AMD Ryzen 3000 Builders Thread

Page 63 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Apr 27, 2000
12,759
1,563
126
Setting XMP is messy?
It's actually a lot easier than in the Summit Ridge days. Now that was a mess. But XMP is not going to get you the best possible performance. You'll probably leave something on the table. There's still a rabbit hole remaining if you want to go down there.
 

UsandThem

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
11,119
699
136
Setting XMP is messy?

BTW, with my Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3 ATX board, and a single OLOy 16GB DDR4-2667 stick, apparently it has JEDEC (is JEDEC-specced) 2667 profiles, so I didn't even have to set XMP to get max memory speed. I tweaked it up to 1.35V from 1.20V, and up to DDR4-3000 manually in BIOS, and it seems BOINC PrimeGrid stable, for over an hour or two so far.
I think what they meant is it is not as "idiot proof" as it is with Intel. With my Intel builds, I just enabled XMP in the BIOS, and it automatically ran the RAM at its correct speed and timings.

With my newest Ryzen build, even with buying RAM on the QVL, I had to go in and select the speed I wanted it to run at, and then around a day later in the Ryzen Master program, I noticed it automatically set the timings to 22-24-24 (where the RAM's specs were 16-18-18). So I had to enable that portion in a different area. Not hard by any means, but there are a couple extra steps involved. Not a big deal for enthusiasts, but the average person would likely have no idea about things like that.
 
Apr 27, 2000
12,759
1,563
126
My motherboard likes to set 1.2v with XMP settings. Obviously that doesn't work.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
7,362
282
126
I think the first gen Ryzens were pretty picky, but from what I've read a 570 board with a 3xxx processors should be fairly trouble free, supposedly.
The 3xxx series is the key if you can get a decent working uEFI for older generation MB's.

I have a Asus CH6 (x370) paired up with a 3600. It'll run my b-die @ 3600 MHz C14 just like my x570/3700x combo. Only hurdle I had was not knowing about the bootup vram voltage setting on the CH6 at 1st. Once I found it I was golden.
 
Feb 4, 2009
20,791
1,499
126
I think the first gen Ryzens were pretty picky, but from what I've read a 570 board with a 3xxx processors should be fairly trouble free, supposedly.
The 3xxx series is the key if you can get a decent working uEFI for older generation MB's.

I have a Asus CH6 (x370) paired up with a 3600. It'll run my b-die @ 3600 MHz C14 just like my x570/3700x combo. Only hurdle I had was not knowing about the bootup vram voltage setting on the CH6 at 1st. Once I found it I was golden.
Thanks for the tips guys.
I’m trying to get two 16GB sticks in and have the possibility to move to 64GB total in the future.
 

lopri

Elite Member
Jul 27, 2002
12,800
138
126
Has anyone managed to raise the uclk and mclk beyond 1900? It's curious how abrupt their clocking comes to and end after 1867 an 1900.
 

ClockHound

Golden Member
Nov 27, 2007
1,051
70
106
Have been duly following this thread (far too keenly) and the work of all you early adopter-tax paying Zen 2 adopters. Good work!

Contrary to my really late adopter policy and inspired by your fearless unpaid sub-timing tweaking, am considering adopting a lonely 3900X (if any exist) or the much-maligned 3800X (lots of those exist) next month. Before the 3950X arrives and I get drunk on the moar coar wine.

As is my wont, prefer to not to overspend on a fancy MB. Considering either the MSI X470 Gaming Pro Carbon (~$200 CDN w/coupons) or the Assrock X470 Taichi (~290 CDN). The MSI is the most appealing option because it's cheaper.

Haven't looked at ASUS because they don't make a Sabertooth X470. Not interested in the cheaper X570 models because snipping off those pathetic RGB leds will be catharsis enough. Although shredding a 40mm fan with a tungsten cutting blade does appeal.

Want the X470 vs B450 because of the 8 vs 4 SATA ports (and 2 NVME slots - whatever they are -). Often have need of 2-3 spinners and 2-3 SSDs of content available for content smushing and general over-production. Yes, I could use the USB 3/3.1/3.2 and drive sleds, but my inner X58 says USB3 is a fad.

My poorly thought-out plan is to purchase the MSI now with 32GB of 3200 CL16 RAM (Corsair or Ballistix edie) and a 2200G. Would update the MSI BIOS to support Zen 2 and inspire a little APU build later.

