Alternative to using a Cisco access server to manage Cisco equipment

Discussion in 'Networking' started by her209, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. her209

    her209 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    56,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Instead of getting a Cisco 2509 (8 terminal lines) or 2511 (16 terminal lines) access server, what do you guys think about using this unit to get console access into Cisco equiment?
    [​IMG]
    http://www.digital-loggers.com/ss20.html
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Alternative Cisco access Forum Date
    Alternative to the Asus PCE-AC68 802.11ac card? Networking Feb 28, 2016
    IEEE OUI site doesn't work. Alternatives? Networking Nov 16, 2015
    High Power Router Suggestions, or alternative? Networking Oct 9, 2015
    "Alternate" Cisco IOS? Networking Feb 27, 2008
    Alternative CISCO VPN client Networking Jan 20, 2006

  3. spidey07

    spidey07 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    65,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Any terminal server will do. Which is what that looks like.
     
  4. her209

    her209 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    56,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    My only main concern is that I won't be able to telnet/ssh when I'm away like I could with an access server.
     
  5. spidey07

    spidey07 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    65,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just use a console or aux port on a router and connect that to the console port of this device. They make other terminal servers that have an ethernet port and you just telnet/ssh to them and then select what serial port you want. check out blackbox.com, might have something.
     
  6. Pheran

    Pheran Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    17
    I use Digi CM or Digi Passport console servers. They are particularly convenient since they have RJ-45 jacks that are wired such that you can use a straight through RJ-45 cable to connect the Cisco console ports.
     
  7. DisgruntledVirus

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    OP, we basically use that in my company. The difference is that they use RJ45's instead of serial ports, but outside of that they are the exact same thing. They work well, and are pretty simple to use once you learn how to use them.

    That's definitely do-able. It's how our IT staff does a chunk of their config work (they can do about ~20% work from home per week). VPN to the corporate network, and you should be fine.