AMD Bolton D4 chipset only has PCI-e 4x support?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by MightyMalus, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. MightyMalus

    MightyMalus Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is old rumors, but I personally find this rather weak. Why even bother buying a dGPU for an APU when it would be much worse than the same dGPU on a cheap CPU?

    Am I missing something here?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Bolton chipset support Forum Date
    Faulty Premise: What are some x79 boards that support Ivy Bridge Server 4-12 core overclocking? CPUs and Overclocking Yesterday at 8:35 PM
    Experiments in dual-channel DDR4 - G4600 (KBL) / H110 chipset CPUs and Overclocking Jan 25, 2017
    AMD’s Zen CPUs are getting dedicated small form factor chipsets CPUs and Overclocking Sep 28, 2016
    H110 chipset compatible with KBL-S/H/K CPUs? CPUs and Overclocking Jul 21, 2016
    VIA/Zhaoxin OctaCore processor + new ZX-100S chipset CPUs and Overclocking Apr 30, 2016

  3. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    426
    Same rumor calls Richland a 28nm chip... Disregard.
     
  4. Insert_Nickname

    Insert_Nickname Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    22
    They properly mean the available PCIe lanes from the chipset. The APU itself provides the standard issue PCIe x16 for the graphics card...
     
  5. MightyMalus

    MightyMalus Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the purpose of the PCIe lanes from the chipset?
    *not very tech savvy here*
     
  6. Jimzz

    Jimzz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Likes Received:
    1

    Those can be used for ethernet, sound, etc... Most only use 1x lane so 4 lanes you can put a good deal of stuff on it.
     
  7. Vectronic

    Vectronic Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    This.

    PCI-E lanes are 1 to 4x... so a x16 socket would be 4x4x, most boards come with 8 lanes of "up to" 4x per lane, that's why you can have 2 or 3 x16 sockets on a board, where they will run @ x16 with only one slot in use, but x8 with two slots in use, etc.
     
  8. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Their making a chip named after Michael Bolton.
     
  9. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,375
    Likes Received:
    112
    PCIe x4 for a PCH aint bad. Intels got PCIe x8 via the PCH. Dont think anyone would notice if it was reduced to x4.
     
  10. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,618
    Likes Received:
    521
    Are you sure about that? I thought that Intel had x8 PCI-E between the CPU and the PCH, and the PCH had 4 x1 2.0 ports off of it.

    My reasoning is this, if Intel really had x8 off of the PCH like you claim, then we would be seeing Crossfire 1155 boards with x16 PCI-E 3.0 (off of the CPU), and then a second x8 PCI-E 2.0 slot (off of the PCH). Since nearly every board I'ver seen, without a PLX chip is x16/x4, I think that you are incorrect.

    Or maybe the PCH has one x4, and four x1, and those are used for the onboard sound and LAN chips.

    Edit: For comparison, my 990FX/SB950 board, has two x16 PCI-E 2.0 slots, another x4 slot, and an x1 slot or two, along with onboard LAN, sound, and Marvell SATA6G.
     
    #9 VirtualLarry, Jan 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  11. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    60
    I use a pciE-X1 Nvidia 9300 gpu card, and the thing flies, it is no slower than an X16 for a card of this level. You really need to get up around HD7870 levels before pciE-X4 becomes a limiting factor. (Aside from mechanical limitations of course.)

    According to this article, one Radeon HD7970 put forth the following scores:
    At 1920x1200:
    PCIe 1.1 x4: 31.5FPS
    PCIe 3.0 x4: 33.4FPS
    PCIe 3.0 x8: 33.9FPS
    PCIe 3.0 x16: 33.9FPS
     
  12. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    30

    well, don't forget about CPU vs PCH PCIE differences, probably lower latency for the CPU,

    also I think Intel at least, uses DMI at PCIE 4x 2.0 speed between the CPU and the PCH, so loading more things and a graphics card could be worse.


    and not every game/cards needs the same amount of bandwidth

    [​IMG]
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/pci-express-scaling-p67-chipset-gaming-performance,2887-6.html
     
  13. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,375
    Likes Received:
    112
    I assumed it was about the PCIe lanes extending from the PCH, Intel got 8 lanes here. Not the link between the PCH and CPU. But yes, both AMD and Intel uses the same PCIe x4 link types between CPU and PCH. Just with each propertary modifications.

    ICH/SB southbridge chips are attached the same way, just to a northbridge chip.

    Nobody would use the x8 slot for crossfire, since it needs to pass and share the x4 to the CPU.
     
    #12 ShintaiDK, Jan 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013