Gives me time to get a feel for the weird world of the over-graphical UEFI. And to evaluate my next OS. Win10 (de-telemetryized) or a Linux distro (tweaked for audio/video). Then buy one of the big threaders.

Any sobering words of warning before I break my X58 Forever vow will be appreciated.
 

CHADBOGA

Golden Member
Mar 31, 2009
1,843
111
136
Have been duly following this thread (far too keenly) and the work of all you early adopter-tax paying Zen 2 adopters. Good work!

Contrary to my really late adopter policy and inspired by your fearless unpaid sub-timing tweaking, am considering adopting a lonely 3900X (if any exist) or the much-maligned 3800X (lots of those exist) next month. Before the 3950X arrives and I get drunk on the moar coar wine.

As is my wont, prefer to not to overspend on a fancy MB. Considering either the MSI X470 Gaming Pro Carbon (~$200 CDN w/coupons) or the Assrock X470 Taichi (~290 CDN). The MSI is the most appealing option because it's cheaper.

Haven't looked at ASUS because they don't make a Sabertooth X470. Not interested in the cheaper X570 models because snipping off those pathetic RGB leds will be catharsis enough. Although shredding a 40mm fan with a tungsten cutting blade does appeal.

Want the X470 vs B450 because of the 8 vs 4 SATA ports (and 2 NVME slots - whatever they are -). Often have need of 2-3 spinners and 2-3 SSDs of content available for content smushing and general over-production. Yes, I could use the USB 3/3.1/3.2 and drive sleds, but my inner X58 says USB3 is a fad.

My poorly thought-out plan is to purchase the MSI now with 32GB of 3200 CL16 RAM (Corsair or Ballistix edie) and a 2200G. Would update the MSI BIOS to support Zen 2 and inspire a little APU build later.

Gives me time to get a feel for the weird world of the over-graphical UEFI. And to evaluate my next OS. Win10 (de-telemetryized) or a Linux distro (tweaked for audio/video). Then buy one of the big threaders.

Any sobering words of warning before I break my X58 Forever vow will be appreciated.
I like the way you think. :D

I've been toing and froing between getting a 3200G and a 3600.

If I get the 3600, I will likely stick with it for quite a few years, but if I get the 3200G, I will feel free to toss it aside and upgrade to Zen3/Ryzen 4000 when it comes out, using the same motherboard for both.

Also by getting the 3200G, I can put off getting a discrete videocard for a few months or longer, whereas if I get the 3600, I have to hope my old 7850 that has been sitting on a bookcase shelf for a few years, still works, or get a discrete card at the time of purchasing the 3600.

Decisions, decisions. :p
 

ClockHound

Golden Member
Nov 27, 2007
1,051
70
106
I like the way you think. :D

I've been toing and froing between getting a 3200G and a 3600.

If I get the 3600, I will likely stick with it for quite a few years, but if I get the 3200G, I will feel free to toss it aside and upgrade to Zen3/Ryzen 4000 when it comes out, using the same motherboard for both.

Also by getting the 3200G, I can put off getting a discrete videocard for a few months or longer, whereas if I get the 3600, I have to hope my old 7850 that has been sitting on a bookcase shelf for a few years, still works, or get a discrete card at the time of purchasing the 3600.

Decisions, decisions. :p
Get the 3200G for sure. And test your 7850 in the system. If it works then toss the 3200G and get a 3900X. Then next summer upgrade to a 24core/48thread Zen 3 and sell me your heavily-used 3900x at a huge discount. That's at least one dilemma solved. And leaves both of us counting on your 7850. :eek:
 
Feb 23, 2017
636
578
106
I think what they meant is it is not as "idiot proof" as it is with Intel. With my Intel builds, I just enabled XMP in the BIOS, and it automatically ran the RAM at its correct speed and timings.

With my newest Ryzen build, even with buying RAM on the QVL, I had to go in and select the speed I wanted it to run at, and then around a day later in the Ryzen Master program, I noticed it automatically set the timings to 22-24-24 (where the RAM's specs were 16-18-18). So I had to enable that portion in a different area. Not hard by any means, but there are a couple extra steps involved. Not a big deal for enthusiasts, but the average person would likely have no idea about things like that.
I clicked on "enable DOCP" in the BIOS, which is exactly the same as setting an XMP profile. Best thing was that it was easily visible in the EZ BIOS, and not tucked away in advanced settings.
Of course, even DOCP leaves something on the table. Ryzen DRAM Calculator says that I should get 3200MHz CL14 or 3600MHz CL16 with the safe preset.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
7,362
282
126
Anybody close to a Microcenter looking for a 3900x might want to look and see if they're back in stock. My local not so close Microcenter is showing 6 available.
 
