Airline 'fat tax': Should heavy passengers pay more?

Page 4 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Zorba

Lifer
Oct 22, 1999
I didn't read the thread, but I was an engineer at a major US airline until a few months ago. Weight savings runs around $45 per pound per year, depending on fleet, but they are all around that. Our average was about 1100 flights per year, for all fleets combined.

Cost of extra weight is massively overblown. I used to have vendors try to pull out these $1000/pound-yr numbers and we would just laugh at them and their $100,000, 10 pound weight saving modifications.

BTW: Passenger weight on a 737-800 is only about 17% of the max takeoff weight. So it isn't like the plane would be free to operate if everyone was 90 pounds instead of 250.

Last edited:

RocksteadyDotNet

Diamond Member
Jul 29, 2008
Definitely.

If you don't like it then lose some weight you disgusting fat pigs.

Have some fucking self respect.

Zorba

Lifer
Oct 22, 1999
if charging heavier people more means i pay less, then i'm all for it.

if you're skinny, whats your opinion?

First, there is a good chance you weigh more than what they assume the average passenger weighs.

Second, airlines will never give you a discount because they charged someone else more. But I am glad the ancillary revenue marketing has worked on so many people, it paid my salary for many years.

We should probably consider volume as well. We could no doubt save on cabin size - and thus metal needed for it, and therefore weight - by making cabins accommodate people 5'6 and just telling taller people to duck. Or they'd have to buy a ticket on a larger, and thus more expensive plane.

This would violate commercial aircraft certification laws for EGRESS. Just because you are short doesn't mean everyone teller than you should pay more.

boomerang

Lifer
Jun 19, 2000