• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

AMD Ryzen 5000 Builders Thread

Page 16 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,358
2,057
136
Massive clock for a regular cooling! This is the highest IF clock I have seen till now.
It would be interesting to test scaling from lower IF and memory clock, let's say 3200MHz XMP to your max, tweaked setting in few select games (low res, CSGO, F1, other) and applications (not Cinebench as this won't scale).
I'm pretty sure I'd be GPU limited with my RX 5700. Maybe once I can source a RX 6800XT for a reasonable price! Dang scalpers are smoking crack!

It's still a work in progress. My b-die kit seems like it's up to the task. It's playing around blind with all the timings and memory controller related voltages that's the time consuming part. Viewing the Dram Calculator which craps out at 3866MHz isn't much help at all.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,358
2,057
136
I was thinking I might 3D print a shroud that connects to the rear fan above the IO shield and forces air to be pulled from the VRM and RAM area of the motherboard.
Couldn't you just use something like a radiator mount? I don't have the case so I'm not really sure what would be the mounting option, but it looks cheap enough if it'll work....Of course you might have more fun printing a custom one.

Just one example....Many options out there in the end.

Bykski Radiator DIY Mounting Bracket - 240mm (B-ST-2FN) (primochill.com)
 

GoodRevrnd

Diamond Member
Dec 27, 2001
6,775
564
126
I have the same case as you lightmanek and just bought two kits of F4-3600C17-16GTZ Trident Z last night, so I'm hoping I have similarly good luck with the RAM. It's an older b-die kit (stock 17-18-18), but it seems to run fine at 3600 16-16-16 @ 1.35V with my 3600. Sold the 5800X and am waiting on 5900X so I won't bother really pushing it now, but I'm also a little concerned on airflow once I do, especially being water cooled.

I was thinking I might 3D print a shroud that connects to the rear fan above the IO shield and forces air to be pulled from the VRM and RAM area of the motherboard.
Isn't 3600C17 a pretty big gamble of a kit? Is it even B-Die? I thought you want to start with 3200C14 unless you want to spend stupid money on a 3600C14 kit.
 

gdansk

Senior member
Feb 8, 2011
569
238
116
Everything is coming together finally.
5900X and EVGA RTX 3080 on order from Amazon at their MSRP and scheduled to arrive by December 11th. :)
I'll stick with my current 3600CL18 memory, I doubt it's worth the hundreds of dollars to upgrade it.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,358
2,057
136
Isn't 3600C17 a pretty big gamble of a kit? Is it even B-Die? I thought you want to start with 3200C14 unless you want to spend stupid money on a 3600C14 kit.
Todays 3200 CL14 kits are most likely heavily binned for clocks due to the price premiums. It's probably more of a gamble purchasing one these days....Unless you get lucky and get a hold of some older stock.
 

MrTeal

Platinum Member
Dec 7, 2003
2,996
662
136
Couldn't you just use something like a radiator mount? I don't have the case so I'm not really sure what would be the mounting option, but it looks cheap enough if it'll work....Of course you might have more fun printing a custom one.

Just one example....Many options out there in the end.

Bykski Radiator DIY Mounting Bracket - 240mm (B-ST-2FN) (primochill.com)
Oh, the rads are mounted in the bottom chamber. My thinking is more that since there's not really much airflow in the CPU area because there's no fans, I should do something there. I suppose I could use a rad mount and just point a fan down, but that seems like a bit of a finger trap.

Isn't 3600C17 a pretty big gamble of a kit? Is it even B-Die? I thought you want to start with 3200C14 unless you want to spend stupid money on a 3600C14 kit.
3200CL14 and 3600CL16 are basically the same true latency, so it's not that far off. The kits popped up for CAD$100 (US$77), so while headroom might be a bit of a gamble the price was hard to argue with.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,358
2,057
136
I never tried these timings with the latest non beta uEFI and a 5xxx series so I decided to give it a whirl and see. I was getting a lot of copy errors during memory stress testing, but I've been able to drastically reduce them with some tweaking. I think a couple more adjustments and it'll be good to go. I think I'd rather run it at 3800MHz to reduce the stress on the memory controller. I'm only sitting @1.52v's which I've read is totally 24/7 safe for b-die. Temps aren't a issue as there's a 140mm about a 1/2" above the modules which also overhangs 2/3rds of the way down the heatsink.

