 27, 2001
6,774
562
126
I have the same case as you lightmanek and just bought two kits of F4-3600C17-16GTZ Trident Z last night, so I'm hoping I have similarly good luck with the RAM. It's an older b-die kit (stock 17-18-18), but it seems to run fine at 3600 16-16-16 @ 1.35V with my 3600. Sold the 5800X and am waiting on 5900X so I won't bother really pushing it now, but I'm also a little concerned on airflow once I do, especially being water cooled.

I was thinking I might 3D print a shroud that connects to the rear fan above the IO shield and forces air to be pulled from the VRM and RAM area of the motherboard.
Isn't 3600C17 a pretty big gamble of a kit? Is it even B-Die? I thought you want to start with 3200C14 unless you want to spend stupid money on a 3600C14 kit.
 

gdansk

Senior member
Feb 8, 2011
549
227
116
Everything is coming together finally.
5900X and EVGA RTX 3080 on order from Amazon at their MSRP and scheduled to arrive by December 11th. :)
I'll stick with my current 3600CL18 memory, I doubt it's worth the hundreds of dollars to upgrade it.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,350
2,043
136
Isn't 3600C17 a pretty big gamble of a kit? Is it even B-Die? I thought you want to start with 3200C14 unless you want to spend stupid money on a 3600C14 kit.
Todays 3200 CL14 kits are most likely heavily binned for clocks due to the price premiums. It's probably more of a gamble purchasing one these days....Unless you get lucky and get a hold of some older stock.
 

MrTeal

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2003
2,981
657
136
Couldn't you just use something like a radiator mount? I don't have the case so I'm not really sure what would be the mounting option, but it looks cheap enough if it'll work....Of course you might have more fun printing a custom one.

Just one example....Many options out there in the end.

Bykski Radiator DIY Mounting Bracket - 240mm (B-ST-2FN) (primochill.com)
Oh, the rads are mounted in the bottom chamber. My thinking is more that since there's not really much airflow in the CPU area because there's no fans, I should do something there. I suppose I could use a rad mount and just point a fan down, but that seems like a bit of a finger trap.

Isn't 3600C17 a pretty big gamble of a kit? Is it even B-Die? I thought you want to start with 3200C14 unless you want to spend stupid money on a 3600C14 kit.
3200CL14 and 3600CL16 are basically the same true latency, so it's not that far off. The kits popped up for CAD$100 (US$77), so while headroom might be a bit of a gamble the price was hard to argue with.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,350
2,043
136
I never tried these timings with the latest non beta uEFI and a 5xxx series so I decided to give it a whirl and see. I was getting a lot of copy errors during memory stress testing, but I've been able to drastically reduce them with some tweaking. I think a couple more adjustments and it'll be good to go. I think I'd rather run it at 3800MHz to reduce the stress on the memory controller. I'm only sitting @1.52v's which I've read is totally 24/7 safe for b-die. Temps aren't a issue as there's a 140mm about a 1/2" above the modules which also overhangs 2/3rds of the way down the heatsink.

5900x_3800_CL14a.png

Back into the uEFI go for another round....
 

DisEnchantment

Senior member
Mar 3, 2017
739
1,755
106
So I was testing the Curve Optimizer and visualizing it with my newly developed app to Log everything visible via the RyzenMasterSDK provided by AMD which I integrated in the app.
I can really see my 5950X boosting behaviour during MT and ST bench with CPU-Z. I can also select the single boosty core and check how far it is boosting.

1606526075354.png

CB ST run, the CPU hits 4.8 time to time, but mainly at 4.7 GHz.
1606526253875.png

Some other info (taken before the benchmark run above). Limits are very very conservative. I have not really tune the OC optimizer to give me lower temps, but seems it works.

1606526406621.png

Somehow TDC Limit is not reported by the SDK.

I ordered an RPi display which will arrive next week, I will drive the display with an RPi to show the statistics with Android Things. USB powered. Also ordering an electronic relay to power the PC with Touch display :laughing:
I hope I will find time to do it :)
1606526764692.png
 

lightmanek

Senior member
Feb 19, 2017
264
498
106
So I was testing the Curve Optimizer and visualizing it with my newly developed app to Log everything visible via the RyzenMasterSDK provided by AMD which I integrated in the app.
I can really see my 5950X boosting behaviour during MT and ST bench with CPU-Z. I can also select the single boosty core and check how far it is boosting.

