AMD motherboards and AHCI

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by dmoney1980, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. dmoney1980

    dmoney1980 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,367
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi guys,

    it's been a while since I've worked with AMD, but I'm about to install an SSD on my brother in law's PC. I built said PC for him about 2 years ago, not sure which MB model but I'm 90% positive that it's an 800 series MB (I'll edit this later once I confirm) CPU is a athlon x4 640.

    At the time I heard that AMD was having issues with AHCI drivers in terms of performance and TRIM, and it was recommended to use the default MS drivers at that time. Has this changed?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - motherboards AHCI Forum Date
    XMP Not Working After Upgrading From 16GB to 32GB Memory and Storage Apr 6, 2017
    M1015 not compatible with certain motherboards? Memory and Storage Jan 20, 2017
    Trying to make a HP SmartArray P410 work in a consumer grade motherboard Memory and Storage Sep 9, 2016
    Best $200 LGA 1151 Motherboard & 16GB Ram Combo Memory and Storage May 18, 2016
    AHCI settings on a Gigabyte X58 motherboard for new SSD install Memory and Storage Nov 19, 2009

  3. CrimsonWolf

    CrimsonWolf Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    The last time I changed from the MS AHCI to the AMD AHCI driver on an old AMD board it caused a BSOD on every boot. Wound up re-installing Windows and sticking to the MS driver. IIRC, my googling at the time revealed it was a common bug in the drivers. I think it was a 7xx board and not an 8xx one though. But until seeing evidence that the 8xx is ok, I wouldn't touch that AMD driver with a 10-foot pole.
     
  4. jhansman

    jhansman Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    7
    The issues you mention have long since been fixed. I am running an Asrock 890FX mobo with the AMD ACHI drivers, and two SSD drives are humming along just fine; have yet to see the BSOD.
     
  5. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,039
    Likes Received:
    276
    Yeah, they long fixed all the issues with AHCI.
    Had 0 issues with them for 2 years now.
     
  6. sequoia464

    sequoia464 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problems with me either using the AMD drivers. This is on a 990 board, and previously a 890.
     
  7. tcsenter

    tcsenter Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    17,768
    Likes Received:
    10
    In addition, check for an updated motherboard BIOS. Some of the problems were fixed via updated AHCI option ROM or required updated option ROMs.
     
    #6 tcsenter, Dec 3, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2012
  8. dmoney1980

    dmoney1980 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,367
    Likes Received:
    9
    ok guys, thanks for the info