AIO Liquid cooler noise and other case cooling questions plus CPU & GPU OCing.

Crow550

Platinum Member
Oct 4, 2005
I picked up a Cooler Master Seidon 120V for my 2500K as I plan to OC it and it seemed like a decent deal @ $35....

Installed it and at first the fan was really loud so went in the bios and set it to only ramp up at X temp.

So now the fan is quiet but now I notice the pump noise. Is this normal noise as some say this cooler is silent (after turning down or replacing the fan): https://youtu.be/VUEZ07bIFMM (Gonna ask around and contact Cooler Master too.)

Temps are 30c idle and 65c using Intel Burn Test @ 3.30ghz (not OC'd). Using Arctic Silver 5 so have to wait the 200 hour break in too.

I also got a Cooler Master Sleeve Bearing 140mm to blow air in the front of the case and a Cooler Master MegaFlow 200 for the side but that just raised the GPU to 75c. So might have to resell it as I can't seem to fit it for another top exhaust. (68c now OC'd). I'm still learning about optimal fan placement and such.

So I have one fan in the bottom front blowing air in then a 200mm top fan by the back 120mm fan where the Radiator is, blowing air out (should I use the cases 120mm for push pull on the Radiator?). I made a previous thread on this: http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2420188

Case: http://www.nzxt.com/product/detail/34-phantom.html

Mobo: Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3

CPU: i5-2500k

GPU: MSI Lightning R9 290X

I'm also new to OCing. Should I just use the Mobo's Turbo 50 or one of the presets?

Last time I messed with the Turbo 50 on stock cooling here was the result: http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2210142&page=5

Thanks for helping. :)

Last edited:

alcoholbob

Diamond Member
May 24, 2005