AHCI question

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by Skunk-Works, Mar 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Skunk-Works

    Skunk-Works Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    323
    I just installed a SSD in my laptop and in BIOS the HDD is set to RAID not AHCI. This is what AS SSD says.


    [​IMG]



    I don't know what all that means. Does the RAID option still use AHCI? If not, how can I use AHCI without messing up the boot? I thought there was a registry setting.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - AHCI question Forum Date
    SOLVED: Another SSD / AHCI question Memory and Storage May 6, 2014
    SSD AHCI quick question Memory and Storage Feb 12, 2013
    AHCI question Memory and Storage Jun 24, 2011
    AHCI Questions Memory and Storage Apr 19, 2011
    AHCI driver question Memory and Storage Feb 12, 2011

  3. Skunk-Works

    Skunk-Works Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    323
  4. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,130
    Likes Received:
    386
    I invite anyone else to confirm my take on this. I went through the tedium of changing storage modes on my 2011 build of a 2600K system. The Sandy Bridge system had been set up in RAID mode so that I could use ISRT "acceleration" or SSD-caching with the HDD boot-system disk. I had to change over to AHCI so that I could take advantage of Samsung's RAPID (RAM-caching) feature with an 840 Pro SSD.

    As I recall, there are three storage modes configurable in BIOS:

    AHCI
    RAID
    A legacy IDE mode

    I also recall that making the conversion from one storage mode to another required that you enter BIOS immediately after any registry changes so that you could change to the appropriate mode for those changes, otherwise -- you might get a BSOD or most likely --the system wouldn't boot.

    The problem you have is fixable. I'm just glad that I avoided it when I went through these troubles.

    YOu still aren't entirely clear as to what you were doing. I assume you cloned your boot-system disk to the SSD? And then you installed the SSD in your system?

    Anyone else? Comment?
     
  5. PliotronX

    PliotronX Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 1999
    Messages:
    8,743
    Likes Received:
    77
    You've got to tweak storeahci if you are on windows 10 as well, iastorv might not be enough IIRC
     
  6. ch33zw1z

    ch33zw1z Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    20,934
    Likes Received:
    3,072
    What's the laptop model, and what options are in the bios
     
  7. UsandThem

    UsandThem Super Moderator
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,776
    Likes Received:
    920
    Thread is finished. Locking this one up.

    AT Mod Usandthem
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.