Apr 27, 2000
12,759
1,563
126
Any sobering words of warning before I break my X58 Forever vow will be appreciated.
I would say talk to people who have an older AM4 board before you buy & try. @Markfw has an X470 Taichi with a 3900x in it so you can ask him about his if you like. Not sure of anyone with MSI x470 boards on here. They're probably out there (possibly OCN).
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,178
2,133
136
I would say talk to people who have an older AM4 board before you buy & try. @Markfw has an X470 Taichi with a 3900x in it so you can ask him about his if you like. Not sure of anyone with MSI x470 boards on here. They're probably out there (possibly OCN).
@ClockHound , I would say go for most any x470 board, because they have usually better VRM's, more updated BIOS and just better than any x370 or 450 board out there. The x570 will house my 3950 (when available) but my 3900x is doing just fine, actually 2 different x470's both with 3900x's. An ASUS prime pro, and a ASRock Taichi.
 
Dec 25, 2008
8,831
14
126
I want to build a cheapish PC for my wife's nephew using a 3600 and X470 board, I'd actually even use an X370 board. My issue is I do not have an older Ryzen CPU to use to do a BIOS upgrade.

Is anyone aware of any boards that work with 3rd gen Ryzen out of the box, or that are able to be updated without a CPU? I know I've had a few motherboards that could update without CPU in the past, but they were high end ROG boards.

TIA
 

UsandThem

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
11,119
699
136
I want to build a cheapish PC for my wife's nephew using a 3600 and X470 board, I'd actually even use an X370 board. My issue is I do not have an older Ryzen CPU to use to do a BIOS upgrade.

Is anyone aware of any boards that work with 3rd gen Ryzen out of the box, or that are able to be updated without a CPU? I know I've had a few motherboards that could update without CPU in the past, but they were high end ROG boards.

TIA
There are a few motherboards (like the MSI B450 Tomahawk and B450 Gaming PRO AC) that don't need a CPU installed in order to flash the BIOS. Otherwise, it will come down to how new the BIOS version is on the B450 / X470 motherboard. I just bought an Asus ROG X470-F Gaming motherboard from Newegg, and it had a June 2019 BIOS version that would have supported the Ryzen 3000 series.

Outside of that, you can always order the free AMD boot kit, and they'll send you a CPU in order to flash your BIOS. https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/faq/pa-100

I was just answering this for someone in another thread, but it went in a direction I didn't expect. :eek: Otherwise, I would have just given you a link for it.
 
Feb 4, 2009
20,791
1,499
126
I want to build a cheapish PC for my wife's nephew using a 3600 and X470 board, I'd actually even use an X370 board. My issue is I do not have an older Ryzen CPU to use to do a BIOS upgrade.

Is anyone aware of any boards that work with 3rd gen Ryzen out of the box, or that are able to be updated without a CPU? I know I've had a few motherboards that could update without CPU in the past, but they were high end ROG boards.

TIA
Hey I need to run into Boston next week, I’ll gladly stop at Microcenter in Cambridge and mail something to you.
Obviously I’ll need to be paid for the equipment
I’m assuming all the B450/X370/X470 stuff is marked if it’s ryzen 3000 compatible
Finally I can’t 100% promise I’ll be in Cambridge next week but it is highly likely I will.
 
Dec 25, 2008
8,831
14
126
Hey I need to run into Boston next week, I’ll gladly stop at Microcenter in Cambridge and mail something to you.
Obviously I’ll need to be paid for the equipment
I’m assuming all the B450/X370/X470 stuff is marked if it’s ryzen 3000 compatible
Finally I can’t 100% promise I’ll be in Cambridge next week but it is highly likely I will.
That is very generous of you, but I'm in Canada, and that would make shipping a hassle with the border. Going to go with one of those MSI B450 boards, as newegg has stock on them. Thank you though!
 
Nov 27, 2007
1,051
70
106
That is very generous of you, but I'm in Canada, and that would make shipping a hassle with the border. Going to go with one of those MSI B450 boards, as newegg has stock on them. Thank you though!
Or you could get a big backpack and go on a cross-border 3900x/motherboard hiking adventure for both of us. People get lost on the border all the time and often use 12core/24thread processors as part of their outdoor survival strategy. ;-)
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS