Amd Radeon 7970, Linux & OpenCL

Jay

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
Curious if anyone has a way to get OpenCL drivers working under Linux for the AMD Radeon 7970 card. I have it running under a Windows 7 machine as the OPENCL drivers aren't available for Windows 10. Tried installing on Mint Linux 20.1, but AMD support for that card and Open CL seemed to stop after Radeaon drivers ~15.xxxx.

I'm still a noob (can't believe I'm almost 50 and using that term), but it is what it is. I'm good at following instructions, especially if all I have to do is cut and past commands into a command prompt environment. Definitely willing to tackle this if someone is able to help me along, thus I can retire another Windows 7 machine to the pasture.

TIA.

StefanR5R

Elite Member
Dec 10, 2016
I don't have an AMD card myself at present, at least none for which I wanted OpenCL. But from browsing AMD's web site a bit, it indeed *looks* as if the current amdgpu(-pro) driver supports only GCN-2.0 cards and later (such as Hawaii, Bonaire, and later), whereas GCN 1.0 cards (such as your Tahiti) are stuck with the old Crimson Edition driver, in order to get OpenCL working. :-(

Reactions: Jay

Jay

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
Thanks for taking time to look into this. Only other option I suspect is to find an old ISO for circa 2015 or before Ubuntu and try installing?

StefanR5R

Elite Member
Dec 10, 2016
Would be good if a current or former user of the Catalyst driver could comment here.

crashtech

Lifer
Jan 4, 2013
Needing to keep my Milkyway boxes on Windows is an irritation. But most of my 280x/7970 GPUs are near the end of their useful life anyway. When they "pass on," so will many of my Windows installations...

Jay

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
It looks like the combination of AMD Catalyst™ 15.9 Proprietary Linux Graphics Driver and Ubuntu 12.04.4 LTS might work. However, Ubuntu 12.04.4 is no longer supported so you may have issues with drivers for other hardware components.