View attachment 34702

CB ST run, the CPU hits 4.8 time to time, but mainly at 4.7 GHz.
View attachment 34704

Some other info (taken before the benchmark run above). Limits are very very conservative. I have not really tune the OC optimizer to give me lower temps, but seems it works.

View attachment 34705

Somehow TDC Limit is not reported by the SDK.

I ordered an RPi display which will arrive next week, I will drive the display with an RPi to show the statistics with Android Things. USB powered. Also ordering an electronic relay to power the PC with Touch display :laughing:
I hope I will find time to do it :)
View attachment 34706
Let's combine RyzenMasterSDK readings with my prototype system for monitoring water and exhaust air temperatures and we will have an amazing kit!
This is early prototype I'm running, showing readings from water reservoir and air exhaust temperatures from two radiators. Currently this is still connected via cable, but new version below (larger 4'' TFT) already supports wireless transmission. I want to add ability to calculate real heat dissipation by measuring water flow and temperature difference between CPU/GPU inlet/outlet giving a readout in Watts dissipated by radiators. Adding live readings from CPU would be an icing on the cake :)




New version with 2 screens, 3.5'' and 4''


My brother built these for me, so my ideas and his execution ;) Displays are animated and I can't wait for the finalised hardware to be nicely installed in my case, with wireless display sat next to my monitor.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,350
2,043
136
I think I got 3800 CL14 dialed in finally. Not sure if there's any room left for improvement? It was the tRCDRD being set at 14 that was causing all my memory errors! I still haven't tried dropping the Memory voltage down from 1.52v's yet, nor have I tried lowering the VDDG CCD, VDDG IOD, cLDO VDDP voltages down yet, but they're all below 1v anyways.

5900x_3800_CL14_timings_stable.png

It would be nice if the Calculator had some more options. Fast is slow! Extreme was dropped long ago. I guess a person can't complain as it was free. Maybe he'll update it for Zen 3?
 

Det0x

Senior member
Sep 11, 2014
449
442
136
I think I got 3800 CL14 dialed in finally. Not sure if there's any room left for improvement? It was the tRCDRD being set at 14 that was causing all my memory errors! I still haven't tried dropping the Memory voltage down from 1.52v's yet, nor have I tried lowering the VDDG CCD, VDDG IOD, cLDO VDDP voltages down yet, but they're all below 1v anyways.

View attachment 34763

It would be nice if the Calculator had some more options. Fast is slow! Extreme was dropped long ago. I guess a person can't complain as it was free. Maybe he'll update it for Zen 3?
tRCDRD 15 = 16 (get rounded up i think)

Get fast timings from 3200 MT/s and use them @ 3800 MT/s :)
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,350
2,043
136
tRCDRD 15 = 16 (get rounded up i think)

Get fast timings from 3200 MT/s and use them @ 3800 MT/s :)
Do you mean I should try 16 instead of 15?

I'll see if I can stomach some more testing. I looked at the 3200 fast preset and there's a couple lower sub-timings and some higher one's. I should try the lowest of what I have now and what the calculator shows? The tRCDRD won't do 14 for sure.
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,951
3,637
136
Tip from the Ryzen 3000 series that likely applies to the 5000 series as well:

Enable PBO but set your PPT to whatever the actual TDP of the chip is. This sacrifices zero ST/lightly-threaded performance and usually around 10% (+/-) of the MT performance but uses drastically less power. And more importantly, with good cooling is usually enough to prevent annoying fan ramp up/ramp down without setting custom fan curves.

On my 3700X I lose nothing in ST performance and only lose ~5.5% of my MT performance while cutting my peak temps over 10°C with 360mm WC loop. With a PPT setting of 65W vs stock 88W.

This seems even more critical on single chiplet 8c CPU with higher TDP like 3800X and 5800X because of heat density.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,350
2,043
136
I'm not sure how as it's never been achievable before, but I won't complain too much....Other then the high latency!

3200_CL12a.png

I've never, ever been able to boot up CL12 with my b-die kit. I was shocked when it booted up CL12 @ 1.45v's on the 1st try! All I did was take my 3200MHz CL14 profile and drop the CL down to 12 and upped the voltage to 1.45v. After it booted up I did a quick test which seemed fine so I went back in and started playing around with the sub-timings.

I'm scratching my head trying to figure it out. I always thought it was silicon lottery that determines the end results.

Zen 3's memory controller is that much better?
AGESA maturity?

I really wish availability was better so we'd have a better test group. Not too many 5xxx owners here at this time.
 

DisEnchantment

Senior member
Mar 3, 2017
739
1,755
106
Let's combine RyzenMasterSDK readings with my prototype system for monitoring water and exhaust air temperatures and we will have an amazing kit!
This is early prototype I'm running, showing readings from water reservoir and air exhaust temperatures from two radiators. Currently this is still connected via cable, but new version below (larger 4'' TFT) already supports wireless transmission. I want to add ability to calculate real heat dissipation by measuring water flow and temperature difference between CPU/GPU inlet/outlet giving a readout in Watts dissipated by radiators. Adding live readings from CPU would be an icing on the cake :)




New version with 2 screens, 3.5'' and 4''


My brother built these for me, so my ideas and his execution ;) Displays are animated and I can't wait for the finalised hardware to be nicely installed in my case, with wireless display sat next to my monitor.
Awesome stuff, Looks like I went ahead and made my Android app right away.
Displaying Ryzen Core frequencies on my Galaxy S10+. All wireless.
Next step is pretty trivial, package APK in Android Things and run it in a Pi with integrated display inside the Case all wireless.
I have a console ASP.NET Core 5 server app with my own certificate which is accessed by my Android app. Maybe too overkill with ASP.NET Core, I can try with gRPC stat server, pretty trivial stuff.

1606676062949.png


Almost 5GHz Boost on CB ST in this run.
1606676162793.png

 
Last edited:

reqq

Member
Feb 26, 2020
27
33
51
I really wish availability was better so we'd have a better test group. Not too many 5xxx owners here at this time.
For sure must be Zen 3 mem controller or something.. I went from 3600 mhz 14-15-14-14-30-288 and dram calc fast subtimings on my 3900x to 3800mhz with same timings and it was basically stable.. i say stable because i played BFV for 20 before it crashed to desktop.. but i had not touched the voltages at all.. so its means i could easily get it stable for sure.. But i settle for 3733 with same timings and low soc voltage, 1.085. Using 5900x with 2x8 b die kit.
 

thesmokingman

Platinum Member
May 6, 2010
2,289
217
106
I've been playing around looking for the FCLK limit. 2200MHz was a no go! I might try again later as it may have just been pilot error.

I'm playing around trying to see if I can get this dialed in a little better. I've only set some of the sub-timings so far. I haven't tried dropping it down to CL16 yet as I had some other issue that I resolved, but thought it might have been the CL causing it.

View attachment 34633

I haven't played around much with 4266MHz other then making sure it was at least semi-stable and not at the FCLK limit.

View attachment 34634
Hey Ken, can you post a zen timings screen of your 4000/2000 timings? Thx.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,350
2,043
136
Hey Ken, can you post a zen timings screen of your 4000/2000 timings? Thx.
Sure....YMMV.

It looks like the 3866MHz fast preset has mostly the same timings I used. My voltages are what's shown under the Rec column. As far as the other
settings they are what is shown and what's in the Rec columns.

5900x_4000_CL15_2.png

I like to use MEMbench for time comparisons between memory clocks and timings once I'm satisfied and stable.

Some of those preset Best times are tuff to beat!

The 3200MHz result looks pitiful in comparison....That's my 3200MHz CL12 result. I think I beat the preset by 5 seconds?

5900x_4000_CL15_2b.png
 

undertaker101

Member
Apr 9, 2006
158
82
101
Anyone care to test/comment on SATA SSD performance with X570 and 5XXX processors? I have 10x sata drives and will be putting them on a 5800x + x570 tuf pro build (along with a PCI-E card for two additional ports) and was wondering if the reports of gimped SATA performance with X570 still holds true or has been resolved? Would hate to assemble the whole thing only to figure out my X99 SATA performance has been nerfed...
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY