AMD HDMI audio continuously skipping

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by dlamb2471, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. dlamb2471

    dlamb2471 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok let's get the specs out of the way first here. Intel i7-2600 cpu, Gigabyte Z77-D3H motherboard (Z77 chipset obviously) with latest firmware (F14). 8 Gig of RAM, Windows 7 64 bit (fully updated), and a Radeon 7950 video card.

    The system is hooked up to a Yamaha amplifier via HDMI, which then runs into my Samsung HDTV (LED, 1080p, etc).

    The sound continuously skips in and out no matter what you are doing with the system. Playing audio from any source basically cuts out once a second. You can actually see the indicator on the stereo blinking for the audio.

    If I uninstall all AMD drivers, audio works great (falls back to Windows default drivers of some sort I assume). The onboard sound on the motherboard is disabled, and the drivers for the onboard sound are also not installed. The minute I install the AMD catalyst package, the audio starts blinking. I have tried this with both catalyst 12.6 and 12.7.

    On the windows sound control panel, yes the samsung tv shows up as the default (and the only active) audio device. This was working before, at some point in driver updates it started and now I can't get it to go away.

    Switching HDMI audio cables does not solve the problem. Plugging the computer directly into the tv does not solve the problem.

    Does anybody have any suggestions for me?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - HDMI audio continuously Forum Date
    Speaker/Headphone jack disabled after using HDMI audio. Computer Help Apr 10, 2015
    Laptop audio doesn't go to TV via HDMI Computer Help Mar 31, 2014
    HDMI audio - volume stuck on zero? Computer Help Jan 23, 2014
    No HDMI Audio output Computer Help Jul 16, 2013
    Intel HDMI Audio stuttering Computer Help Jan 26, 2013

  3. dlamb2471

    dlamb2471 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sadly no suggestions. If I roll back to the 12.4 Catalyst drivers, everything works fine. So there's my solution. I would definitely be interested to hear if anyone else has seen this problem.
     
  4. denis280

    denis280 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry about delay.rolling back the driver is the solution.sometime new driver mess up.
     
  5. xaqfox

    xaqfox Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 7970 and the HDMI audio will cut out after exiting from a full-screen game or application. Sometimes I can get the audio back by re-opening that app, but lose it immediately after closing, again. I only get this problem on 12.6 and 12.7. Downgrading solves the issue.

    If you haven't, yet, tell AMD
    http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3EC4
     
  6. dlamb2471

    dlamb2471 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok everybody, time to revisit this issue. Fresh clean install of windows 8 (64 bit), the shipping drivers have this same issue. Installed Catalyst 12.10, same problem. Installed Catalyst 12.11, same problem. I can't be the only one out there having this problem. Any suggestions or help?!?
     
  7. dlamb2471

    dlamb2471 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump, am I really the only sad sap out there (or in here) having this problem?
     
  8. wwwinu0

    wwwinu0 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the same problem! Just buy a all new PC (AMD 7970 GygabyteOC) when I first install the driver 12.11, there where no audio problem. But now! audio is skipping every 2 seconds :(
     
  9. vartoooza

    vartoooza Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    different setup but same problem here.i have radeon 7850 and sony STR-DH 820 AVreciever.i was worried that its the sony reciever problem but now it looks like its the radeon...im thinking about selling the radeon and change it for nvidia GTX 660.
     
  10. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    5
    Is your BIOSes updated to the most recent versions available? If not, it would be worth an update in the event something has been changed to increase Win8 compatibility.

    I don't know if it would help anybody, but there was a prior thread in the Operating Systems forum related to DPC Latency on Windows 8 which was resulting in (among other things) sound and/or video frame rate issues. At the end of the thread there was a suggestion by a poster that helped some folks with these issues, though YMMV:

    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2250925&page=3&highlight=dpc
     
  11. vartoooza

    vartoooza Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have most recent bios version and also tried both windows 7 and 8 and still have the problem.
     
  12. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,233
    Likes Received:
    16
    I don't use HDMI , but the only fix Ive seen before for this issues was to uninstall the AMD HDMI Audio drivers and use the ones Windows installs instead.(like the OP said)

    So i'd just choose custom install when updating CATs and uncheck the the AMD HDMI audio drivers for now.

    Or try using the Official Realtek ATI HDMI Audio Device driver. (R2.70)
     
  13. vartoooza

    vartoooza Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont konw why but realtek ATI HDMI driver is not working (it says device is not connected)


    edit : audio driver from catalyst 12.3 solved the problem for me =)
     
    #12 vartoooza, Nov 24, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  14. byron_hinson

    byron_hinson Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. blanketyblank

    blanketyblank Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much. I had found a work around by clicking on LCD overdrive in catalyst which caused windows to go into basic mode, but this works much better.
     
  16. younus1932

    younus1932 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys i have registered just to inform for the solution / fix i got.

    SOLUTION as for me ( my problem was : bought 7970 dualx. use LED tv and i got no audio with my HDMI cable)

    anyways the solution is .. i uninstalled completely catalyst control and all the amd drivers. and then installed catalyst 12.3 . Now everything is working fine for me.
    i got my catalyst 12.3 from filehippo . com