5900x_3800_CL14a.png

Back into the uEFI go for another round....
 

DisEnchantment

Senior member
Mar 3, 2017
740
1,760
106
So I was testing the Curve Optimizer and visualizing it with my newly developed app to Log everything visible via the RyzenMasterSDK provided by AMD which I integrated in the app.
I can really see my 5950X boosting behaviour during MT and ST bench with CPU-Z. I can also select the single boosty core and check how far it is boosting.

1606526075354.png

CB ST run, the CPU hits 4.8 time to time, but mainly at 4.7 GHz.
1606526253875.png

Some other info (taken before the benchmark run above). Limits are very very conservative. I have not really tune the OC optimizer to give me lower temps, but seems it works.

1606526406621.png

Somehow TDC Limit is not reported by the SDK.

I ordered an RPi display which will arrive next week, I will drive the display with an RPi to show the statistics with Android Things. USB powered. Also ordering an electronic relay to power the PC with Touch display :laughing:
I hope I will find time to do it :)
1606526764692.png
 

lightmanek

Senior member
Feb 19, 2017
267
499
106
So I was testing the Curve Optimizer and visualizing it with my newly developed app to Log everything visible via the RyzenMasterSDK provided by AMD which I integrated in the app.
I can really see my 5950X boosting behaviour during MT and ST bench with CPU-Z. I can also select the single boosty core and check how far it is boosting.

View attachment 34702

CB ST run, the CPU hits 4.8 time to time, but mainly at 4.7 GHz.
View attachment 34704

Some other info (taken before the benchmark run above). Limits are very very conservative. I have not really tune the OC optimizer to give me lower temps, but seems it works.

View attachment 34705

Somehow TDC Limit is not reported by the SDK.

I ordered an RPi display which will arrive next week, I will drive the display with an RPi to show the statistics with Android Things. USB powered. Also ordering an electronic relay to power the PC with Touch display :laughing:
I hope I will find time to do it :)
View attachment 34706
Let's combine RyzenMasterSDK readings with my prototype system for monitoring water and exhaust air temperatures and we will have an amazing kit!
This is early prototype I'm running, showing readings from water reservoir and air exhaust temperatures from two radiators. Currently this is still connected via cable, but new version below (larger 4'' TFT) already supports wireless transmission. I want to add ability to calculate real heat dissipation by measuring water flow and temperature difference between CPU/GPU inlet/outlet giving a readout in Watts dissipated by radiators. Adding live readings from CPU would be an icing on the cake :)




New version with 2 screens, 3.5'' and 4''


My brother built these for me, so my ideas and his execution ;) Displays are animated and I can't wait for the finalised hardware to be nicely installed in my case, with wireless display sat next to my monitor.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,358
2,057
136
I think I got 3800 CL14 dialed in finally. Not sure if there's any room left for improvement? It was the tRCDRD being set at 14 that was causing all my memory errors! I still haven't tried dropping the Memory voltage down from 1.52v's yet, nor have I tried lowering the VDDG CCD, VDDG IOD, cLDO VDDP voltages down yet, but they're all below 1v anyways.

5900x_3800_CL14_timings_stable.png

It would be nice if the Calculator had some more options. Fast is slow! Extreme was dropped long ago. I guess a person can't complain as it was free. Maybe he'll update it for Zen 3?
 

Det0x

Senior member
Sep 11, 2014
455
454
136
I think I got 3800 CL14 dialed in finally. Not sure if there's any room left for improvement? It was the tRCDRD being set at 14 that was causing all my memory errors! I still haven't tried dropping the Memory voltage down from 1.52v's yet, nor have I tried lowering the VDDG CCD, VDDG IOD, cLDO VDDP voltages down yet, but they're all below 1v anyways.

View attachment 34763

It would be nice if the Calculator had some more options. Fast is slow! Extreme was dropped long ago. I guess a person can't complain as it was free. Maybe he'll update it for Zen 3?
tRCDRD 15 = 16 (get rounded up i think)

Get fast timings from 3200 MT/s and use them @ 3800 MT/s :)
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,358
2,057
136
tRCDRD 15 = 16 (get rounded up i think)

Get fast timings from 3200 MT/s and use them @ 3800 MT/s :)
Do you mean I should try 16 instead of 15?

I'll see if I can stomach some more testing. I looked at the 3200 fast preset and there's a couple lower sub-timings and some higher one's. I should try the lowest of what I have now and what the calculator shows? The tRCDRD won't do 14 for sure.
 

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,955
3,638
136
Tip from the Ryzen 3000 series that likely applies to the 5000 series as well:

Enable PBO but set your PPT to whatever the actual TDP of the chip is. This sacrifices zero ST/lightly-threaded performance and usually around 10% (+/-) of the MT performance but uses drastically less power. And more importantly, with good cooling is usually enough to prevent annoying fan ramp up/ramp down without setting custom fan curves.

On my 3700X I lose nothing in ST performance and only lose ~5.5% of my MT performance while cutting my peak temps over 10°C with 360mm WC loop. With a PPT setting of 65W vs stock 88W.

This seems even more critical on single chiplet 8c CPU with higher TDP like 3800X and 5800X because of heat density.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,358
2,057
136
I'm not sure how as it's never been achievable before, but I won't complain too much....Other then the high latency!

3200_CL12a.png

I've never, ever been able to boot up CL12 with my b-die kit. I was shocked when it booted up CL12 @ 1.45v's on the 1st try! All I did was take my 3200MHz CL14 profile and drop the CL down to 12 and upped the voltage to 1.45v. After it booted up I did a quick test which seemed fine so I went back in and started playing around with the sub-timings.

I'm scratching my head trying to figure it out. I always thought it was silicon lottery that determines the end results.

Zen 3's memory controller is that much better?
AGESA maturity?

I really wish availability was better so we'd have a better test group. Not too many 5xxx owners here at this time.
 

DisEnchantment

Senior member
Mar 3, 2017
740
1,760
106
Let's combine RyzenMasterSDK readings with my prototype system for monitoring water and exhaust air temperatures and we will have an amazing kit!
This is early prototype I'm running, showing readings from water reservoir and air exhaust temperatures from two radiators. Currently this is still connected via cable, but new version below (larger 4'' TFT) already supports wireless transmission. I want to add ability to calculate real heat dissipation by measuring water flow and temperature difference between CPU/GPU inlet/outlet giving a readout in Watts dissipated by radiators. Adding live readings from CPU would be an icing on the cake :)




New version with 2 screens, 3.5'' and 4''


My brother built these for me, so my ideas and his execution ;) Displays are animated and I can't wait for the finalised hardware to be nicely installed in my case, with wireless display sat next to my monitor.
Awesome stuff, Looks like I went ahead and made my Android app right away.
Displaying Ryzen Core frequencies on my Galaxy S10+. All wireless.
Next step is pretty trivial, package APK in Android Things and run it in a Pi with integrated display inside the Case all wireless.
I have a console ASP.NET Core 5 server app with my own certificate which is accessed by my Android app. Maybe too overkill with ASP.NET Core, I can try with gRPC stat server, pretty trivial stuff.

1606676062949.png


Almost 5GHz Boost on CB ST in this run.
1606676162793.png

 
Last edited:

reqq

Member
Feb 26, 2020
27
33
51
I really wish availability was better so we'd have a better test group. Not too many 5xxx owners here at this time.
For sure must be Zen 3 mem controller or something.. I went from 3600 mhz 14-15-14-14-30-288 and dram calc fast subtimings on my 3900x to 3800mhz with same timings and it was basically stable.. i say stable because i played BFV for 20 before it crashed to desktop.. but i had not touched the voltages at all.. so its means i could easily get it stable for sure.. But i settle for 3733 with same timings and low soc voltage, 1.085. Using 5900x with 2x8 b die kit.
 

thesmokingman

Platinum Member
May 6, 2010
2,293
220
106
I've been playing around looking for the FCLK limit. 2200MHz was a no go! I might try again later as it may have just been pilot error.

I'm playing around trying to see if I can get this dialed in a little better. I've only set some of the sub-timings so far. I haven't tried dropping it down to CL16 yet as I had some other issue that I resolved, but thought it might have been the CL causing it.

View attachment 34633

I haven't played around much with 4266MHz other then making sure it was at least semi-stable and not at the FCLK limit.

View attachment 34634
Hey Ken, can you post a zen timings screen of your 4000/2000 timings? Thx.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,358
2,057
136
Hey Ken, can you post a zen timings screen of your 4000/2000 timings? Thx.
Sure....YMMV.

It looks like the 3866MHz fast preset has mostly the same timings I used. My voltages are what's shown under the Rec column. As far as the other
settings they are what is shown and what's in the Rec columns.

5900x_4000_CL15_2.png

I like to use MEMbench for time comparisons between memory clocks and timings once I'm satisfied and stable.

Some of those preset Best times are tuff to beat!

The 3200MHz result looks pitiful in comparison....That's my 3200MHz CL12 result. I think I beat the preset by 5 seconds?

5900x_4000_CL15_2b.png
 

undertaker101

Member
Apr 9, 2006
185
94
101
Anyone care to test/comment on SATA SSD performance with X570 and 5XXX processors? I have 10x sata drives and will be putting them on a 5800x + x570 tuf pro build (along with a PCI-E card for two additional ports) and was wondering if the reports of gimped SATA performance with X570 still holds true or has been resolved? Would hate to assemble the whole thing only to figure out my X99 SATA performance has been nerfed...
 

thesmokingman

Platinum Member
May 6, 2010
2,293
220
106
Sure....YMMV.

It looks like the 3866MHz fast preset has mostly the same timings I used. My voltages are what's shown under the Rec column. As far as the other
settings they are what is shown and what's in the Rec columns.

View attachment 34835

I like to use MEMbench for time comparisons between memory clocks and timings once I'm satisfied and stable.

Some of those preset Best times are tuff to beat!

The 3200MHz result looks pitiful in comparison....That's my 3200MHz CL12 result. I think I beat the preset by 5 seconds?

View attachment 34836
Thanks man.

I've got g.skill 4000mhz c17 dual rank 16gb sticks which will boot at 4000/2000. It looks stable but throws a bazillion whea errors. I still have to troubleshoot it when I've got some time. I suppose I have something to look forward to since it will boot at 2000mhz fabric w/o touching soc voltage albeit with a zillion whea errors.
 

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,879
781
136
ended up grabbing a B550 board solely because there was an MIR associated with it. can't get a CPU at the moment but didn't really have any plans for a 5000 series build...

this will eventually replace my aging B350 setup--which seems to have a new issue every week anyway.
 
  • Haha
Reactions: DisEnchantment

MalVeauX

Senior member
Dec 19, 2008
581
130
116
Hi all,

Question on this basic build. This is a workstation, not a gaming machine for reference, I crunch data all day. I have an nVidia 750Ti that I'll use for display, again, no games, I use this strictly because it was inexpensive and has three monitor output which I use all three. This system's focus is the CPU and memory on a fast bus operating on SSD/NVMeM2 data to move the bits rapidly. But without attempting to spend triple for some flagship stuff, trying to be reasonable with budget focusing on value. No overclocking, I need it to be stable at 100% load for a long period of time each day.

The prices for the 3000 series are ridiculous right now and out of stock, and the 5000 series are priced appropriately but also out of stock, at least the one I'm looking at. The 5600x at $299 seems to be a good deal for the cost. I'm willing to wait for that to simply come back in stock (Newegg at least priced appropriately currently). That said, I'm thinking of doing the guts of the build now so I can benefit the newer platform (my system is 10 years old, FX8350, AM3, DDR3) while waiting for the new CPU's to come into stock over the next 2 or 3 months (sigh). I'm thinking of just using an Athlon 3000G APU until a newer 5000 series CPU becomes available and priced appropriately then swap out. Nevermind, can't use APU on the B550.

Here's the motherboard I'm thinking of:

ASUS TUF Gaming B550-Plus ($159) (USB stick BIOS flashing without CPU/Memory, lots of PCIe slots and SATA ports for me)
Update: I think I will skip B550 and just go back to X570 chipset so that I can use most CPU's. The prices are the same for B550 vs X570 and that's just stupid. I can use an old $50 APU on X570 until a 5000 series Ryzen is available for an appropriate price.
Maybe the ASUS TUF X570 Gaming WiFi for $150.

CPU:

Ryzen 5600X ($299) or eventually 5900X once available maybe used.

Memory options:

TeamGroup DDR4 32Gb 3600Mhz CL18 (Option A) $110
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 32Gb CL18 (Option B) $125
GSkill DDR4 32Gb 3600Mhz VL16 (Option C) $150
Crucial 16Gb DDR4 Ballistix 3600Mhz CL16 (Option D) $93

Other Memory options in this price range? Goal seems to be 3600Mhz and around CL16 if possible. I'm ok with 16Gb, would prefer to go ahead to 32Gb though if I can.
Would it better to do 4x8Gb (32Gb) of matched RAM? Or is it ok to just do two sticks of 32Gb? I don't see myself going to 64Gb anytime soon on this platform.

Update: Now considering just getting some TeamGroup DDR4 32Gb (16x2) 3200Mhz CL16 memory at $110.

Edit: Doh, can't use an APU on the B550. Bleh. Nothing to hold me over then. Gonna have to just wait. Nah back to X570 chipset then.

I already have the PSU, case, SSD/NVMeM2, CPU cooler, etc ready to go. Just need the above guts.

Thoughts? Better options for similar price?

Very best,
 
Last edited:

gdansk

Senior member
Feb 8, 2011
569
238
116
MSI B550M Mortar BIOS flash seems picky. I tried two different flash drives but neither worked. Even the USB2 FAT32 MBR flash drive with the file named 'MSI.ROM' didn't upgrade. Oh well, I just dropped my 3700X in there and updated to the latest firmware version the old-fashioned way.

I'll need to adjust the fan profiles but the 5900X is running well. RTX 3080 is expected Saturday, that should be a simpler upgrade.
 

DisEnchantment

Senior member
Mar 3, 2017
740
1,760
106
I'm ok with 16Gb, would prefer to go ahead to 32Gb
If you are going with 16GB you can get higher speed kits, 3800CL16 or better.
For 32GB you can go with 3600CL16. Trident Z Neo 2x 16 GB is around 170 $
Beyond that they get expensive really quick.
But if cannot stretch budget, I suggest have you can look at Patriot steel series, They are very overclockable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tlh97 and MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Senior member
Dec 19, 2008
581
130
116
If you are going with 16GB you can get higher speed kits, 3800CL16 or better.
For 32GB you can go with 3600CL16. Trident Z Neo 2x 16 GB is around 170 $
Beyond that they get expensive really quick.
But if cannot stretch budget, I suggest have you can look at Patriot steel series, They are very overclockable.
Thanks, went 32Gb ultimately (2 sticks) because for the work I do, I easily fill 20Gb instantly with most of my routines, so 32Gb is already getting filled up, and 40Gb is not uncommon either, so that's over the limit, so I will likely end up getting a 2nd pair of 16's to get to 64Gb (same exact memory only though).

Avoiding overclocking in general on this workstation, stability is important or I can lose hours of work. My processing times are blocks of minutes, so losing a single block, reset, start again, etc is just bad. I just need it to work and be stable.

Got some 3200Mhz CL16 speed sticks at 32Gb (16x2).

I've also dropped the 5600x. I'm just going to wait for 5900x. I need the cores/threads for my work. It's a 50% increase in cost, but it's a 100% increase in cores/threads. I'll live on a lowly Athlon 3000G ($50 lol) until I can get a 5900x.

I picked up an Asus Tuf Gaming Wifi x570 board, 32Gb of DDR4 3200mhz CL16 memory, a Crucial NVMEM2 SSD and the Athlon 3000G for $350 shipped (some of it used/refurb). I have the rest already and can re-use. Will just survive on the 3000G until I can buy a 5900X at at least retail (though I'd buy used or something if its available by then).

Very best,
 
  • Like
Reactions: Elfear

ASK THE COMMUNITY